We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place I Ever Stayed In!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Aalter, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place I Ever Stayed In!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This camp was amazing. We got a warm welcome when we arrived. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The environment is beautiful and from the terrace at your tent, you can see the animals drinking from the river. The food is delicious! The tents are very nice and they have an eye for detail. Our driver Daniel was fantastic. Thanks to him we saw the Big Five! I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to enjoy their stay at Masai Mara!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
channel islands
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

we stayed at this amazing lodge in August with our 13 and 15 year old boys and words just dont decribe how amazing our 1st family safari was .
we were collected from the air strip in a very comfortable jeep by one of the lovely Davids and did a short safari on the way to the lodge. On arrival we were greeted with a choice of hot or cold towels I can only decribe this place as like you have walked into a Ralph Lauren photo shoot it was stunning our tents took my breath awaysleeping was a little disturbed but this due to the neighbours(the hippos) and to be able to lie in the rolltop bath watching the hippos/neighbours in the river well what more can I say.
The food was very good the wines good quality and service was always wonderful except for the picnic on our full day out that could defiently do with improvment as the food was so bad that I complained to the manager no sooner than I did this she sent over a plate of smoked salmon blinis and other lovely nibbles to tied us over before dinner it showed the level of service which I thought was very high.
Our game drives were very memorable and I dont think I have ever seen both our boys smile so much . The day we went to watch the wilderbeast crossing the river was such an amazing experiance and I think we were only able to see this as our guide new just were to go and even though nothing seemed to be happening and many other jeeps were leaving the area he insisted that we stay and how lucky we did watching the crossing was incredible .
such a great 1st safari that even though I did not think it would be for me( never thought I would be happy sleeping in a tent) I am hooked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cisparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can't recommend Exploreans Mara Rianta highly enough; it was one of the best holidays I've ever had! The staff were all welcoming and couldn't do enough for you which explains many of the reviews here. Nothing is too much trouble and the little things (hot water bottles in your bed at night for example) make this a real treat. Beautiful location, beside the Mara river where Hippos were a permanent feature. The tents were spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable (although quite cold at night in early June).The food was plentiful and beautifully presented. The very best thing about the holiday in my opinion was the game driver, David. Extremely knowledgeable and dedicated to making your experience special, David was easy to talk to and shared his knowledge about the wildlife and Kenyan whilst out on the game drives. We were very lucky to have him to ourselves, and this meant that he adapted the drives to suit us. It wasn't cheap, but worth every penny and more. I only hope I can go back sometime

Room Tip: We had the tent next to the main hotel area which was wonderful if you want to wake to the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Exploreans at Mara Rianta is maybe the most exquisite place I´ve been in my life . It belongs to The Small Luxury Collection Hotels, and since the first moment you arrive and the staff goes out to greet you , it is easy to know what to expect. Not only the place where it is located is beautiful, in front of the Mara river, the camp itself, furniture, decorations etc are more than amazing. The staff working there are kind, polite and super professional. Great customer service.Food is also excellent. Great variety and super fresh ingredients, and top chefs. The game drives they offer are very good. I will go back if I am back to Kenya. it is also a very romantic place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Every review emotionally rates this camp as excellent to very good with lots of emotion etc. On the other hand it is rated as five star and charges $$$ accordingly. On that basis some reviews need to be more subjective and deal with some the things that were not emotionally moving such as lukewarm showers, tempermental flushing toilets, very hard beds and once again as with the Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge semi warm food delivered on huge square dinners plates which were probably cold when the food was "plated". Food was better than Ngorongoro however. I object to reviews which are vindictive due to someones complete dissatisfaction and generally disregard them and look for straight forward subjective reviews which give you an honest opinion about what you are about to spend your hard earned $$ on.
The staff were attentive very polite and friendly. Internet access $15USD per 24hrs and slow.
The game drives very long on some days especially going to see the "river crossing" by Wilderbeasts zebra etc. The packed lunch and breakfast menus you can choose for the long days where you are away from camp are quite ordinary.
We saw more animals closer to camp. Our driver David knew where to find the Leopard and we saw three of the other big five but the Rhino eluded him. Perhaps we can thank humans for that! All in all enjoyable but probably not repeatable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

i had the best vacation staying at this hotel. they have the best customer service and the butler is very helpful. the manager of the camp is very warm and helpful. it was a treat staying here at the end of our holiday. the food is fantastic and service for kids is excellent.
a perfect getaway from the city life. wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaheeda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad Iraq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have two days experience with it, nice facility, nice staff, nice management, even the camp is small only with twenty tents, but they provide excellent service to their customers, the service team has covered whole Conner, inside of camp and out site of camp(safari), also the camp recently open( last year) with Swedish managers, we are plan visit them again. Bin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhang1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.2 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#10 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
273 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#30 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6155.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#50 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#74 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#36 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp

Property: Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for your exclusive Safari adventure is the Neptune Mara Rianta luxury tented Camp. Nestled in the heart of the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve. Immersed in the original bush among indigenous plantations and trees, the 20 luxury tents are directly overlooking the Mara River, which winds itself around the camp with gently flowing waters surrounded with wild life and teeming with large groups of Hippos. Early morning and afternoon game drive in the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve included in the price. Soothe your body and mind with a relaxing and invigorating massage at the Mvua African Rain Spa or enjoy an al fresco lunch or an evening BBQs around the pool complemented by activities of Masai dancing and talks on the Masai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing