We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino Tourist Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Tourist Camp
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Masaai Mara and it was worth it - not only Maasai Mara but also the Camp. Basic but clean and very friendly staff. The tent was clean, the beds comfortable and the shower hot. I would chose this one any time again for good value for money.

Room Tip: If you booked the trip for one person, but joined a group in the bus, insist on your own room/tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kairitours, General Manager at Rhino Tourist Camp, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read that a guest enjoyed their stay at our campsite. It is an even greater pleasure to read that you feel the service provided was worth its value. From the staff at the campsite and all of us, thank you for staying with us and Karibu Tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
14
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Being a budget camp, I was expecting an average stay. When we first checked in the room, we realised we got the concrete room n not the tented one, but we stuck to it since the others were saying the tent was a little hot inside. It had the basic bed, CLEAN SHEETS, mosquito net and toilet and showers.

The camp itself was very enviro-friendly, but what made our stay the one to remember were the hospitality of the staffs, the chef prepared lovely meals for us and also joined in our conversation. Caroline was such a darling as well, and the Masai guards having talks with us and sharing their stories, really made a difference to our stay and I would definitely return if I ever do. The price included EVERYTHING! Kairi Tours, who operates this camp even provided us with 2 5 litres of bottled water, which we were VERY thankful for!

All in all, our Kenya trip was memorable because of the hospitality we received. Sometimes, it's the little things that makes a BIG difference!

Erin

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kairitours, General Manager at Rhino Tourist Camp, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing photos of the period of your stay. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again and look forward to hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

i was in masai mara for the first time and since i didnt want to spend alot of money in lodges i decided to chose rhino tourist camp, i had wonderful moments with my guests, the food was good, the staff very coperative, not forgeting jackson who is in charge of the management, he knows his job very well,the camp is 5 minutes to the gate of the masai mara at night you can even hear the lions roaring and the hyena laughing. its was a great moment well spent in rhino camp.... keep it up

Room Tip: remeber to slleep in the tents they are more adventrous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked to stay on the weekend of 24-26 August only to find they'd overbooked and didn't even have the courtesy of telling us. We found that out when our tour driver drove us to a neighbouring camp and told us to diembark!
It would have been for the Rhino staff to meet us and apologise for the error then offer us that option.
On the second day we finally got to stay at Rhino but that was because our tour leader made a big fuss.
Other than that, I loved the tents and the camp experience-that was worth waiting for.
The food is a bit flat though generous.
Out of it all, I just wish the staff were a bit customer friendly and communicative with their guests.
I found that quite unforgiveable and am afraid I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGitonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukua, General Manager at Rhino Tourist Camp, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the failure to communicate the accommodation situation at the campsite beforehand and, more so, that a member of our team did not personally approach you to communicate this to you.

I assure you that we take customer service very seriously and I have shared your sentiments with the staff so that this should never happen again. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Though still underconstruction, this camp is definitely not the best in terms of accommodation. The tents were good in terms of quality but the bathrooms left a bad impression on me.
Staff were warm and friendly.
hopefully it will improve soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeBird_270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Was as rhino camp for 2 nights and the stay really exceeded expectations!the staff is warm and very eager to assist.food is ok,not too fancy but tasty and filling.the rooms are basic but comfortable.can be cold at night so be sure to carry sleeping socks!the fact that its about 5 minutes from the park entrance is good.travel with a friend or you will be made to share a room with a stranger!overall experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiMayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was on a safari I booked as a single this was not supposed to y me accommodation (dodgy company Absolute Adventure Africa). I was asked to share a tent with two strangers. I declined and as such didn't get to sleep in a tent - got a concrete room instead. The shower is all mouldy, rusty green and brown, just like Alcatraz. A dodgy lock as the rooms have keys unlike the tents.I got locked in! Hard rubber pillows. Warm blankets if you use two sets. Electricity 5-7am and 7-10pm. Rough road to get in - 2.5 hours of non-stop potholes. Food quite tasty but dirty chef - i saw him blow his nose into his hands then go back to cooking! Tusker 200 schillings.

Room Tip: rooms are warmer than tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#101 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#86 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nalepo Mara Camp
Nalepo Mara Camp
#73 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nalepo Mara Lodge
Nalepo Mara Lodge
#128 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Explorers Camp & Backpackers
Mara Explorers Camp & Backpacker...
#40 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Tourist Camp

Property: Rhino Tourist Camp
Address: Ololaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Rhino Tourist Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Tourist Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing