We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent position in Mara Triangle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent position in Mara Triangle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 at the end of our amazing safari in Kenya. The position of the lodge cannot be faulted with amazing, far reaching views down over the grasslands to the Mara River. All of the reception areas and the rooms were like stone pods and we kept expecting 'Fred & Wilma' (the Flintstones) to appear at any time. Our biggest disappointment was the attitude of the Dining Room Manager towards us. She obviously wanted to finish early on both evenings we stayed there and insisted that we went in for dinner even though we had just sat down for a pre-dinner drink. On the second evening she sat us in a part of the dining room where there were no other guests, while everybody else was in the area with views over the river, and then while we were eating proceeded to set all the tables around us for breakfast, making us feel extremely unwelcome and uncomfortable.

However, that is the only complaint we had.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlepeopleNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    209
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
227
274
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at this property was part of our tour which was arranged by Lion World Tours of Canada and run locally by Pollman Tours. This is a first class property with great amenities and staff who are very accomodating and friendly especially if you make an effort to speak Swahili. Rooms were extremely clean and decorated well. Location of rooms is overlooking the plain on an escarpment . I would try to get lower number rooms as they are a little farther from the main lodge so view is better and probably a little quieter but honestly noise wasn't a problem. Another point that is important to travelers is the exchange rate and pricing at the gift shop. Both of these are well within line especially considering the distance from Nairobi ( 7+hours). There is a Maasai cultural program given AT THE LODGE for USD20 and well worth it. Semi-mandatory dancing with the Maasai but the information presented (our presenter was Ole Reko) was both fascinating and well done. Food was very good while the "Active Cooking Station"- pasta, crepes, vegetarian was really excellent bordering on superb. Proximity to very fruitful areas for the game drives also minimized travel time and maximized viewing time.

Room Tip: As per my review the lower the room number the farther from the lodge. Keep this in mind for noise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick46885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We flew in to the Mara and went straight to the lodge for lunch. It is in a very impressive position on a ridge overlooking the Mara with all the rooms having magnificant views. The food was amazingly good with the usual perfect service from the well trained waiters. The safaris were brilliant as the lodge is in the park. The biggest thrill is the Special Breakfast which I feel cannot be repeated anywhere else in the world. An optional extra is a visit to the Masaii village, a tourist attraction, but if you are very lucky the staff support a Masaii school on occasional visits which is a wonderful experience. A plentiful supply of biros comes in very handy ! Altogether, having been to Kenya 16 times, this is the only place to go in the Mara.

Room Tip: Everwhere overlooks the Mara. If you are slightly disabled ask to be near the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillJago073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed when we checked in (after an 11 hour dusty drive) to find that the pool had just closed for no reason just as we walked in at 5:30pm and it was not supposed to close for at least another hour!

The pool hours were not honoured and were posted differently at the pool and in the room book.

BUT when we complained to the manager Daniel, he made it right by doing something very special to make up for the inconvenience. Thank you Daniel :)

Overall we had a lovely stay and we enjoyed the pool the next day. Happy we stayed for 2 nights.

Food was excellent and service was good.

View from our rooms and from the restaurant and pool was absolutely amazing!

Location right in the centre of the Masai Mara park and game reserve was very convenient.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Mara Serena Safari Lodge for 3 nights and had a really great time. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel staff were very polite and friendly. The location is inspiring and one has fantastic views of the game reserve. We are vegetarians which can sometimes be limiting, but the choice of food and the quality were excellent. We were very pleased with our 6 game drives and our guide was knowledgeable and very proficient.
We enjoyed watching the cute little Hyrax and lizards around the pool area and it was great to have a cool dip.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility choose a room nearer reception. Be careful in the shower as it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As mostly you rate safari accommodation for the richness of the wildlife, ability of the lodge to cater to the safari-crazy guests - this one deserves an Excellent mark!
Why?
-Maasai Mara itself turned to be for us crazy big cat lovers to be our most favorite safari destination
-the lodge is nicely situated so that you can have three game drives a day and relax in front of the pool in the few free hours you have
-best location for a balloon safari-do not miss the fun even if there is no migration. Experience is worth every penny thanks to wonderful pilot Chelly
- reception is extremely helpful and always willing to provide you with a safari vehicle with a Maasai driver/guide. This experience us also not to be missed as local hotel guides know more about big cats whereabouts and can drive you as close as 2 meters to a pride of lionesses with small cubs.we spent up to two hours each day just watching them
-the lodge has a cleverly designed sundowners area where you can sit and watch the endless plane and the river deep down the hill
-restaurant hostess is very thoughtful -we were placed in a rather inconvenient corner the first night because the lodge was fully booked, but they immediately moves us to a verandah after some guests left
-all the housekeeping staff is extremely friendly, however as a minor grudge I can add that the laundry list which I've been asking from reception for two days in a row , appeared on the last day only, so I had to postpone the laundry till Serengeti

Useful tips:
-ask for a bungalow facing the river - you get a much more spectacular view than the other side facing the savanna
-spend at least two full days here ( at least three nights) to get all the fun
-don't expect much variety of food-but you will never be hungry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are very colourfull, clean and spacy. Staff is friendly and food is great. The view from all the rooms is spectacular!! The location is ideal for the game drives and between the game drives it is nice to rest at the pool with the great view!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teuntje18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
25.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
28.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#13 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing