We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST be visited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've just returned from our Honeymoon, having spent the first 4 days at the Mara Rianta.
Wow - from start to finish this place was out of this world. The attention to detail is outstanding and all creature comforts are catered for. The many staff could not do enough to make our stay as memorable as possible and they were constantly on hand to tend to our every need (not that we had any in such a wonderful place). The luxury tents are fantastic, each with an incredible river view where hippos bathe all day. The restaurant and food choices are first class with different menus every lunch and dinner and we eat some of the best food we have ever tasted. We had the same waiter for our entire stay and ours, Alfred was always cheerful, helpful and vey attentive. I am a vegetarian and there was always plenty of choice for me. Our game driver (Surani) was extremely knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble, he was happy to do whatever we wished and spend as long as we wanted for every drive - he really made our trip.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough and we will certainly be revisiting one day soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chemaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed as part of a packaged holiday arranged by Somak Travel. We were only in the camp for 3 nights and I did not want to leave. It exceeded all expectations by a long shot. There was a very warm welcome when we arrived from our long journey. All the staff came out to great us and we were handed our choice of warm or cold towels (an experience replicated after every game drive) as well as a fresh watermelon juice. Each tent is given their own butler who is available on call by pushing a button. For us this meant early morning wake up calls where the butler brought fresh coffee and fruit into our tent before the game drives as well as a turn down service with warm water bottles as the temperature dipped at night. I could honestly go on and on about all the staff as they made it so special. The game driver (we had David) was amazing. He was like an encyclopedia and was very flexible - not rigid on having to get back to the camp by set times etc. The food at the resort was top notch. Much better than lot's of b&b's in the UK. Also the cocktails were yummy and the bartender was very nice. I didn't try the spa but would have if I had more time. I can't wait to go back and stay for longer! Thanks to everyone there who made it such a wonderful holiday. Definitely the highlight of the entire trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstar222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this camp recently(April 2012) and whilst it was not cheap, the tour operator persuaded us to try it and guaranteed that we would be happy.We are glad to say, we were happy we went.
The reception/public areas: very clean and furnished very comfortably.The staff at reception did need a push every now and again to get things done but they were helpful none the less.
The tents: wow.... they were furnished with fine linen and the al-fresco shower (one side of the tent opens up in case you want to have a shower with a view of the river and the hippos.) was my favourite. The tents also had a buttler call button where you could order drinks from the comfort of your tent.
The cuisine: very very good food served a'la'carte. The menu had a huge selection of choices for every part of the meal and always had at least one vegetarian option if not more.This is different from other camps that offer a buffet with meals cooked for lots of people.The breakfast had an offering of dried fruits and nuts besides the usual and is something we have never seen before. Overall, I'd rate this camp 5* because of the fine dining on offer. Service was also equally good.
Drinks: This camp is an all inclusive camp but offers fine drinks and not the usual cheap alcohol offered in other all inclusive hotels.Red, white, rose and sparkling wine were served from the bottle and not from casks. other premium spirits are also included.
Game drives: All game drives in the conservncy were included in the camps vehicles. David really knew how to show us a good time and we saw lots and lots of wildlife.Their open sided 4wd vehicles were really nice to go for game drives on and we like the conservancy because we saw animals by David spotting them and not following our eyes to where we saw tour vans converged.( something thats very common if you are staying in the masai mara game reserve where privacy is not really on offer)
The pool: the water was so nice and warm from 11am onwards and was really refreshing after the morning game drive.
The spa: my wife used it and she was quite pleased.
I'd highly recommend this camp for couples, honeymooners and families looking for a high end safari as its really good.

Room Tip: tent 9 or 10 are nice and a bit away from the main areas of the camp so you are not disturbed in cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenya-specialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at the Mara Rianta from Feb 20-22 and had a fabulous experience. Although our party of 4 were the only occupants we had 31 staff looking after us and made us feel extremely welcome. I have stayed at both Porini Lion camp and Kicheche Bush camp and while those offer a more "rustic" feel, Mara Rianta had the most comfortable tents with all the amenities one could dream of with a great amount of attention to detail! I left very impressed by this camp and would highly recommend it, especially to those people who don't want to queue up for chargers, or want a bush shower... Also, had the best massage there in their spa.. The hospitality, food, comforts, our guide and all the staff made this one of the most memorable Mara experiences!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank narmi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Fantasic !!The camp was very clean and the service excellent. The staff are very friendly and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSadrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had been advised to go to the Mara due to the amount of wildlife and had been recommended the Governors Camp which turned out to be full .... luckily for us
we arrived on the gravel airstrip to be met by by our guide in a personalized 4x4 which we had to ourselves for 3 fantastic days
On the short safari on the way to the camp we had our first taste of the Mara and soon arrived at the camp ..."camp" doesnt do it justice ....from the amazing restaurant bar and spa to what can only be described as a 7 star tent .....everything is amazing ..... first class butler service and guide, food to die for and the treat of waking up to see hippos, giraffes, and zebra on your back door step across the Mara River was such a treat ....the only thing to top the Rianta was the early morning sunrise ballon ride with Captain Mike ...simply incredible to be finished off with a full english breakfast with Champagne in the middle of the reserve which ended a fantastic 3 days

We couldnt recommend the Rianta any more highly and just hope that one day we will get to return !!

Katia and Paul ...Dubai September 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul_Haslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mara Rianta in late July this year and its was simply magical!

We stayed in the 'giraffe' tent which had beautiful views of the river and its many many wallowing hippos. In fact, our little tented camp was so lovely that we decided to make use of the butler service and have our evening meal on our private balcony soaking up the views and the atmosphere and the staff we only too happy to oblige - the service we received was second to none. The food was excellent and also the cocktails! Before bed, the staff placed hot water bottles in our bed and left hand made animals on our pillow!


The following morning our butler woke us early at 5.30 am with delicious frothy hot chocolate and a selection of cookies ready to set off on our early morning game drive. We were given big cosy blankets and more hot water bottles to snuggle with as we set off in search of the big 5. We even had a delicious picnic breakfast in the middle of the bush surrounded by hundreds of migrating wildebeest!

We can't wait to go back to Mara Rianta camp!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hbp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
20.7 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#73 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
13.2 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
301 reviews
53.2 mi away
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Brans...
#40 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#29 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
322 reviews
12.8 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#50 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
131 reviews
18 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $723 - $1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for your exclusive Safari adventure is the Neptune Mara Rianta luxury tented Camp. Nestled in the heart of the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve. Immersed in the original bush among indigenous plantations and trees, the 20 luxury tents are directly overlooking the Mara River, which winds itself around the camp with gently flowing waters surrounded with wild life and teeming with large groups of Hippos. Early morning and afternoon game drive in the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve included in the price. Soothe your body and mind with a relaxing and invigorating massage at the Mvua African Rain Spa or enjoy an al fresco lunch or an evening BBQs around the pool complemented by activities of Masai dancing and talks on the Masai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing