We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice experience”

Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Masai Mara Kenya's most precious jewel and there is no better way to enjoy the magic of the park than from the air ! Adventures Aloft flies daily from Fig Tree Camp and Siana Springs in the Masai Mara game reserve. Flights take off at 6.30 Each morning in time with the sunrise and allow one to experience an eagle's view of the Masai Mara and all it's beauty. To complete the celebration a champagne breakfast is served on the Mara plains after the flight , complete with butler service and an open bar. Adventures Aloft organizes pick up services from most Mara camps and lodges.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I took my daughter for her first balloon trip whilst on her 21st Birthday holiday to the Masai Mara. Captain John was experienced and friendly so we felt safe with him at the helm. There were 10 people plus the captain and a couple of ground staff, in the 4 compartment balloon basket. Not overcrowded at all. We set off around 6am so we could catch the sunrise from the air. It was very beautiful. We saw several different herds of animals, from different heights. We were brought lower to the ground to see 2 hyenas working together to try and pinch a baby wildebeest from a herd, however, the mother had other ideas and soon saw them off!

We had a smooth landing then were driven off to the site where we had a very well organised and tasty champagne (Asti Spumante!) breakfast. We were all given certificates to say we'd done the trip and an option to buy a DVD with our pictures and a short video of the trip, for $40 or 3000 KS. Pricey but as it was a special Birthday trip, I bought one as a memento.

Worth going to see the Mara from a different angle but I wouldn't rush to go again. $450 per person was a bit steep, in my opinion, for the 1 hour trip plus breakfast, especially when the billed 'champagne breakfast' wasn't the real McCoy! However, as a special one off trip, the experience was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“How exciting is the Mara from the air!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second experience in the balloon over the Mara. The first one being during the migration 2 years ago, we were wondering what it would be without the massive herds of wildebeests and zebras! Well it was just great, with a beautiful sunrise, fabulous landscapes, lots of distance as it was rather windy and many animals seen among which a magnificent black maned lion.

The captain was a very nice fellow whose company we enjoyed pretty much. The breakfast with champagne in the bush after the balloon landed is also a nice tradition!

We had to wake-up at 4:30AM since we had to be transported from Mara Explorer, it is expensive but this is such a wonderful experience to be done at least once in your life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sprowston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Would not have missed this, it was truly wonderful. Definitely worth the early start. To glide over the Masai Mara watching the huge herds of wildebeest, zebra and elephant plus many other animals and birds. When the balloon is not being fired you can hear the sound of the grazing herds below. The trip lasts about an hour and 15 minutes and then a drive where we saw many animals. The champagne breakfast in the open area surrounded by grazing animals was something not to be missed. Would really recommend this trip to anyone and big thanks to Steve, our pilot, for a safe gentle landing.

The breakfast, all prepared in the open air is good and plentiful. When we had finished we enjoyed another game drive on our way back to our lodge at Keekorok. This is truly a not to be missed experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Way overpriced but glad I did it!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had big reservations about this adventure since the price was very high (in my opinion) $450 USD per person . However I found the balloon safari (if you can call an hour ride a safari!) to be fascinating. A good overview of the great migration, knowledgeably balloon pilot who pointed out some of the "hidden" animals like lions, hippos etc. The champagne breakfast at the end of the ride was fantastic. There was a 2 hour game drive that followed the breakfast that was very very good. Would I do it again, no, but glad I did it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon on safari so we thought we would treat ourselves to our first balloon trip.

Whilst the trip wasn't cheap, it was worth every penny. To have a balloon trip over the Masai Mara really is a once in a lifetime experience and one that we will treasure forever.

The balloon safari sets off from the Fig Tree Camp. We left our hotel at 4.30am and got to the camp around 5.00am. The balloon took off at 6ish. We had captain Ray who was brilliant. In case you are wondering, the balloon holds about 12 people.

The day we did our balloon trip, it was a perfect morning, blue skies and very calm. We saw the sun rise, witnessed the migration and saw plenty of wildlife from the balloon. The views were spectacular. We were in the air for just over an hour. Our landing was the smoothest you could imagine...not at all bumpy and frightening as you often hear when talking about balloon trips.

After we landed we were treated to the most amazing champagne breakfast in the middle of the Masai. The food was fantastic, probably one of the best full English breakfast we have had. As for the setting, you couldn't ask for more. There were a few tables of memorabilia in case you wanted to buy some little souvenirs, plus you can buy a DVD of the balloon ride too.

After breakfast you're taken back to your camp and we got back to ours by around 10.

I cannot rate this experience highly enough, especially if it is your first balloon trip...what better place to do it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari also viewed

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing