We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Class Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Northwood
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High Class Lodge”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Bateleur for two nights - and would have loved more. We were originally booked into the (cheaper) sister camp at Kichwa Tembo, but on arrival our guide was directed to the car park for Bateleur. Thinking there was some sort of mistake, we were a little worried and didn't really appreciate the initial welcome, but after being shown to our room and returning to the main area, there was no doubt that we were in the right place and made to feel very welcome.
The room (a luxury tent) was very comfortable and had wonderful views over the edge of the Mara - we saw plenty of game from the veranda. The lodge has resident monkeys, warthogs, mongooses and bushbuck as well.
The food was of high quality and good size portions. The service was personal and friendly throughout - everything we've come to expect from &Beyond.
I can't comment on the guides on the game drives as we had our own guide as part of a tour, but when talking to them at the lodge, they seemed very knowledgeable, and other guests seemed very happy with them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
104
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nathrop, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The final two nights of our safari were spent at Bateleur Camp. We had an excellent tent camping experience in the Serengeti and were expecting something similar at Masai Mara. And Beyond takes "tent" camping to a whole different level.

Our room was situated in the forest with a spectacular view corridor carved out toward the savanna which provided an ever changing panorama of changing light and parading wildlife. Our weather could not have been better so we were able to make the most of our evenings on the deck in comfortable stuffed chairs which were perfect for enjoying an evening cocktail after a day of game tracking.

The central lobby/dining tent was casual yet luxurious, perfect for the setting, and provided a wonderful atmosphere for lunch on the grass at the edge of the forest and dinner with the warm light of kerosene lanterns. The food and service were impeccable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Before reading this review, please take the time to read my review on Ngorongoro Crater Lodge which we did first. Bateleur Camp was kept a secret from my wife until we touched down on the dirt strip at Kichwa. I had promised / threatened that I would take her ‘camping’ in Africa as part of our plans .Yes, she promised never to speak to me again if I did, but as soon as she saw what constituted our tent, that soon changed. This place was my favourite part of the trip.
Just like at Ngorongoro, the staff set the scene the minute we stepped off the plane. Masibo’s infectious greeting –welcoming us to our home and his version of a Gin and Tonic, which there was never an inappropriate time for!. Both he and Milka went out of their way to ensure that everything ran smoothly, including the surprise balloon safari I had organised for the next morning. Everyone played along with my insistence that ballooning is not the safest thing to do, and came up with a cover story why we had to get up so early the next morning! It was magical, and the first time I can recall my wife being speechless – just taking in the awesome sunrise as we skimmed across the Mara only a few feet above the animals. She got to see her favourite animal, a lone giraffe silhouetted against the sunrise, a sight that you can’t describe. A magnificent champagne breakfast overlooking the Mara plains topped of the experience. Thank you Skyship!

Our driver Albert did a fantastic job of getting us up close and personal to all the wildlife you could imagine. His detailed knowledge of all creatures great and small was never ending and knew exactly when and where to go. We met some lovely people along the way and enjoyed many G&T’s watching the sun set by the banks of the Mara. The food was magnificent and so much of it. Chef Joseph did not disappoint, particularly when a surprise intimate dinner for two on our tent’s balcony was arranged one night for our anniversary dinner. Simply wonderful to have the whole camp staff wait just on us and sing and sing! I managed to also get a recipe or two from him. Thank you so much.
I knew this place would be something special from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, but you have to experience it to believe it. We just loved sitting out under the trees, whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner and taking in the scenery of the plains with various wildlife strolling by. Marai ensured that our glasses were never empty, whilst Francis was meticulously keeping our room spic and span. My wife loved the hand written notes before turning in for the night. Having Chef Joseph personally introduce the menu to each table just set the scene for a perfect occasion every meal time. Oh, watch out for the cheeky Sykes Monkey! Very entertaining. If you get the chance, go for a walking safari. The animals react totally differently to that which you experience by vehicle!

If we get the chance to go back to the Mara we will definitely stay again. My tips for Bateleur Camp – We stayed in tent 12 which gave you a beautiful view of the sunrise and balloon launch area in the distance. Again, a little dry this time of year, but the temperature was fantastic. We missed the end of the migration by a couple of weeks, but enjoyed less park traffic.

I would like to put in a good word for Safari Link Aviation Company. You guys put service first and the large commercial carriers to shame. Thank you so much for getting us from A to Z. From Kenya to Tanzania and back to Kenya. We found ourselves stranded at Mt Kilimanjaro airport as the Kenyan government had closed the Nairobi airspace for a national holiday celebration. This meant our scheduled flight to Wilsons was delayed nearly two and a half hours which led to us missing our connecting flight to the Mara. Not happy! But to the rescue came Sam from the local flying school at Wilsons Airport who had been chartered by Safari Link to get us to the Mara in a little Cessna 172 with night fall fast approaching. I had to drag my wife kicking and screaming onto the plane almost in tears, but by the time we landed, she didn’t want to get off and had a grin from ear to ear. Our own private aerial safari! Thank you so much Safari Link and thank you Sam for such a wonderful flight experience, which was like icing on the cake!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Looks like we will be the first to rate this camp as average. It has a lot going for it including atmospheric accommodations, wonderful food, and generally terrific staff helping you out at every turn. The reason we cannot give it a higher rating is the level of the guiding. Compared to other lodges and camps visited it did not measure up. We will not name the guide, but the camp needs to counsel him or get him better training. He seemed more like a driver going through the motions. Very little explanation of what we were seeing. He would often drive for a half hour without saying anything other than something like "look at that bird." Had no idea if he knew anything about the animals. He was definitely on his own schedule. We had requested some time for a cultural visit to a Masai village which never took place. Also the manager, Joseph, seemed insincere. He chased us down at the airstrip on our departure to get us to pay for a small bottle of sunscreen we had forgotten about. The whole scene was unseemly as they had us pay with a credit card in front of another couple. The guide was also present at the last second before we boarded the plane apparently looking for a tip. It all gave the impression that they were trying to squeeze every penny out of us. We had paid a lot to stay at this camp, many times what the bottle of sunscreen was worth. Sorry, but we cannot give this camp a higher rating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Bateleur Camp was 1 of 4 Camps or Lodges we stayed in during our 11-day Safari. It is an amazing place and probably the best camp in the Masai Mara NP. However, something is still missing to really call it excellent. There is a lot of movement going on in & around the camp to really feel that secluded feeling a lot of people travel to Africa for. The close proximity to other guests and shared game drives tune out the remoteness we seeked out. The abundance of operators and visitors in the Mara doesn't help either, even though that's not Bateleur's fault. That said the wild life in the Mara is amazing. We saw the Big Five in a single drive and our Bateleur Guide was quick to get to every sighting in record time and position herself in a great vantage point. Also, the cooks and staff in the camp is amongst the best we've had. So, if you're looking for a feeling of remoteness or seclusion, Bateleur might dissapoint a little and you're better off at private reserves. However, if you don't mind a small crowd for Safari Standards (i.e. not much) this is an amazing place thanks to the wildlife, the staff, the food and the ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent near the main tents of the South or North Camp. This will save you a bit of time ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I started our Safari adventure here and did not want to leave. The Maasai Mara is an enchanting place. The accommodations were beyond our expectations. But the staff made it magical. From Masibo (Camp Manager) to Litle Joe (our butler) and everyone else our stay was perfect. I miss Bateleur Already…..

Room Tip: They are all amazing….
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our first stop on our E Africa safari adventure. The team at Bateleur set the bar high. Mosibo and team are the best. We had a wonderful visit, great rooms, great food and the safari drives were amazing. Thanks to our guide, Albert, we got to experience the Masai Mara at its finest. We will return and stay longer at the Bateleur Camp. Thanks, &Beyond!

Room Tip: All have amazing views of the park. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMERinLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#26 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#27 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#22 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
13.1 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Bateleur Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Bateleur Camp

Property: andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forests on the very edge of the Masai Mara, each elegant tent at andBeyond Bateleur Camp replicates the style and glamour of vintage Africa. A world of hardwood floors, polished silver and sparkling crystal is juxtaposed against the romance of the open Mara plains, with their abundant herds of wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bateleur Camp At Kichwa Tembo Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Bateleur Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing