We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can't wait to return....Again & Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Valley Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Valley Camp
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return....Again & Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Valley where we spent 6 wonderful days. From the moment you arrive at this intimate camp the hosts Val & Brendan along with the other staff make you feel like long lost relatives. The secluded tents are large and luxurious with a huge bed and hot & cold running water. They also have power so you can charge cameras, phones etc. There are no fences which is great as you are entering the animals domain but the camp is guarded by local Masai so you have no need to worry about lions sharing your bed!
As vegetarians the food is second to none and would be hard pressed to find better where we live in the UK. The chefs will cater to every dietary requirement and the quality will surprise most visitors.
The game drives in the conservancy with our guide, Jonathan, were among the best we have experienced and this was our 15th African visit. The Kicheche guides knowledge and respect for the animals is superb. The game drives consist of a morning drive stopping for a bush breakfast returning to camp around 11ish. After a fab lunch then it's time to relax until the next drive which goes from 3.30 until 7 with a stop for some sundowners. The animals of course are the highlight and we saw the majority the Mara has to offer. The best part of being in the conservancy is that is so much quieter vehicle wise than the main reserve, at most times we were the only vehicle at the best sightings which made them even more special.
As well experienced safari travellers we would not hesitate in recommending Valley or any of the other Kicheche camps in the Mara and we can't wait to return again next year.

Room Tip: 6 private tents. Tents 3 & 4 are nearest the dining tent if you don't want to walk too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I spent four days at Kicheche. Val and Brendan were great hosts, and we immediately felt welcomed by all. It is small and intimate and you can meet a lot of interesting people from all over the world. Both my husband and I have lived and traveled in Africa, and we both consider this a top notch safari. Our guide Mika had an amazing relationship with the animals and great knowledge of the surrounding area. We did not want to leave!

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness center, but you don't really need one. We recommend the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpeace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 week honeymoon in Africa, where our 4night stay in the Kicheche Valley Camp was by far the highlight. From the moment we arrived we knew this place was special, the tents were spacious and overlooked the valley where Zebras, Giraffes and all kinds of Antelope roam freely, we even returned to our tent one night to be told a bull elephant had passed the evening browsing on trees directly outside our tent. Our days were filled with safari drives lead by our wonderful guide Mika who ensured we saw all that the beautiful Masai Mara had to offer, on return to camp we would be greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from Jon the restaurant manager eager to hear the stories from our day. The food was consistently 5 star, the dinner my new husband and I shared under the stars where lanterns hung beautifully from the acacia trees as we warmed ourselves by an open camp fire is something we will remember forever, a big thank you to Lincoln our waiter who made it so special. We listened from the safety our tents to the sounds of lions in the distance at night, comforted by the fact armed guards patrolled the camp site throughout the night, it really was a magical experience. Overall a fantastic experience and we hope someday to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

After the drive across the Maasia desert of over grazed land, it was an oasis to hit the Naboisho Conservancy. The difference is startling.
Great setting on the valley side with views to the plains to the southwest, big tent with laminate flooring (!) Comfortable and well furnished. There is running H & C water so no need for bucket showers and with power to recharge cameras in the tent. So if you want bucket showers this is not the camp.
Brendan made a great impression by talking through the map showing the Conservancy and describing its value to wildlife – which is clear having driven through the alternative of the Maasai’s badly managed lands and knowing that the Mara Reserve is over crowded with lodges so wildlife is stressed by too many vehicles and with bad ethics - and frankly - by the horrors of poaching. All of us going to any safari must not lose sight of what is going on in Africa driven by Chinese demands . Brendan is working hard to be ecologically Gold standard which is a big plus in 2014. Jonathon the Silver grade guide was helpful. Lions are less obvious than the Mara Camp, but there was more obvious other game. They try hard to avoid convoys of vehicles and Brendan will react to any guest reports of poor ethics from other camp and lodge guides. So don't hold back.The max is 4 vehicles near any animal and giving the animal free passage The support team is very helpful. The less good - I know, being picky - the sun downers aren’t well organised with enough drinks and nibbles. I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Okavango Tours and Safaris booked Kicheche Bush Camp for us because of the opportunity for night drives which we enjoy so much – we certainly weren’t disappointed!! Our guide Francis was very experienced and knowledgeable and never failed to find interesting wildlife situations - by day as well as by night – for us to enjoy and photograph. The Kicheche vehicles are superbly set up for wildlife photography. The tent was excellent with great views and the food was very good indeed. Our thanks to Brendan, Val and their friendly and hard-working staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Our many excellent wildlife sightings included (animals) cheetah, lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant, bushbaby (both greater and lesser galago), crocodile, bat-eared fox, mouse, terrapin, giraffe, various antelopes (hartebeest, dik dik, topi, eland, Defassa waterbuck, Grant’s gazelle, Thomson’s gazelle, impala, bushbuck), agama, yellow-winged acacia bat, hyena, olive baboon, white bearded wildebeest, zebra, skink, scrub hare, hippo, mantis, jackal, various mongoose (banded, dwarf, slender, white-tailed), vervet monkey, warthog, genet, spring hare, hyrax.

Among the more interesting birds were bare-faced go away bird, red cheeked cordon bleu, hamerkop, Abyssinian scimitarbill , Marabou stork, bee eaters (both little and Eurasian), rollers (lilac breasted, purple), white browed coucal, various eagles (including bataleur, tawny), green woodhoopoe, ostrich, Egyptian goose, kingfishers (grey headed, pied), Ruppel's long tailed starling, Caspian plover, secretarybird, nightjar, various vultures (African white backed, hooded, lappet faced, Ruppel's griffon), cisticola, helmeted guineafowl, buffalo weaver, crested francolin purple grenadier, silverbird , Temminck's courser, yellow fronted canary, shrikes (Northern, long tailed), augur buzzard, capped wheatear, emerald pigeon, scarlet chested sun bird.

And I'm sure there are others I haven’t remembered to list!! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

An outstanding camp: great setting on the valley side with views to the plains to the south-west, spacious very comfortable accommodation in light, airy, well-furnished tents. With running H & C, well designed luggage/storage area: camping was never so grand. Excellent service, great food. One of the best camps we have stayed in: and then there is the almost exclusive game viewing in the outstanding Naboisho Conservancy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

For the best safari experience... Kicheche is the answer - fantastic guides, world class food, best accommodation

Brendan and Val, and the entire valley camp team are excellent. One of the best times to visit is October/ November. The game is great, great weather.... and the valley cam team, always there for you

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but tent No 6 has one of the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.4 mi away
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
#52 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
10.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
33.0 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#13 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
32.0 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#21 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Cottar's 1920's Camp
#23 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Valley Camp

Property: Kicheche Valley Camp
Address: Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Valley Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kicheche Valley Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Valley Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing