We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not really a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not really a good place to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. It's outside of the Masai Mara and not a good road to drive. It could be a shortcut but even this road was a long drive to go the places where you need to be to see a lot of wild animals.Ok, here at the camp are also possibilities to see wild animals but is was not the place where we wanted to be. It's not the staff, they tried to make your stay as nice as possible but everything here was poor and very simple. When you booked an expensive safari trip and stayed already in very nice tents you are looking at this with unbelief.
So when you like to stay in a simple place this is the one , the food is not bad at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mosquito-net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
289 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a rather simple tented camp.
The tents are clean, the shower hot... What more do you need?
The restaurant is also located in a tent.
When we were here we were the only guests in the camp.
The chef still offered us several options for lunch and dinner and the food was very, very nice.
Maybe not so good when you're with children since there is no swimming pool or other entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Newly opened (2013). Very friendly staff, all of whom were very willing to please. Good food and the chef made great efforts – and fantastic soups! Beautifully situated for touring the Masai Mara. Good quality spacious tents.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having been sold this as a luxury tented camp and looked on the website to confirm we arrived to find it was anything but. We had to be moved as we had no shower in one tent and when we were moved to the newer tents we still had a broken shower which they could not fix. There were no mosquito nets in the first tents and in the newer ones they did not fit the beds. The staff seemed amazed that we were unhappy and left us with water flooding into our tent because they could not fix the shower. The sinks were not attached to anything and had no plugs. The toiletries consisted of a small bar of travel soap. There was no where to hang or put clothes so they had to stay in your bag and most people had wet towels hanging outside their tents. The bar was also badly stocked and basically only served beer.
Our travel agent has been trying to get some sort of answer from the camp since we arrived back a month ago and they are still not offering anything and do not seem to grasp the meaning of customer services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

When i visit Kenya a visit to the Masai Mara National Reserve its a must. Its a great place to relax and refresh memories, while watching the great Migration take place. I always feel home and will highly recommend Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp for their hospitality during our stay there. Keep it up ans we will definatelly come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGFIVEKassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevninge, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the 2nd to the 5th of august I had the pleasure of staying at Elangata Olerai Camp in Masai Mara with my wife and some friends.
I have already stayed at the camp 2 times before travelling on my own, and I have been very pleased about it. When I came back to Denmark in Febuary after my second stay, I told my friends and family about my great experiences at the camp – The friendly and nice reception from the staff with a little refreshment, the big tents with a firm surface which all had separate bathroom with both cold and hot water in the shower and separate toilet and big beds with good quality mattresses. All tents had their own porch and every day the tents are cleaned and the beds made.
The tents, which all are different, are placed so there are good room between them. The big restaurant tent serves excellent food. The camp also has a bar which is located above of the reception and has a spectacular view over the Savannah.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The camp has also guards, who are local Masais, who takes care of the guests safety from the wild life of the Savannah. Even though you can hear a lot of different sounds from the Savannah at night from elephants, zebras and the roars of a lion in the distance, it is easy to feel completely safe on the camps property. It is definitely a great place to stay, when on safari on the Masai Mara.
When I told my wife, who of course have hear it all before after my last 2 visits, and 4 of our friends they were so excited, that they wanted to get that experience too – both the safari and stay at Elangata Olerai Camp.
We contacted “Animal World Safaris ltd.” (www.animalworldsafariske.com) who organized the entire trip, and they gave us a fantastic experience. Every morning and evening we were picked up at Elangata Olerai Camp by a personal driver, who made a game drive to Masai Mara Nationalpark and we were returned to the camp afterwards. During the 3 days of safari we had seen quite a lot of animals and special places. Both big and small animals of the Savannah, the big cats and tens of thousand wildebeests which during our visit migrated from the south to Masai Mara crossing the Mara river. We also saw the lions hunt and kill 2 wildebeests, which was amazing to watch.
Between the morning and evening game drives we had time to relax at Elangata Olerai Camp and my friends had time to visit a local Masai village nearby the Elangata Olerai Camp. My friends were very satisfied with our trip and the time on the Savannah, and they had an experience of a life time. For me it was yet another great experience and stay on Masai Mara and Elangata Olerai Camp.
A great experience that I highly can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt Egon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I and friends had great time in Elangata Olerai Camp.We really enjoyed the experience,lovely surrounding hope to be back again.
The tents are good for the privacy because are located apart from each other.
The food was great, clean tents, great services and charming staffs.
sunrise and breath taking environments.all our two nights we great and we wish it would stay for a week.Martin and all the staffs are great.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winfred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#77 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing