We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there were six stars, Olare would be most deserving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If there were six stars, Olare would be most deserving”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Olare was an amazing, unforgettable experience. The staff are amazing (they remember your name, go out of their way for you and are most hospitable), the property is incredible (so comfortable in your "tent" if you can even call it that - it's better than many of the hotels I have stayed at elsewhere!) and the food is delicious (try the masala tea - we were addicted!!!). AND there's wifi!!! Yes, in the middle of the Mara!

We loved everything about our stay, right down to our amazing guide, Anthony. He was persistent and we saw everything we expected and more. We also had a blast doing so. Our last day we had a "bush breakfast" - yes, breakfast on the Mara. Seriously. It is truly a lifetime experience that everyone MUST do.

The property is small, which adds to the charm. There is no mass-tourism here. Everything has a personal touch. There is an option to visit a Masai village (which we did, at 30 USD per person - it was quite an experience but beware when trying to purchase items - very overpriced).

We are waiting to come back very very very soon. I highly recommend the Olare - you just can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, we really appreciate the time you have taken to give us feedback on your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable and comfortable stay at the resort. We will definitely pass on your compliments to the chef and his team in regard to the food and the Masala Chai, and Anthony too for the game drive experiences.

Look forward to having you back with us again in the near future, hope you will also visit our Nairobi property when you return, Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. In case we can be of any assistance in regard to your reservation, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
81
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited olare mara kempinski and it was the best experience ever! From the hospitality to the game drives it was out of this world! Breakfast and lunch were outside under the sun and they arranged a surprise private dinner for us too! We stayed in the honeymoon tent and it was perfect! The guide who took us made sure we saw every type of animal our favourite was Malaika when she was on the safari car! Would definitely recommend this to anyone and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 211corin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are delighted that you selected the resort as your preferred choice of accommodation in the Mara and enjoyed the game drives, Al fresco dining experiences and the Kempinski hospitality in the midst of the Wilderness.
Malaika and the team at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara look forward to having you back with us in the very near future. If we can be of any assistance with your reservation, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I had just spent three days at the Olare Mara and it is a superb experience. First of all, the attention of the staff from calling you by your name to understanding any dietary requierements is nothing short of a 5-star hotel. The food is very good, international - personally I would have liked to see African dishes served to complete the safari experience. At night, though animal noises may make you feel a bit nervous the first night, you quickly learn that you are their visitor and it is them who are giving you permission to stay. Its quite all right. We did the balloon ride, and it is just an amazong experience for all family members, my kids (18, 17, and 12), did not want to leave. I recommend this property absolutely, you will not regret it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
We are delighted to hear that your experience was great. We hope to have you and your family back in the near future.
We will definitely look into your suggestion for serving local authentic dishes.
Thank you for selecting Olare Mara Kempinski as your preferred accommodation choice in the Masai Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

i stayed in Olare for the first time over Easter was a fantastic experience. The staff are very friendly, you get to know them by name the game viewing is not comparable to any national park.
We had a twelve hour game drive with no complaint from drivers. My only criticism is if it is raining you have to get back to camp fast because of a river which can't be crossed otherwise

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chand s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are extremely pleased to hear that you you had a fantastic Easter break at the property. Olare Orok Conservancy is indeed very special for game viewing. We will most definitely pass on your compliments to our driver guides. Look forward to having you back with us in the near future, if there is anything that we can do to assist with your reservation, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been to Olare many times with family and never once have we been disappointed! The place is very open and romantic. My daughter was 8 months when we went there first time and the staff were so friendly and helpful...to the extent that they took turns to babysit whilst we ate dinner! :) Excellent camp to connect with nature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara and for the compliments in regard to our colleagues on property. We hope that you will continue to visit to enjoy the connection with nature, which is an experience that can be compared to no other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at Olare several times and found it to be an excellent place.

Service is great; tents are gorgeous and game drives are excellent. We did a full day game drive (6.30am to 8pm) and no complaints from drivers or any of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. Happy to hear that you were pleased with the overall presentation of the product. Olare Orok Conservancy is indeed extremely special for game viewing.We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My parents and I stayed two nights at the Olare Lodge. I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience. It is truely a wonderful place, beautiful lodge, amazing food and above all, awesome staff. Thanks to all the team for such a memorable journey in the Masai Mara!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on your stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
9.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
913 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Property: Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is located in Olare Orok Conservancy. The resort comprises of 12 deluxe suites tents of which 1 is a honeymoon suite. The deluxe suites cover an area of 80 sq m and are furnished in the classic style of the grand African safaris, with large four poster beds and reproduction furniture, offset by modern amenities. The honeymoon suite has its very own plunge pool, ideal for watching the sun set over the Mara and toasting to life together with champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing