We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a wonderful place. I was floored at the service and friendly people that helped us right when we arrived. From a cool cloth to wash our faces to a mango juice waiting for us. Also the rooms were wonderful and the turn down service at night was not what I was expecting. I felt like royalty! The view of the park was great, I saw elephants and giraffes wandering in the valley. The food was incredible. THANK YOU very much for such a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    249
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
268
304
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel was amazing. The location is perfect if you want to catch the migration as its literally 5-10 minutes from the river. We were lucky enough to see the migration on our first day. The huts are magnificent...extremely clean and luxurious. The dining area was great with a good selection of food. I have no negative comments about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savil_0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
292 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Located on a high hill overlooking the Masai Mara Game Reserve and just a short drive to the Tanzania border, it was centrally located for looking at all types of safari animals. We stayed here three nights, and enjoyed every minute. Loved the views from the main lodge that overlooked the plains below that "always" seemed to have lots of animals. Rooms were smaller than at other Serena Hotels, but extremely well stocked/maintained with their own commanding views. Animals were always outside to watch when not on a safari drive - baboons (that would enter your room if you accidentally left the porch doors open), wart hogs, cape buffalo, elephants and giraffes. Pool was fun to sit around to relax, watch the animals or take a dip. Fitness gym had treadmill, elliptical and bike machines; they too had commanding views. But what set this hotel apart from the rest was the location...which was minutes from the best viewing of Kenyan game. We went out for morning and evening drives during which we saw an abundance of lions, elephants, zebras, giraffes, cape buffalo and cheetahs. The landscape was breathtaking, and drive to Tanzania (just 30 minutes away) allowed you to look in at the Serengeti. Don't forget to bring you binoculars, because you will need them to view game from you room...and safari drive. Oh yes, staff was extremely friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. We loved every minute here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are uniquely designed, spacious,comfortable, and clean. All had large updated bathrooms and mosquito netting above the beds. Quiet except for the beautiful sounds of nature. The best feature is the stunning views from the pool area and also from each room. The buffet is amazing. Each day the buffet featured a different variety of dishes. The fruit is fresh and the variety of dish choices on the menu as well as the buffet is impressive. The staff was very attentive, accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Mara Serena is unique. It has an excellent location in the middle of the National Park with great views.
We travelled by road, which is 7 hrs drive from Nairobi. The road through the park is rough.
However, hotel is so relaxing, you will soon forget the road, and wish to stay longer. The food is of great quality. They concentrate mostly on quality rather than quantity, but they still offer variety. No complaints here, especially when you see where the hotel is located.
Rooms are basic, but with great views. Shower is good with lot of hot water and good pressure.
Spa is fantastic. You must try massage in a room overlooking the park. Fabulous. Gym is also great, everything seems to be new. It would be nice to swim while looking at the park.
There is swimming pool, but it is very cold. Suggestion: use solar panels and make the water warmer. Otherwise it is just a decoration.
Another suggestion is to create room for kids, especially around dinner time. They seem to be bored especially that there are no TVs in the room. WIFI is there, but it does not work so well. Again, considering the location, one has to understand.
Game drive is fabulous. We have seen big five in a short time.
We stayed before Christmas and donated money to the kids from nearby village. We were promised to receive an email when kids receive donation, but it did not happen. Kind reminder to Hotel to fulfil their promise.
Overall, this is a very nice place for safari.

Room Tip: I belive all the rooms are good. But if you wish to be close to the reception and swimmin pool, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHagueDule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

As other reviewers have said the view is stunning as long as you don't want a water hole close at hand to watch there is one but it's very small and I would guess seldom used by wildlife.
The lodges are very clean the food is good and varied and service as always in Kenya is outstanding.
Now the decor, quirky? African? I just got 70's, helped by the shape and colour of the rooms, sorry but it really got to me.
Still a great place to stay with all the wildlife you could hope for

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a safari in November. The service is impeccable, the views are stunning, and the rooms are well-kept. The food at the lodge is excellent, and the sundowners are a must. The spa offers a range of services and we were happy to get a massage after a long day of game drives.

Will definitely return on our next trip to the Mara

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of the Mara. You cannot go wrong with any room. However, remember to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing