We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Better Choice in the Mara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No Better Choice in the Mara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

My wife and I have been fortunate enough to take some amazing holidays and to stay in some fantastic accommodation. So when Bateleur was the reply to where my wife would like to celebrate a significant birthday milestone I wasn't the least bit surprised. There simply is no better place in the Masai Mara.
This was our third stay at Bateleur. Our second stay (February 2007) was somewhat impromptu. We had decided to try somewhere different (Governor's Il Moran) but it simply didn't compare to Bateleur so we called up our friends and were whisked to heaven. We have learned our lesson, don't mess with success.
Many of the previous reviews have talked about the stunning location, super-comfortable beds & tents, and the world-class dining (for breakfast, lunch, and dinner), but I think what truly sets this lodge apart from the rest is the staff, their attention to detail, and the extra special surprises along the way. From your first stay you will be greeted with a genuine warmness as though you were family. The personalised service of having your own butler and waiter during your stay affords you an opportunity to get to know the people who work there. In fact, when we emailed to say we were returning for a visit Milka (the manager), Wilfred (our waiter) and Abraham (our room attendant) insisted on shifting their time off to welcome us "home".
Here are some insider tips to make sure you have an extra special stay. 1) The North Camp is the newer of the two and the main lodge is more open and has a more stunning view (tent #18 is the best choice for view and proximity to lodge...close but not too close). 2) Take advantage of the late afternoon Safari walk down to the river. The different perspective is wonderful, as are the Hippos lounging in the river. 3) Go on a night game drive. Bateleur's private concession affords this unique experience. Always fun to see a Hippo's surprised face as they graze on the Mara grasses (we were lucky enough to see a Leopard with a recent kill in a small tree -- thanks Daniel).
I'm not sure what more there is to say, only that I know I'll be back some day soon.....I hope.

  • Liked — The staff - their friendliness and fanstastic service.
  • Disliked — No Wi-Fi access - had to walk over to main Kichwa Camp
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank alfalfa_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
102
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

We saved the Bateleur Camp and Masai Mara for the end of our Safari and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived at the airstrip, we were welcomed and treated like royalty. The Lodge manager, our game driver, and our butler all greeted and welcomed us with drinks and snacks set up on a table in front of the Bateleur Land Rover. None of the other lodges welcomed their guests in this manner and it was at this point we knew we were in for something special.

Our short drive to the camp was like a mini game drive and we saw lots of wildlife. When we arrived at the lodge, we were escorted to our luxury "tents". These tents are nothing like I imagined. The tent was set on top of an elevated wooden planked platform with two leather lounge chairs sitting on an outdoor patio. The tent also sat under a wooden shingled roof structure that I imagine was built to keep guests dry during the rainy season. Inside, there was a large king bed with luxury linens and a duvet. There was a writing desk and even some exercise equipment. The bathroom area included a separate stone shower enclusure, a stone walled toilet room and a double sink vanity. The entire room was decorated with a Colonial African feel. After relaxing during the afternoon, we headed back to the main lounge area to meet our game driver Erick. Enroute to the lounge, we were startled by a warthog on the path. We came to realize that these animals roamed throughout the camp and were even spotted drinking the pool water. An electric fence around the perimeter keeps most of the large game away from the tents, but monkeys, warthogs, and weasels are all small enough to get into the camp.

Then we met our guide for a game drive. Since the camp is located just outside of Masai Mara, we were permitted to go on a night game drive. It was a magical experieince as we came across buffalo, serval cats, impala and hippo. Then we had a special surprise and were taken to a outdoor, candlelit barbeque dinner for all the Bateleur camp guests. We were also treated to singing and dancing by local Masai tribesman. It was a magical evening as we listened to the nearby hippos grunting in the river nearby.

After dinner, we returned to our tents only to notice that the room attendant had set up hot water bottles in the bed that kept us warm during the cool nights. And then for our wake-up call the next morning, our attendant knocked on the door and presented a tray of hot tea and biscuits. Now that's a wake up call!

The game drives throughout our stay were amazing. We didn't think anything would top our expereinces in Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti, but the Masai Mara is quintessential Africa. We tried to time our visit with the peak wildebeast migration and the infamous river crossings, but early rains had pushed most of the massive herds back into the northern Serengeti. But that didn't mean we didn't see any animals. We still saw some large herds of zebra, wildebeast, Topi, Eland, gazelles, hyenas, elephants, hippos, crocodiles, buffalo, cheetahs and lions. The rivers were still littered wtih dead wildbeast that drowned while trying to make the crossing, but the crocs, vultures and other preditors were so full from the abundance of food, that the carcases remained intact. Not a pleasant sight, but still interesting to view the circle of life. In addition, we were able to see lions mating, giraffes fighting for dominance, and a mother leopard with two cubs- -a rare sight indeed. One of the hightlights was spotting a pair of black rhinos that are so rare, only about 45 exist in the entire park. And if that wasn't enough, we stopped for breakfast by the Mara river and enjoyed a sundowner late in the afternoon on the open savanah. Later, we headed back to the Bateleur camp for an incredible dinner.

On our last morning, we had booked a hot air balloon ride. Unlike the other traveler who wrote a review and did not like his experieince at all, we all loved our experieince. I think seeing the stunning views over the vast grasslands and river below while watching the sun rise was a very special expereince and a highlight of our trip. While we did not fly over huge herds of animals, it was great to float quietly above the zebras and wildebeast grazing and running below.

Overall, our trip to the Bateleur camp and the Masai Mara was wonderful. The camp, the rooms, the staff and the food were all exceptional and should be rated amoung the best in the world. It's not cheap, but if you can afford to splurge, you won't be disappointed. We also visited the sister Kichwa Tembo camp nearby but it definietly was not up to the same level as the Bateleur camp. I hope to return someday.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — a bit expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

We loved, loved, loved our stay at Bateleur. Before coming to Africa, I was nervous about the accomadations because I didn't know what to expect. After staying here, I could say that its as nice as any luxury hotel in the us (if you put the hotel in the middle of the African bush!). Staff was wonderful- everyone wanted to make sure you had everything you needed and were as happy as possible. Our game viewing experience was super and the guide knew everything about everything.
If we were to go to Kenya again, we would stay here and stay for 4 or 5 nights instead of just 3.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisybugAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed at Bateleur for three nights and hugely enjoyed it. The standard of service is excellent and the food was really very good. You are fed a HUGE amount...lunch 3 courses / dinner 4 courses and breakfast is a bit of a feast too. I was struggling a bit i must admit, as it was all very tasty and tempting! They are also keen to ply you with booze! So you have to be very strong willed to avoid totally overindulging!
We had an excellent game drive experience. Whilst our guide had a decent level of knowledge about the wildlife, we did tend to spot the animals before he did!!! However he was first and foremost an excellent driver and we had him and the very comfortable jeep all to ourselves. Plus through his skilled driving he got us an amazing spot to watch a crossing (incredible sight), what more could you ask for?
The tented rooms are beautiful as all CC africa accommodation appears to be. I have however stayed in larger ones in South Africa for a lot less money. So whilst they are very well appointed and with really nice tasteful furniture - they could be a little roomier, but that is a fairly small point as they are certainly not cramped.
The staff are excellent, and you have your own 'Butler' and 'Room Steward' assigned to your tent. We appreciated the attentive, friendly and excellent service provided by our guys. They could not do enough for us and managed to do this in an unobtrusive manner. We got to know them and had really nice chats with them during our stay and yet they gave us our space too.
The management team are anything but unobtrusive!!! We sometimes found that their eagerness to create FUN FUN FUN at the camp a little exhausting and echoed slightly of the Hi Di Hi , HI DE HO approach to hospitality. But it was all meant with the best intentions and to criticise it would be unsporting of me.
I would note they do pull out all the stops at arranging special dinners, treats etc to make your stay more individual and special and for this they had a really genuine enthusiasm. We had a spectacular bush dinner arranged for us one evening on the banks of the Mara River. It was quite a special night and the staff and management put a lot of effort into doing to right.
Wine and drinks etc are all inclusive, and whilst you are asked for your preference as 'red' or 'white' rather than given a listing of what type of wines they actually have, you can ask - they have a decent choice of good South African wines. An actaul printed list of them would be very helpful
We managed to take some time to enjoy the pool here, which we had all to ourselves and the odd monkey that stopped by to say hello. An utter chill out zone.
It is a bit of a splurge to stay here, but it is certainly quite a place and we truly enjoyed our stay. So if you can afford it - I would recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Bateleur Camp was is one of the best safari lodges I have ever stayed at. The whole experience from the accommodation, to the service to (most importantly for me) the wildlife experience were first class.

You know you are staying somewhere special from the welcome you get at the airstrip. Whilst those going to other lodges are picked up and taken away you are met by the manager and a few Masai tribesmen next to a drinks table where you get a welcome drink and meet the others you will be on safari with. A nice touch and a good start to the stay.

The lodge itself is beautiful. Full of character and nice design touches and a great place to have a drink and dinner. The food was good and varied, as were the settings for dinner.

The rooms are fairly close together, which somewhat limits privacy, but are very well designed and finished. You have a lovely balcony on which to sit and enjoy a G&T before dinner as you watch the wildlife wander by in the distance. The beds are almost ridiculously comfy which makes it extremely hard to get up at 6am!

But getting up is well worth it as the game experience is fabulous. Our guide (Daniel) was enthusiastic, professional and incredibly keen to give us the best experience possible. I loved the fact you could spend the whole day on a drive and take lunch in the bush, rather than having to come back to the lodge for lunch.

If you can get here in time for the migration it is a hell of a place to see it. I was a little early, but got to see the early stages and that was impressive. Next year I will try and time it a bit better!

My only other comment, which is nothing to do with the lodge, is that I took a balloon ride one morning. I guess this may be enjoyable for some people but I found it utterly dull, a terrible way to see wildlife and it really didn't give a different perspective on the Masai Mara than you get driving up a hill!! Paying US$435 for this was ridiculous and I would have had more fun setting fire to $10 notes. I can only imagine this would be exciting for someone who finds scrabble an adventurous pursuit...the only time my heart rate or interest got up was when I saw the cost.

Anyway, Bateleur was fabulous and I will definitely be back. If you want to see amazing wildlife, with some of the best guides in Africa, and stay somewhere comfortable and stunning, you wont find anywhere better.

  • Liked — Everything - particularly the quality of the wildlife experience.
  • Disliked — The balloon ride. Don't waste your money.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beard3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

Our trip was wonderful!! All of the people at the camp were nice, helpful and very attentive. My family and I was there last september into october. We visited several CC Africa Camps. The food at Bateleur Camp was fantastic!!! Overall it was a very wonder experience. I would reccomend this trip to anyone who is looking for a once in a lifetime trip.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

Unique experience. The staff is the most friendly and kind one could wish to find anywhere in the world. The atmosphere is incredible. The camp is luxurious and charming. A true safari experience. We found it even more exciting and authentic than the best and most luxurious camps in South Africa.
We miss it a lot and wish very mush to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cenoronha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#24 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#29 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#11 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.1 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#32 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Bateleur Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Bateleur Camp

Property: andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forests on the very edge of the Masai Mara, each elegant tent at andBeyond Bateleur Camp replicates the style and glamour of vintage Africa. A world of hardwood floors, polished silver and sparkling crystal is juxtaposed against the romance of the open Mara plains, with their abundant herds of wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bateleur Camp At Kichwa Tembo Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Bateleur Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing