We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elangata Olerai Camp, the start of a good safari in Masai Mara.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Gevninge, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elangata Olerai Camp, the start of a good safari in Masai Mara.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the 2nd to the 5th of august I had the pleasure of staying at Elangata Olerai Camp in Masai Mara with my wife and some friends.
I have already stayed at the camp 2 times before travelling on my own, and I have been very pleased about it. When I came back to Denmark in Febuary after my second stay, I told my friends and family about my great experiences at the camp – The friendly and nice reception from the staff with a little refreshment, the big tents with a firm surface which all had separate bathroom with both cold and hot water in the shower and separate toilet and big beds with good quality mattresses. All tents had their own porch and every day the tents are cleaned and the beds made.
The tents, which all are different, are placed so there are good room between them. The big restaurant tent serves excellent food. The camp also has a bar which is located above of the reception and has a spectacular view over the Savannah.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The camp has also guards, who are local Masais, who takes care of the guests safety from the wild life of the Savannah. Even though you can hear a lot of different sounds from the Savannah at night from elephants, zebras and the roars of a lion in the distance, it is easy to feel completely safe on the camps property. It is definitely a great place to stay, when on safari on the Masai Mara.
When I told my wife, who of course have hear it all before after my last 2 visits, and 4 of our friends they were so excited, that they wanted to get that experience too – both the safari and stay at Elangata Olerai Camp.
We contacted “Animal World Safaris ltd.” (www.animalworldsafariske.com) who organized the entire trip, and they gave us a fantastic experience. Every morning and evening we were picked up at Elangata Olerai Camp by a personal driver, who made a game drive to Masai Mara Nationalpark and we were returned to the camp afterwards. During the 3 days of safari we had seen quite a lot of animals and special places. Both big and small animals of the Savannah, the big cats and tens of thousand wildebeests which during our visit migrated from the south to Masai Mara crossing the Mara river. We also saw the lions hunt and kill 2 wildebeests, which was amazing to watch.
Between the morning and evening game drives we had time to relax at Elangata Olerai Camp and my friends had time to visit a local Masai village nearby the Elangata Olerai Camp. My friends were very satisfied with our trip and the time on the Savannah, and they had an experience of a life time. For me it was yet another great experience and stay on Masai Mara and Elangata Olerai Camp.
A great experience that I highly can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt Egon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I and friends had great time in Elangata Olerai Camp.We really enjoyed the experience,lovely surrounding hope to be back again.
The tents are good for the privacy because are located apart from each other.
The food was great, clean tents, great services and charming staffs.
sunrise and breath taking environments.all our two nights we great and we wish it would stay for a week.Martin and all the staffs are great.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winfred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are party of 8 that stayed two nights on 18 and 19 July. Elangata Olerai has good, clean tented camps and our two nights there were very good. It is located a bit far compared to some other camps/lodges. Good location to see sunrise just before 7 am near the main gate.

The food was good, given the remote location. Towels were really nice and soft, as they were custom made with their logo, showing that the owners do aim to maintain a higher standard. Actually the towels were better than those we used at some Serena/Sopa lodges!!

The boss was particularly friendly. There was no wifi at this camp but he lent us his IPad with SIM card so we were able to maintain some minimal connections to check business emails etc.

Takes a bit of walking between the reception, dining area and the tents/bungalows but it is pretty safe as there are masai mara folks/warriors who patrol the ground at night with bow and arrows, stick and rungu (a wooden stick with round hammer-like sticking out at the end).

Room Tip: Get rooms nearer the dining area to save a bit of walking!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

it's a simple tent with basic set up. consider that you are staying in a safari, a clean room with bed, hot water for shower, warm food and electriciy, it's luxury.

we stayed for 2 nights. not many choices on food, i ordered a hot water but it's in yellow, the bottle of coke ordered was in xmas packing, expiry on the bottle was June 2013!

staff was friendly and attentive, but there's a villager "escort" us for every meals. he asked for money, even my husband's watch. we wanted to take pictures of the star after light out but he was still there, he made us feel unsafe, we got back to our tent.
we went out next day in the morning, he's there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 852ghon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a great experience here and we enjoyed it. During the previous 2 nights we stayed at the Mara Serena Lodge, very nice but very different.
The people here are really welcoming and although there wasn’t a wide choice of dishes for dinner and breakfast, it all tasted great. The accommodation is a bit basic, but it was a great experience and we liked to mix luxury accommodations and more authentic “adventurous” accommodations. Since the camp is situated just outside the park, it is an ideal spot to spend one night or two before moving on to another accommodation inside the park (especially West side).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

All was wonderful, staff, comfort, food, and safety. Any questions, requests, or concerns were immediately attended to. The Masai staff always walked with us at night, enriching our stay with information on their culture. Food was good, breakfast available as early as we desired- loved the pancakes ( I would call them crepes) and red plum jelly, wonderful soups daily, Great views from the tents. Clean and roomy tents and showers. We take away great memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harridog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Given it was peak season, this place is a good value for money. Not a lot of variety of food, but it tasted great. Wasn't a big fan of the location. It was quite far from the gate. But the tents were nice and clean and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#77 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing