We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best camp for creature comforts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best camp for creature comforts!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at the Mara Rianta from Feb 20-22 and had a fabulous experience. Although our party of 4 were the only occupants we had 31 staff looking after us and made us feel extremely welcome. I have stayed at both Porini Lion camp and Kicheche Bush camp and while those offer a more "rustic" feel, Mara Rianta had the most comfortable tents with all the amenities one could dream of with a great amount of attention to detail! I left very impressed by this camp and would highly recommend it, especially to those people who don't want to queue up for chargers, or want a bush shower... Also, had the best massage there in their spa.. The hospitality, food, comforts, our guide and all the staff made this one of the most memorable Mara experiences!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narmi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Fantasic !!The camp was very clean and the service excellent. The staff are very friendly and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSadrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had been advised to go to the Mara due to the amount of wildlife and had been recommended the Governors Camp which turned out to be full .... luckily for us
we arrived on the gravel airstrip to be met by by our guide in a personalized 4x4 which we had to ourselves for 3 fantastic days
On the short safari on the way to the camp we had our first taste of the Mara and soon arrived at the camp ..."camp" doesnt do it justice ....from the amazing restaurant bar and spa to what can only be described as a 7 star tent .....everything is amazing ..... first class butler service and guide, food to die for and the treat of waking up to see hippos, giraffes, and zebra on your back door step across the Mara River was such a treat ....the only thing to top the Rianta was the early morning sunrise ballon ride with Captain Mike ...simply incredible to be finished off with a full english breakfast with Champagne in the middle of the reserve which ended a fantastic 3 days

We couldnt recommend the Rianta any more highly and just hope that one day we will get to return !!

Katia and Paul ...Dubai September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul_Haslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mara Rianta in late July this year and its was simply magical!

We stayed in the 'giraffe' tent which had beautiful views of the river and its many many wallowing hippos. In fact, our little tented camp was so lovely that we decided to make use of the butler service and have our evening meal on our private balcony soaking up the views and the atmosphere and the staff we only too happy to oblige - the service we received was second to none. The food was excellent and also the cocktails! Before bed, the staff placed hot water bottles in our bed and left hand made animals on our pillow!


The following morning our butler woke us early at 5.30 am with delicious frothy hot chocolate and a selection of cookies ready to set off on our early morning game drive. We were given big cosy blankets and more hot water bottles to snuggle with as we set off in search of the big 5. We even had a delicious picnic breakfast in the middle of the bush surrounded by hundreds of migrating wildebeest!

We can't wait to go back to Mara Rianta camp!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This location was our absolute Africa/Safari experience! A fantastic location with beautiful accomodations, and above all an excellent service. We strongly advise this hotel, if you're looking out for an unforgetable impression of Africa's magnificant nature and the local people's hospitality and professionalism. Thank you Mara Rianta! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Mara Rianta is located in North Mara and gives you excellent game viewing. The Camp is located on the river and you can view crocodiles, hippos and giraffes across the river while you sit sipping your early morning cuppa tea !!! When I was there a Hippo fell into a pit and died. There were hyenas, Eagles and crocodiles that were having a feast and we could see this from our luxury tent balcony.
They have a wonderful team - David Jr. who takes you on the game drives is a wealth of knowledge and can spot animals miraculously. He takes the open jeep (which even has plug points to charge your camera should the battery run low) close to the animal ..few meters away.. and you can get brilliant pictures.
The resort has 20 luxury tents with rain showers and some with bath tubs. There is an Indian chef Kumar who cooks fabulous Italian and Continental cuisine too.
The Spa is worth a visit. Ypou are relaxed with the atmosphere around and the spa just gives you an amazing overall experience.
Marie and Florence - Resident Managers are always a call away ...willing to assist. They thoroughly pamper you ....

Room Tip: We stayed in Tents 9 and 10 ...closer to the reception area and also over looking the broad section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We were originally scheduled to stay at the Governors camp although due to overbooking our tour operator changed our reservation to the new Mara Rianta camp at short notice. We were initially cautious since it was new and there were no reviews on Tripadvisor although we need not have been concerned – this accommodation is some of the most luxurious we have stayed in and the attention to detail of staff incredible.

The camp contains a number of luxury tents (10?) around a central bar/reception/restaurant area. The tents as you’ll see from the photos are beautiful and appointed in a very luxurious manner. Our favourite feature was the shower that is open to the outside (although can be closed if required) so you literally shower facing out onto nothing but the Mara river and hippos!

The food was stunning and we way over indulged! We had lovely 3 course lunches and dinners with great wine (we liked the Chilian Santa Helena most) with daily changes of menu. The chef had worked previously in the UK and really knew his stuff.

The manager (Nick) was friendly, greeted us personally on arrival and checked in with us regularly in a non-intrusive way to enusre all was well. He joined us on the optional Balloon Safari (highly recommended) and we had a fantastic morning out (be prepared for a 4am start and 1hr journey on not good roads though!).

The main reason we were there of course though was the Masai Mara and the animals. We saw so much and had a brilliant guide (Daniel) who couldn’t do enough for us. He carefully guided us around, showing us not just the most popular animals but birds, lizards, flowers and everything you can think of! Of the big 5 we saw everything except a leopard but so much more too (including Lion cubs, zebra, giraffes and many more).

In summary a truly magical stay and we would love to go back one day. Don’t think twice – just go!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimesReaderUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.2 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#10 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
273 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#30 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6155.1 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#50 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#74 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#36 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp

Property: Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for your exclusive Safari adventure is the Neptune Mara Rianta luxury tented Camp. Nestled in the heart of the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve. Immersed in the original bush among indigenous plantations and trees, the 20 luxury tents are directly overlooking the Mara River, which winds itself around the camp with gently flowing waters surrounded with wild life and teeming with large groups of Hippos. Early morning and afternoon game drive in the North Conservation Masai Mara Reserve included in the price. Soothe your body and mind with a relaxing and invigorating massage at the Mvua African Rain Spa or enjoy an al fresco lunch or an evening BBQs around the pool complemented by activities of Masai dancing and talks on the Masai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing