We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely room views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel decoration is very nice  specially the bangalows have a stunning view overlooking the Mara.

The room decoration is great, but there is no ventilation except if you open the window. And we were advised to keep it closed cause the baboons can come in. The room has no Ac or ceiling fan and can get quite stuffy on hot days. However a portable fan was provided to us on request.


Food is ok and staff are friendly. Best thing about the hotel is the room views and deco.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view. For people that have problem with walking you might want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rania_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    203
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
223
271
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

An amazing property in the center of the reserve and worth every penny spent. Staff is very polite and eager to help and they really go out of the way to assist you. A perfect Hakuna Matata attitude. We stayed in Mara for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it.

When in Mara visit Mara Sarena.

Room Tip: all room as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKotru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a location. On a cliff overlooking the Maasai Mara and the Mara River and the Great Migration. The pool area very nice with beautiful views. Loved their food and drinks poolside. The rooms kind of unique. But what is the creme de la creme were the game drives. Amazing wildlife. You can see the \herds of migration assembling near the river. That is to the time to gho down the mountain and enjoy the spectacle. One of the best of the natural world. Plan to come back again some day. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lodge is really good. The bungalows are very nice decorated and you have a beautiful view. There is also a swimming pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It was the best lodge during our Safari.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel, situated in the best place for a safari, had fantastic accommodations. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, the pool was a fantastic place to relax and see the animals and I loved hearing the wild life come by the room at night (on the other side of a wall so you are safe.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAA36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Here at the Mara Serena there are incomparable views. Honestly, it was quite breathtaking! And not only that, every room has a great view as well. This was my first visit to the Masia Mara, and my first time on Safari, so maybe I'm just in overall awe, but I really liked the place. There was decent service, clean rooms, nice paths to walk around on, and the safari was great! Saw about 10 lions! I also indulged in their Hippo Breakfast, which was just amazing! You sit by the river, have a gourmet meal, and watch the crocodiles and hippos hang around the river just 10 meters from you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been twice, once driving in without kids and once flying in with kids. The rooms are a little on the small side but very clean with excellent views. Food is so-so but we didn't go hungry! The pool is virtually useless as it is simply too cold to enjoy but sitting poolside is a beautiful sight regardless. WiFi worked ok but you are charged for it. Can not attest to the hotel drivers as we had our own, we also brought our Ayah who was treated well and enjoyed her room (only 1,500ksh a night including food!) Walls are thin, you can hear your neighbors quite well. Overall, I would go back-it is perfect for those traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to reception as you can-hotel is on a steep(ish) hill with steps (no ramps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
25.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
28.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#24 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#8 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing