We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Time Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$409
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
18
17
8
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
17
8
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget tourkenya and tanzaniaeco campmaasai maraguide jacksonluxury lodgeguide driverhot waterwonderful animalsrift valleyanimals includingreception areagame drivesdavidaccommodationsafarilandscape
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My friend and i toured this place for my birthday and at first we were disappointed. The reception area doesnt even have a headboard to indicate that we've arrived the right place. It was quite dingy since it is new and not yet established. The cooks, cleaners and watchmen are the same people though i have to admit that their food was quite good compared to how the rooms looked. The food was good with a touch of homemade cooking. The rooms were not lovely, yet they were tented but the beds and beddings weren't to par. There was no table to place one's luggage which isnt encouraging. The bathroom and loo were very basic but thankfully the water was hot always. All in all, not what i expected especially from the tour company but i did have fun at the Masai Mara National Park. This made up for my disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumah Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We went to Kenya and Tanzania,through big time safari  and we were scammed in both countries.
Let me start with our guide: he was super friendly but knew so little about the animals and the safari life that we felt uncomfortable to ask anymore questions to him. He never knew the answers and so he sometimes attempted a guess, which was really far from the correct one ( I knew some and we researched on the others). He smoked all the time while driving inside the van  and would throw the buds in the savana! Also, he drove off the main roads many times. This is illega for many reasons including the erosion to the soil and killing of  small wild animals. He even knew he was wrong because when I mentioned it to him he said " it's jail for me if they catch  me." 

When we left Kenya to Tanzania, we were " welcomed" by an extremely rude man called  Abraham. When I asked him questions, he would not even look at me, and would interrupt me by talking to husband.This same guy would  be the one who once the trip was done would hang up on my husband and never contact us again. Talk about professionalism.He is the manager in Tanzania, and he is the one who got us a $400/night  hotel and without our consent put us in a $ 200 instead.When we complained about this to him over the phone he said not to worry, that he would come to meet and talk to us in person once the safari was over. When we arrived back at our hotel he was not there,he would not come to meet us and over the phone he lied to us saying the nice hotel we payed for was all booked, and that they were both at the same standars. When we checked over the Internet it was not all booked and ,we were told it was a difference of $200 per night!  The one we payed for had a view to the crater and a pool,some of the reasons we wanted to go there, but the one we stayed had non of those. When we called him, he said there was mothing he could do, and then he hung up.The people of Kenya - Albert is the manager-at this point do not even answer our calls . When we arrived back in Kenia (Mombasa)  no one was there to pick us up like it was promissed. We rented a car, got to the hotel we had payed already for (a really good hotel with pool in front of the beach) and they said " it's all booked". They finally came to the hotel and took us to some old and ugly hotels. We were now furious we had wasted 4 hours going from one ugly old hotel to another, they didn't even face the beach, but they kept saying it as at the same standars" .We just had enough, we went our own ways but contacted our credit cards ofcourse.It's just wrong to do this to people and they need to be taken accountable. I feel very strongly about the need to warn people about such companies, but not so about going for a company that is more expensive because that is not always possible due to financial reasons, and also because that does not promote change.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAkiki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews