We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Maasai Mara National Reserve
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
34
50
36
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
50
36
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don't expect luxury masai mara the reserve breakfast and dinner hot shower comfortable beds packed lunch every evening game drives generator gate electricity accommodation camp tents safari nairobi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 144 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2019

We stayed at Rhino Tourist camp with my family and I attest that we had a very good experience. The staff there are friendly and the food is awesome. My only concern is that there is no WiFi and the hot shower system should be improved.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MaSamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Don't think the park has any rhinos. Anyways we got a package of usd 480 pp for transport, stay here with full board for 3 nights with game drives. All inclusive basically. Vehicle was open roof top Toyota hi ace. Rooms were basic. Just bed and table. Power only between 5-7 am and 6:30 to 10 pm. Bed quality was poor. Buffet Dinner was nice with options. They have a bar but sadly no ice cubes for drinks. Buffet Breakfast was sad and cold. Packed lunch was ok. Overall do the costing and decide. Online for usd 220 just the stay with full board was on offer, for a couple. You can contact Felix in their Nairobi office on 0702845668 for full package.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Aspi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

This is a budget camp so don't expect luxury. Having said that it was a very nice place to stay. Bring a flashlight since the electricity is only on for a couple of hours each morning and evening. Also bring Shillings as they do not accept USD (at least not $1 bills).
Food is buffet style and was simple but good. The further done the row of cabins you are the longer it takes for the hot water to reach you room. We had to let the water run for almost 15 minutes before it heated up.A minor inconvenience but not a problem is you know what to expect.
There was a nice campfire each evening to sit around and talk.
Staffs was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PegL2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Good basic accommodation. Very helpful staff.Light are on by generator for 3 hours in the evening. Food is simple and good.Could add some extra bottles of water in the room. Located just opposite to a Masai village which is another place to visit besides the Masai Mara Reserve.

Room tip: arrange stay in the brick built rooms rather than the tents.These rooms are numbered yearwise, like 1976, 1978 etc.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SandipKRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

I needed some time to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and went over to Masai Mara. Rhino Tourist Camp had affordable offers and I chose to stay in the camp. The experience was a wonderful one with welcoming staff and a wide variety of meals to choose from. The rooms offered a cool solace in the wild as well as joining in the bonfire in the evening.
I recommend the camp for those seeking affordable rates and a get a way to the natural Masai Mara

Room tip: The tents offer a more natural experience
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lawrencekpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews