We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced but glad I did it!”

Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Masai Mara Kenya's most precious jewel and there is no better way to enjoy the magic of the park than from the air ! Adventures Aloft flies daily from Fig Tree Camp and Siana Springs in the Masai Mara game reserve. Flights take off at 6.30 Each morning in time with the sunrise and allow one to experience an eagle's view of the Masai Mara and all it's beauty. To complete the celebration a champagne breakfast is served on the Mara plains after the flight , complete with butler service and an open bar. Adventures Aloft organizes pick up services from most Mara camps and lodges.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Way overpriced but glad I did it!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had big reservations about this adventure since the price was very high (in my opinion) $450 USD per person . However I found the balloon safari (if you can call an hour ride a safari!) to be fascinating. A good overview of the great migration, knowledgeably balloon pilot who pointed out some of the "hidden" animals like lions, hippos etc. The champagne breakfast at the end of the ride was fantastic. There was a 2 hour game drive that followed the breakfast that was very very good. Would I do it again, no, but glad I did it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon on safari so we thought we would treat ourselves to our first balloon trip.

Whilst the trip wasn't cheap, it was worth every penny. To have a balloon trip over the Masai Mara really is a once in a lifetime experience and one that we will treasure forever.

The balloon safari sets off from the Fig Tree Camp. We left our hotel at 4.30am and got to the camp around 5.00am. The balloon took off at 6ish. We had captain Ray who was brilliant. In case you are wondering, the balloon holds about 12 people.

The day we did our balloon trip, it was a perfect morning, blue skies and very calm. We saw the sun rise, witnessed the migration and saw plenty of wildlife from the balloon. The views were spectacular. We were in the air for just over an hour. Our landing was the smoothest you could imagine...not at all bumpy and frightening as you often hear when talking about balloon trips.

After we landed we were treated to the most amazing champagne breakfast in the middle of the Masai. The food was fantastic, probably one of the best full English breakfast we have had. As for the setting, you couldn't ask for more. There were a few tables of memorabilia in case you wanted to buy some little souvenirs, plus you can buy a DVD of the balloon ride too.

After breakfast you're taken back to your camp and we got back to ours by around 10.

I cannot rate this experience highly enough, especially if it is your first balloon trip...what better place to do it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A dream come true!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Do yourself a favour when visiting the Masai Mara, take a balloon safari with Afventures Aloft!!
My group and I were treated to one of the most fabulous ways of going on safari, a ride in a huge balloon. The balloons are comfortable and very beautiful!! We had the most serene flight very early on a crisply cold morning. Our pilot was from Australia and his enthusiasm to be in the Mara was totally infectious!! What a way to travel and see the animals!! We were expertly set down, without so much as a bump and found that our ground crew had set up a lavish 5* breakfast complete with champagne and a souvenir shop, "in the middle of nowhere"!! After an hour flying and another hour having breakfast we drove back watching the animals. This is not a cheap excursion, but definately worth every penny!! It truly gives one a different perspective on game viewing!! Dont miss it, whatever you do!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Bragging rights with a balloon trip over the Masai Mara!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We took this trip at the end of March 2012. It is a big cost at $450 per person but seems like they all price the same. Picked at our camp the Mara Leisure camp at 4:30 AM and driven along the same roads that scared us in the daylight. Like riding in a tumble dryer.
Met up at the Fig Tree camp and taken by larger vehicle to the balloon out in the reserve.
Watched it inflate in the near dark and 14 of us up before the sunrise to watch it come up over the horizon from the air.
Not many animals active in the morning, unlike the evening, but we did see antelope and elephants and of course warthogs. Depending on the wind direction you may see more in the river - we did not blow that way.
Captain Moses still provided us a beautiful experience. An adventurous landing.
Trucked over then to an area where the chefs prepared us a great breakfast, plenty of champagne , mimosas , and screwdrivers.
And of course i can brag i ballooned over the savannah in Africa!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We took a balloon ride while we staying at the Mara Sopa Hotel. The 4.30 am start was a challenge and the 80 minute journey over the worst tracks we were taken over in the dark was interesting.
The Fig Tree Camp was welcoming and we were taken to watch the bollooon inflated. Quite specatular. There was 12 in the basket but it did not seemed too cramped.

Captain Ray was informative and entertaining. It was brilliant watching the sun rise while floating in the balloon. Although we did not see any exciting animals, it did not seem to manner. The wind was disapointing but just about OK.

When we landed we were taken to a table fully equipt for a full cooked breakfast and champagne. All thsi seemed bizzare in the middle of nowhere.

If you go to the Maasai Mara it is well worth taking a balloon ride.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari also viewed

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing