We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real mara experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the real mara experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

fantastic service and food, tents unbelievable, saw the big 5 in one day with an excellent driver. Would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    112
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
240
311
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We've just returned from spending the most wonderful 4 days here in a family tent. Our kids (7 and 11) both loved this place and we all had a fantastic time from the minute we landed at the air strip (only 5 minutes from camp) till we sadly had to leave 4 days later. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Tents were excellent, food was wonderful, service fantastic and we are already planning our next trip back. Michael our game driver was fantastic and i think we will always remember with great fondness our picnic breakfasts!! The masai mara was just full of game and we saw everything in large numbers except the elusive rhino but what fun we had trying to find it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have stayed at Mara Intrepids in Mid August for 4 nights, and the experience was just amazing. The camp is located along side of the Talek river, which gives it a huge advantage to see animals such as leopards, cheetahs and lions, along with all kinds of different animals.
From our room balcony, we were able to see Waterbuck, bush buck and other animals visit the river. (the camp itself is on the other side of the river with electric fence, so it is safe too). Also in the dining area, we have occasional visitors such as bushbabies!!
We were so blessed with our guide Michael, who was extremely knowledgeable, experienced and had a great personality. Thanks to Michael, we were able to see 3 wildebeest crossings, Leopards everyday (twice with a mom & a cub), Cheetahs & Lions every day (and hunting too!), endangered black Rhinos twice!! and other animals such as giraffes, elephants, mangoos, lots of hippos, zebras etc. etc. We were especially impressed with Michael's quick decision making, so that not only we got to see those animals but saw it in a best spot!
About the camp, the room was extremely clean, nice and comfortable. Even if it is a “tent camp”, I did not see a single insect in my room.
All the staffs there were very nice & friendly. And we were especially lucky to have John to help us in the dining area. His service was that of a 5 star hotel! Not only he was very cheerful, he remembered every little details about us, what we like to order for drinks, what we did the day before, and especially our names. (Japanese names are very difficult to remember sometimes!)
Breakfast & Lunch, we had good variety of food, for dinner it was A la carte style. The only minor thing was the dinner, which sometimes the food wasn’t warm, etc. But considering the great experience we had a this camp, this was a very very minor thing, and I would definitely recommend this place for everybody! There were many kids in the camp who seemed to enjoy their activities, also good for couples, and families.
If I ever get a chance to come back to Masai Mara, I will definitely come back to Mara Intrepids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ai_serendipidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in the family tent and it was just wonderful. Our children couldn't get over the luxury of the rooms, and also the excitement of being woken in the middle of the night by hippos!
Our driver Dixon was amazing and found us everything except rhinos, but it wasn't for lack of trying. We saw lions eating a hippo, Olive from 'The Big Cat Diaries', a cheetah eating its kill, to name just a few things. The Mara truly is full of wildlife.
Although the food wasn't amazing I think you have to remember you are in the middle of nowhere, and so they did a pretty good job overall. The staff were attentive and friendly all the time.
All in all the experience was wonderful and 3 days none of us shall forget. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel was very nice, the location was great, next to the river and near to the airport. The room was very comfortable and the personel was excellent, very polite and kind. Also, there was a great room service.Thanks to our particular guide, called Dixon, we could get to see very well many animals and enjoy very much the trip. It was fantastic! We will always keep great memories from that trip. We will remember it from Spain, our country.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Intrepids tented camps in Samburu and Maasai Mara are an outstanding, luxury experience. The tents combine the comfort of a 5 star hotel with the experience of living close to the nature, in the middle of great natural parks. Especially in Mara I could hear lions roaring during the night and in both camps you'll wake up with the most exotic bird chirping sounds.
The services are first class, all employees are keen to make your stay a memorable, pleasant experience. The food was remarkable in both camps. I've never expected such a variety and such exquisite food on a safari. The General Managers of both camps get personally involved, from greeting you when you arrive to asking you at dinner, or lunch if everything is ok, or if there is anything you might need. This very personal, carrying service is something I have not experienced before and I've travelled a lot through Europe, Middle East and the Americas.
The game drives are very well organised and we've seen more than we expected. Samburu has very special animals you can only see there, but in Maasai Mara you can be sure to see many big cats. We've seen in 3 days more than 30 lions in Mara, a leopard and a few cheetahs, one with a wonderful baby. Silas, our guide in Mara is a great person and a knowledgable naturalist. I can warmly recommend him. In Mara you get 3 game drives a day and in Samburu 2. I think 3 is better, but depending on how tired you are, 2 is also a good choice. In the end you can swim in the pool and relax a bit too.
Finally I would like to recommend some of the extra activities. Very pleasant are the bush breakfast and the sundowner. Make these as a surprise to your partner or family! Absolutely remarkable and a lifetime experience is the hot air balloon trip, which is available only in the Mara. Most of the time the ballons fly just 10-50m above the ground and we've seen lions eating and wildebeest running below us. It was sensational!
Also, do not miss the evening presentations of the naturalist in Samburu and the Samburu dancers! If nothing changes, you can skip the visit of the Maasai village.
My last tip, be generous when you tip. Tip is at your discretion, but will be very welcome.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for a family tent if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaduZaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at Mara Intrepids at the beginning of July for 3 nights and had a delightful time. I've been fortunate enough to go on several previous safaris over the last 20 years, in various parts of Africa, and I've not experienced the sheer volume of animals, including 7 leopards, numerous Cheetahs, Lions, Rhino as well as herds of Elephant, Buffalo and the awesome sight of the Migration, and not withstanding the smaller and very interesting residents. The service that we received was gracious and efficient. This was from all the staff but James, our game expert, was exceptional at locating animals, including leopards traversing rivers (as well as being great company) and Grace who joined us on a couple of rides and again was perfect company. Nelson, our main waiter, also took great care of us. High lights included having breakfast surrounded by several 10,000 head of wildebeest. We had the family tent which was very comfortable and we were not impacted by noise from other tents. We had a lovely view of the river and watched hippo and antelope grazing in and round it. The food service was very good and the food was good - not exceptional and I would concur that the salads could be much better presented at lunch time. My family (including a 16 year and 18 year old) preferred the food at dinner to lunch and they all liked everything. I would say that dinner wasn't as high end as previous safari's but still acceptable. The game rides were a perfect length for us, though if there is an opportunity to reintroduce evening game rides (including "free" sundowners) that would be a welcome return. Word of warning, the trip to the Masai Village was interesting However, felt very ripped off after purchasing from their on site store. Make sure that your Intrepids representative ensures that they provide single item pricing. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BullersGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#17 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
316 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
607 reviews
9.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing