We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice, would go back, great if traveling with kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been twice, once driving in without kids and once flying in with kids. The rooms are a little on the small side but very clean with excellent views. Food is so-so but we didn't go hungry! The pool is virtually useless as it is simply too cold to enjoy but sitting poolside is a beautiful sight regardless. WiFi worked ok but you are charged for it. Can not attest to the hotel drivers as we had our own, we also brought our Ayah who was treated well and enjoyed her room (only 1,500ksh a night including food!) Walls are thin, you can hear your neighbors quite well. Overall, I would go back-it is perfect for those traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to reception as you can-hotel is on a steep(ish) hill with steps (no ramps)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Mara Serena Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 954 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

in kenya this is best game lodge and has excellent staff the food is awesome. the rooms are african style. yu get two game rides everyday and saw several lions and saw migration . the staff is amazing and especially the guide for the game ride. cant be better. yu should do the masai village tour which is extra but have to do it without fail.

Room Tip: yu should take room 50 plus number
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was great and the service was warm. Enjoyed a champagne bush breakfast that was amazing. We had seminars outdoors which was very refreshing. We had night time camp fires which enhanced the experience. It was a total all round positive experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have panoramic views of the Masai Mara and its wildlife
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgebest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from an incredible journey from our home on Fort Myers Beach,Florida to Masai Mara Triangle, Mara Serena Safari Lodge.. Getting there from Nairobi in a vehicle is a horrible experience. It is a good 5 or 6 hours of bouncing,if at all possible save the time and fly from Nairobi.We were fortunate that it had not rained or we might still be making our way there. Once arriving,the care we were given, the setting of the lodge and the abundance of wild life made the drive there all worthwhile. If you have the good fortune to visit here do enjoy the Sundowner and Hippo Breakfast that the lodge offers. A visit to the Masai village was also one that we will not forget.Thanks again to the kind people employed by the lodge!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the # 60"s have a great view and are not too far from lodge.Each individual unit has a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachgrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Dates of Trip: 29 Oct - 1st Nov
Number of rooms booked : 3
Purpose of trip: Photography course

We were on a photography trip to Masai Mara and stayed at Mara Serena safari lodge. the hotel itself is very cozy and comfortable. the design of the hotel is another story, the view on valley from the room always amuse use with wild life walking around in groups. the choice of colors is very unique and aesthetic. Everyone in the hotel makes you feel like home, whenever we leave the room in the morning (6:30 am) there will be an army waiting to help us carry our equipment to the cars. meals always vary from day to another to take you through different experiences.

I was sick one night and could not make it to dinner so at 10:30 pm I felt hungry and called the reception asking for some food, once the receptionist knew that I was sick he ask the chief to make me a special three course meal and have it delivered to the room in 20 minutes. The next night the waiter from the restaurant came to the room with a menu checking in advance if I will be able to make to the dinner or not, so I can order what I would like for dinner.

Could not ask for anymore !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlSulaimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent two nights at the Mara Serena in late October. Nestling high above the Mara River and the plains, the location is absolutely stunning, and an ideal base for game drives in the reserve, which is rich with animals. Sight, sound and smell combined to provide a phenomenal experience: the lion roaring its territorial ownership during the picth black of night, the grceful form of cheetahs moving through the grass and the stench of rotting flesh at the Mara Crossing, where so many wildebeest had lost their lives whilst crossing the river - a glut of corpses way beyond the immediate needs of the crocodiles, vultures and Maribou storks.

Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful and the food was very good; it was especially nice to have early morning coffee and a light snack before setting off on an early morning game drive. It was wonderful never to have to carry a suitcase, either up or down the relatively challenging incline to access the rooms, or 'pods'. These were clean and had excellent mosquito nets over the main bed, although they are made for two, really and with three of us in the room, it was somewhat cramped. The view over the plains was breath-taking, but they would benefit from mesh over the viewing doors and, given the high temperatures when we were there, a ceiling fan would have been a definite improvement. The lighting towards the rooms is subdued, and I did see that some people sensibly used torches; one elderly lady suffered an unfortunate fall, so I would recommend that, if you have any form of mobility problem, you ask for a room as close to main reception as possible. That said, we had a really positive experience, and would happily return.

Room Tip: Given the steep incline and subdued lighting, ask for a room close to reception: views will not be c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fabulous Lodge during our two day safari of the Masai Mara. The food was fabulous including their barbeques at dinner. The pool was refreshing with a nice view. The rooms were unique and charming. Wifi was a bit pricey at $20 per day at this lodge, and was totally free at the Ngorongoro Serena Lodge...this was a bit disappointing, especially as the signal wasn't always that great. All and all, I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rheppner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
23.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
7.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $300 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing