We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing, Magical, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, Magical, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here during our Christmas vacation in 2012. Even though it is an old hotel, my family and I had the most amazing time at this hotel. We loved waking up at the crack of dawn to go on safari and loved coming back to our home away from home. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating! The food was good and the rooms were clean. We will definately be going back! Can't wait! :-) Keep it up! Mara Serena you're doing a brilliant job!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    209
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
227
274
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

One of the best places deep in the Masai territory, and very close to the Mara river. Very well located - close to airstrip where you get spectacular sunset views. Wildlife starts literally at the gate! Spectacularly perched on a hilltop, you can see the usual suspects with a good binoculars. The rooms are shaped in a semicircle - the furthest are the lowest and closest to wildlife but have the most strenuous walk as well with deer baboons etc at the doorstep! Excellently located for the great crossing, and we got daily views well before the troops came in from the numerous resorts just outside the deep jungle! All the big 5, lions with kill, scampering varieties of all antelopes, zebras, giraffes, hyenas, fox, wildebeest, crocs, birds galore, cheetahs - you name it's all very close!
Excellent food with local, continental, and Indian dishes. Friendly and helpful staff. Free tea coffee and cookiesat the lookout overlooking the quaint swimming pool with one of the best views possible!

Room Tip: Far ones are good, but only for the fittest who survive the steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dharpuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our last stop on our two week safari and our least favourite. Although the views were second to none and the service and food were excellent we felt very hemmed in with very little outside space to roam around in and the Masai 'pods' really squashed together. The two days we spent there were very busy with nearly all the rooms full and there was nowhere that we could go to get some peace and quiet away from the crowds.

The rooms were quite ostentatious but I'm sure the majority of people would love them.
I must add that the quality of everything was very good but somehow we felt the lodge lacked that personal touch that we'd become used to and we felt just one of the crowd.

I cannot fault the amenities but perhaps this lodge just wasn't for us being extremely busy and noisy. Also if you did have any mobility problems it could be difficult as there is quite a steep walk if you are in one of the lower rooms.

Most people would love this place but if you are looking for tranquillity and and peacefulness then perhaps this place would not be for you either.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems make sure you get a room that is at the top of the steep path. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is situated in an excellent location within the Masai Mara Reserve. Rooms are tasteful and clean. Dining is a little 'cafeteria' like in atmosphere but food was more than adequate. Reception can be a little chaotic early evening but it sorts out eventually. Nice sized pool to cool off in after safari days. Highly recommend the Hot Air Balloon Safari - amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Customer service is second to none - nothing was too much trouble for Dan who sorted out little niggles with a smile and was terribly apologetic when we were charged game fees twice. The room looks like termite mounds from the outside and are very Gaudi internally! However very comfortable. Food was excellent especially breakfast by the hippo pool and candlelight bush supper.
Excellent would definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SnazzySazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 at the end of our amazing safari in Kenya. The position of the lodge cannot be faulted with amazing, far reaching views down over the grasslands to the Mara River. All of the reception areas and the rooms were like stone pods and we kept expecting 'Fred & Wilma' (the Flintstones) to appear at any time. Our biggest disappointment was the attitude of the Dining Room Manager towards us. She obviously wanted to finish early on both evenings we stayed there and insisted that we went in for dinner even though we had just sat down for a pre-dinner drink. On the second evening she sat us in a part of the dining room where there were no other guests, while everybody else was in the area with views over the river, and then while we were eating proceeded to set all the tables around us for breakfast, making us feel extremely unwelcome and uncomfortable.

However, that is the only complaint we had.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlepeopleNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at this property was part of our tour which was arranged by Lion World Tours of Canada and run locally by Pollman Tours. This is a first class property with great amenities and staff who are very accomodating and friendly especially if you make an effort to speak Swahili. Rooms were extremely clean and decorated well. Location of rooms is overlooking the plain on an escarpment . I would try to get lower number rooms as they are a little farther from the main lodge so view is better and probably a little quieter but honestly noise wasn't a problem. Another point that is important to travelers is the exchange rate and pricing at the gift shop. Both of these are well within line especially considering the distance from Nairobi ( 7+hours). There is a Maasai cultural program given AT THE LODGE for USD20 and well worth it. Semi-mandatory dancing with the Maasai but the information presented (our presenter was Ole Reko) was both fascinating and well done. Food was very good while the "Active Cooking Station"- pasta, crepes, vegetarian was really excellent bordering on superb. Proximity to very fruitful areas for the game drives also minimized travel time and maximized viewing time.

Room Tip: As per my review the lower the room number the farther from the lodge. Keep this in mind for noise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick46885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
25.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
28.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#12 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing