We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Camp in Maasai Mara but limited food menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhino Tourist Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Tourist Camp
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Camp in Maasai Mara but limited food menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are travelling on a limited budget and aren't looking for luxury and pampering while on safari, then it is worthwhile to give the Rhino Camp in Maasai Mara a go. I was there for two nights while on safari and I believe i got value for money. The rooms are clean and I agree with some reviewers here that the staff are rather friendly.
My only concern was that the food menu is rather limited. The food is tasty, yes but there really isn't much to choose from. If they can have a bigger variety, then I am sure travelers would't mind spending a little extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easy-Joe-Conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
14
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The highlight of my safari was my trip to the maasai mara park and i am very happy with my experience. I came face to face with what i only used to see on national geographic. I saw the famed BIG FIVE and at very close range too!
I stayed at the rhino tourist camp for 2 nights. The camp has a rather warm and somewhat cosy atmosphere and I think this is partly because of the layout of the camp. For a low season, it was surprisingly well occupied. I counted 37 people on the first night at the dining area.
My tent was quite neat with clean bed sheets and a clean tiled bathroom. There is hot water in the evenings and early morning. Power is by generator and this is on only for a few hours 6-10p.m. in the evening and 6-8 in the morning. The food was not fancy and not very varied but it was very tasty. The staff there are also quite friendly which is what i enjoyed the most.
I highly recommend this camp to trip advisor readers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Located three minutes from the park.
Clean, tidy: two rows of tents, common dining room - on sale water, beer.
In the tent two beds with mosquito nets, shower, toilet, sink, socket.
Electricity in the morning for two hours and three hours in the evening - we had a triple adapter, all the time to charge.
Once closed the only vertical zipper on the tent, and the bottom two forgot to close - monkey got into the tent and turned everything upside down.
Breakfast and dinner - buffet, everything is quite simple but tasty and nutritious (stewed vegetables and meats, sausages, pasta, baked potatoes, fruit).
Near the dining room is a tent, where you can get a massage.
A good camp for a budget accommodation in Masai Mara!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you want to go to kenya in a safari and sleep in a luxury bed, stay home cause the nice atmosfere is have adventure and enjoy the simple things of life :D
The tends are basic, however clean. Bathroom inside with hot water. Very simple one, but clean.
Lights and energy are not on whole day. There are specific times to use the eletricity.
breakfast is good, lunch and dinner amazing kenyan food.
beer is hot, I mean natural temperature, but I am brazilian and we only drink iced beer... was terrible.
Check the weather cause was a bit cold at night in June, bring jackets.
Is inside of jungle, so you have to be ready agaist moskitos. There is nets on the beds.
I didn't see any weird or disgusting animal at the camp, thanks god.. Just birds and few lezards out side my tent.
Is close to Massai Mara tribe, so they will take you to meet the comunity. Very poor btw...
Good to put your mind in place and see the reality of others.
I spent 2 nights over there and it was one of the best experience in my life.
staffs are nice with big smile all the time.
My bathroom was very simple but I saw some pics now and I think they put some tile now... is better check.
I made so many friends there... was so amazing... :D
Go for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were with ny husband in Camp. Wonderfull place!!! Realy!! Kindly personal, very close with park, not noisy. We would like to return in Rhino on other year with our friends. Very good meal and cooks!!! Ive never see a lot of stars like here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you're looking for affordable accommodation, this is it. The tents will adequately meet your basic human necessities - s***, sleep, and shower. The other reviews are correct in that this camp is by no means luxurious - in fact the extreme opposite (peeling paint etc). If you're looking up reviews for this camp, clearly you're budget-conscious and only need a place to sleep and recharge yourself and various gizmos between game drives. In that case I would recommend staying here. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

The camp is conveniently located a short drive from the entrance to the reserve, the food is decent, and the staff is helpful. The bar is stocked better than you would expect for this very very basic camp but beers are lukewarm at best (electricity is on for limited times during the day). Hot water was always available during my stay.

The "Masai village" nearby is worth a visit even though I'm not convinced that the community is as traditional as they would have you believe. On the flip side, I only had a short trip so I wouldn't have another opportunity to see a "real live authentic Masai village!" so I guess I got what I paid for while supporting the community.

While at camp, listen out for the Masai guards communicating across camps. A bit disconcerting at 12:00AM but kinda cool at the same time.

Room Tip: Can't say there are any "good" rooms but you're here to see animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukua, General Manager at Rhino Tourist Camp, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it is a review as frank as yours that enables us to improve our services and amenities.

Based on your feedback and for purposes, kindly allow me to elaborate more on our camp set up. Up until August of 2012, our camp had a total of 22 rooms which are built on one side of our camp. This is what we refer to as Wing A of the camp. We completed the construction of our second wing, Wing B, in September 2012. This wing is to the left and end of our camp grounds and it has a total of 17 rooms. These rooms are significantly different from those of Wing A as the rooms(both the tented rooms and the stone walled ones) have tiled floors and bigger white beds to give the room a soft feel. The painting in the rooms has been done with earth tone colors to further enhance the safari experience. The rooms in Wing B are especially popular with couples and families .

Being well aware of the need to redo the rooms in Wing A, we have made a number of upgrades, key among them being the repainting of the entire Wing (work will be complete by December 17, 2012) and I can assure you that the paintwork done is of the highest standards. We are happy to say that the issue of peeling paint is completely a thing of the past.

We are working constantly on improving the camp and are sincerely grateful for the feedback we get from our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Rhino Tourist Camp and had a solid stone clean room with attached bathroom with power points to recharge the camera (tented rooms are available we were given a choice). Within an hour we were in the safari vehicle with pop up top where you can stand to view and photograph the wildlife which was abundant in fact we could not believe how many varied animals we saw, it was National Geographic plus and we were part of it at times you are barely metres away from action. The first evening in their dining room back at the Rhino Tourist Camp the food was so tasty and plentiful the jolly Chef urging us to have seconds all the meals were like that including the picnic lunch you have on the 2nd day by the Mara River watching crocodiles and a herd of hippopotamus. We saw leopard & cheetah kills, sun basking lions, birds so many herds of buffalo, wildebeest, elephant, giraffe and a dozens of other animals, beautiful birds and lizards it was truly awesome our driver and guide Leonard was funny, informative and a terrific driver we always felt safe,The Rhino Tourist Camp excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Less mosquitoes in the solid stone rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#87 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#95 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#80 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Tourist Camp

Property: Rhino Tourist Camp
Address: Ololaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Rhino Tourist Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Tourist Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing