We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service and serves its purpose well”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Bateleur is a warm camp in which I My Family ad I were welcomed into by a song and immediately met the manager who was very warm and invited us to have dinner with her. The place was quite empty while we were there and we had breakfast by ourselves most days which was relaxing and nice. The rooms arent very special and they get quite cold at night but despite that the beds were good, we didnt spend much time in the rooms apart from when we slept. The game around the area in the Masai Mara is some of the best in Southern Africa and I have been to 4 countrys in Southern Africa. But the actually place is top because of the wonderful warmth and generosity of the staff and how they treat you.

Room Tip: all good and the same
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for andBeyond Bateleur Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We took a small flight from Wilson Airport to the landing strip at Kichwa Tembo.
There are 2 parts to the Bateleur Camp – looks like approx 8 tents each are looked after by each part – each having a reception area with couches etc and a dining area and kitchen. The top/north?. area seems a bit bigger with a great view of the plains.
You are met at the airport by a friendly team , with cocktails. It’s only a 15 min drive to the camp but on the way you get to see lots of animals before you have even unpacked. Our tent was No 18. All the tents seem to be the same and all are very private from each other protected by bushes and all seem to have a great view of the plains.
The camp is surrounded by a fence so you don’t get any wild animals actually wandering around the camp(except for some warthogs and monkeys). Although you may not get the “wild” experience of some camps you can see elephants/baboons/giraffe/assorted antelopes etc all pass the plains in front of you. At night you can hear the hippos wander past the fence and camp. It’s laid out so the plains go right up to the dining area so they have had wildlife come right up to the camp.
The tents are luxurious – huge bed, lovely furnishings, good toilet and large shower - in stone rooms within the tent. The tents are covered by a large wooden roof , with a decking area in front , with a grass area you can walk around.
Service is impeccable…from coffee delivered to your room in the morning, to serving of the food – the friendly chef who said hello at every meal and came for a chat with everyone, to the arrangements for the game drives, and flights etc, to Moses who looked after our game drive, to going back to our tent with someone shining a torch to show where to go!.
The staff are friendly – you feel they spend some time learning your name and who you are. They are very willing to help out and there whenever you need them.

Food – oh the food – it’s great – and sooo much and varied..The soups were the best I have tasted!. We couldn’t wait for our meal times. We had sundowner cocktails on the escarpment one night and a bush dinner listening to the hippos in the mara river… they do lots of different things and so it’s often a surprise as to where you can have your dinner!. Only complaint which seems common in Kenya resorts – they don’t do enough Kenyan food, we would have been curious about typical Kenyan meals and produce.
There are 2 swimming pools – 1 at this camp and 1 lovely one along a pathway at the Kichwa Tembo camp (infinity pool overlooking the plains). This camp is a lot bigger without the luxury and personalised service, although still looks very nice with tables under the trees..with the tents overlooking the grounds rather than straight-out to the plain.
We went on 2 game drives a day – one in the morning, and then one in the late afternoon before dinner. We had Moses as a guide, extremely knowledgeable about where to go, and all the wildlife. He was very friendly and looked after us…we felt he went the extra mile – literally to find sites for us. They are open sided jeeps which are the best way to see things – we shared it with 2 different couples at times, but everyone was very friendly and chatty and it was nice to meet other people. We got to see all the Big Six..lots of sightings of lions, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, buffalo, rhinom assorted antelopes and wildebeest,lots of birds, hippos, crocodiles, and saw an amazing sighting of a leopard..
They would have arranged a night drive if you had asked. They arranged a walk with one of the local masai tribe down to the river nearby, and its feels good to get out of a car and walk around!.
We arranged a balloon ride – you get up early in the morning watch the balloon get inflated, and then glide along the plain surprising the animals…we even surprised 2 Rhino together – she was just sneaking off before anyone realised they had spent the night together!
It is expensive but if you want luxury and personalised friendly service then it is worth it . Is it worth paying more than the normal Kichwa Tembo? – I think so – the tents are a bit nicer, and the service and food better, and they really provide an interesting experience being there.
Both camps are just outside the reserve but you get to see lots of animals on the way out and home – we saw some of our best sightings on this land so it doesn’t matter if it’s not right in the reserve.
An amazing experience…(mix this a beach holiday in Kenya- we went to Kinondo Kwetu and it was a great honeymoon!!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueiron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The reviews for this camp have been so consistent for a reason. This place really has it all. The outstanding features are too many too list and they are top notch. But what make this place really special are the staff. They have such well rounded character and love to share their culture and knowledge. Game drives, food, views, rooms .....they were all as perfect as one could expect. My seven year old son was so sad to leave the camp after three nights and still talks about going back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

There is something very special about the Mara, and Bateleur takes the best of it and rolls it into one - I took my my old lady here for her 60th birthday and it surpassed all my expectations.

Firstly the camp is magnificent - tented 5 star luxury over looking the mara plains, with warthogs and zebra on your doorstep. The camp has its own private concession - small but good- which allows you to offroad, and this isn't common in the Mara. You get night-drives and up-close encounters with all the game of the Mara as a result. 2 great pools at the camp and 3 points where you can chose to enjoy lunch or dinner!

The game viewing is unreal, everywhere you look are animals, and we were not even here during the migration. We saw the big 5 in 2 days plus numerous other sightings of serval, black rhino, cheetah and many more. If you're a birder, there are some amazing ticks here also. Private lunches with Hippos on the mara river, sundowners over-looking the plains, and hot-air balooninng at dawn over the entire Mara are things that will never be forgotten.

The staff are what set this place apart from other places i have visited. Kenyans in general are great people to converse with and the ones working here and incredible people. From our ranger, Wilson to butler Godiface, everyone was magnificent and did their utmost to make it a special occasion for us. We even got given gifts from the chef on departure adding a a nice personal touch to what was already amazing service.

I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Kenya or East Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyman-Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Bateleur Camp for 3 nights at the end of our trip in July 2011 and had an excellent time, a wonderful way to wrap up an adventurous trip. To start off, Milka - the manager - warmly welcomed us at the airstrip.

Despite it's name as a "camp", Bateleur offers all the amenities of a 5-star hotel: comfy bed, clean showers and toilets, wi-fi, etc. But the best thing about Bateleur was the impeccable service! "Wake up calls" was the butler who came with a choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Every morning before our game drive, our driver - Timothy (highly recommended!) - would ask us what our wishlist for the day was (e.g., see leopards, a hunt, a sunset, etc). He would then try to deliver against his promise. We even caught the migration in full swing! Milka also has a knack for surprises. We received a wonderful send-off with a surprise bonfire BBQ dinner in the bushes complete with Masai dance.

In all, we had an excellent time - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We kicked off our safari here at Bateleur Camp, and it really set the bar high for the rest of our subsequent accomodations. Arriving at the airstrip, we were greeted by our guide, Protus, who had a spread laid out for us next to the runway- drinks all round! The camp is set in a wooded area beween the escarpment and the open Mara, and is nothing short of stunning. Lunch on the deck as giraffe and impala float past. The tneted rooms are lovely with wood and stone floors, and again, you are looking out on the Mara from your bed. It is only the tent screen between you in your comfy king sized bed and the animal kingdom, complete with soundtrack at night- tough to beat. But what makes all the difference is the level of personal service. Our butler, Eunice, made sure that we were well looked after at all times, and she quickly became privy to our needs and wants. Mosibo, the manager, also was most helpful, filling my photography bean bag with rice, and later producing a camera mount to help on the game drives. Our guide, Protus, was a master of anticipating where the game was, and made it his personal mission to ensure we got front row seats to everything. The ambience of the lodge is open and friendly on all levels- there is not enough to say about the friendliness of ALL the staff. We plan to return...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RestlessTravelBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was a splurge for us, and we are so glad we booked at Bateleur. Our main reason for booking at a top of the line safari was to get high quality guides, safari vehicles, and overall experience. Our guide, Erick, was great at sensing when we wanted to learn more from his breadth of knowledge and we wanted to just sit back and take it all in. He made sure that we had variety in the game drives during our 3 days. We especially appreciated an all-day drive to where the wildebeests were on migration near the Tanzania border- above and beyond!

The room was magnificent, food phenomenal, and service top-notch. The entire experience from start to stop was memorable.

If you're debating Bateleur Camp versus Kichwa Tembo, it depends on your budget and tastes. From what we could tell, Bateleur provides more deluxe tent/rooms with greater privacy between them (and more romantic), a la carte meals in lieu of buffet, and a more customized schedule. My guess is they assign the more experienced guides to Bateleur guests and looked like slightly more comfy vehicles, but I'm sure the Kichwa experience would be great as well. & Beyond has a great reputation.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer North camp section (rooms in the teens) if possible. If partially booke...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlipSlider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
3.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Naibor Camp
Naibor Camp
#61 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
219 reviews
12.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#28 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#17 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
244 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#31 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Bateleur Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Bateleur Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $755 - $1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forests on the very edge of the Masai Mara, each elegant tent at andBeyond Bateleur Camp replicates the style and glamour of vintage Africa. A world of hardwood floors, polished silver and sparkling crystal is juxtaposed against the romance of the open Mara plains, with their abundant herds of wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bateleur Camp At Kichwa Tembo Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Bateleur Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing