We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice little friendly camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino Tourist Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Tourist Camp
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little friendly camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a nice couple of nights stay food was ok but the chef made up for it he was very helpful and went out of his way to please a difficult customer. My grandaughter loved the monkeys and masaii village. I will be sending some pics to you for the masaii alan leming i think his name was a very nice lad thanks it was all fine for us debby and chantelle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasminyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
14
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After a whole day in a safari car, it's nice to have a cosy place waiting for you. Of course it's not luxurious but it's definitely comfortable and clean, which to me was enough. Also it was good that the rooms had their own bathrooms. The food there was also very good, I wasn't expecting that, way better than in many restaurants in Nairobi. One of the highlights to me was the bonfire. After dinner, almost everyone in the camp got together around it, people form all around the world exchanging experiences, very interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinotouristcamp, General Manager at Rhino Tourist Camp, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our campsite. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you to visit us again when you have another chance to travel to Kenya.

I am also pleased to mention that as of today we have renovated all our rooms so that both Wing A and B are of the same standard. We now have tiles in all the bathrooms as opposed to in one wing as was the case when you visited. All this is in an effort to make sure that guests staying at our campsite have comfortable and pleasant accommodation to compliment the Safari experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are travelling on a limited budget and aren't looking for luxury and pampering while on safari, then it is worthwhile to give the Rhino Camp in Maasai Mara a go. I was there for two nights while on safari and I believe i got value for money. The rooms are clean and I agree with some reviewers here that the staff are rather friendly.
My only concern was that the food menu is rather limited. The food is tasty, yes but there really isn't much to choose from. If they can have a bigger variety, then I am sure travelers would't mind spending a little extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easy-Joe-Conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The highlight of my safari was my trip to the maasai mara park and i am very happy with my experience. I came face to face with what i only used to see on national geographic. I saw the famed BIG FIVE and at very close range too!
I stayed at the rhino tourist camp for 2 nights. The camp has a rather warm and somewhat cosy atmosphere and I think this is partly because of the layout of the camp. For a low season, it was surprisingly well occupied. I counted 37 people on the first night at the dining area.
My tent was quite neat with clean bed sheets and a clean tiled bathroom. There is hot water in the evenings and early morning. Power is by generator and this is on only for a few hours 6-10p.m. in the evening and 6-8 in the morning. The food was not fancy and not very varied but it was very tasty. The staff there are also quite friendly which is what i enjoyed the most.
I highly recommend this camp to trip advisor readers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Located three minutes from the park.
Clean, tidy: two rows of tents, common dining room - on sale water, beer.
In the tent two beds with mosquito nets, shower, toilet, sink, socket.
Electricity in the morning for two hours and three hours in the evening - we had a triple adapter, all the time to charge.
Once closed the only vertical zipper on the tent, and the bottom two forgot to close - monkey got into the tent and turned everything upside down.
Breakfast and dinner - buffet, everything is quite simple but tasty and nutritious (stewed vegetables and meats, sausages, pasta, baked potatoes, fruit).
Near the dining room is a tent, where you can get a massage.
A good camp for a budget accommodation in Masai Mara!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you want to go to kenya in a safari and sleep in a luxury bed, stay home cause the nice atmosfere is have adventure and enjoy the simple things of life :D
The tends are basic, however clean. Bathroom inside with hot water. Very simple one, but clean.
Lights and energy are not on whole day. There are specific times to use the eletricity.
breakfast is good, lunch and dinner amazing kenyan food.
beer is hot, I mean natural temperature, but I am brazilian and we only drink iced beer... was terrible.
Check the weather cause was a bit cold at night in June, bring jackets.
Is inside of jungle, so you have to be ready agaist moskitos. There is nets on the beds.
I didn't see any weird or disgusting animal at the camp, thanks god.. Just birds and few lezards out side my tent.
Is close to Massai Mara tribe, so they will take you to meet the comunity. Very poor btw...
Good to put your mind in place and see the reality of others.
I spent 2 nights over there and it was one of the best experience in my life.
staffs are nice with big smile all the time.
My bathroom was very simple but I saw some pics now and I think they put some tile now... is better check.
I made so many friends there... was so amazing... :D
Go for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were with ny husband in Camp. Wonderfull place!!! Realy!! Kindly personal, very close with park, not noisy. We would like to return in Rhino on other year with our friends. Very good meal and cooks!!! Ive never see a lot of stars like here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#101 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#86 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nalepo Mara Camp
Nalepo Mara Camp
#73 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nalepo Mara Lodge
Nalepo Mara Lodge
#128 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Explorers Camp & Backpackers
Mara Explorers Camp & Backpacker...
#40 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Tourist Camp

Property: Rhino Tourist Camp
Address: Ololaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Rhino Tourist Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Tourist Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing