We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-deserved five-star rating for this fun, cozy camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have written dozens of reviews on TripAdvisor, and issuance of a five-star rating by me is RARE. Here is one of those exceptional cases.

This camp reminds me of a sign I once saw:
"If you are in a hurry, you are probably in the wrong place."
This camp is great for those ready to unwind and relax, and/or use as a base for safari runs.

The Mara Eden Safari Camp is just a great place to be. The rooms/tents are wonderfully decorated with every tiny detail you could imagine. The camp is not huge, which provides a level of cozyness and an opportunity to get to meet your nearby campers. I was never clear whether the camp is in or out of the park, but it's all a blurry line anyway since there is wildlife everywhere. The rooms were so comfortable, so quiet, so relaxing, I almost forgot we were there to go on a safari. They were that great!

And it still gets better: The food. Not a slab of cold cuts and a tossed salad and juice. This place truly cooks up good quality meals and in good portions. By no means are you "roughing it" on the food options (or sleeping for that matter). Finally, the staff. The South African owner was uber uber friendly and caring. She spent time to get to know guests, was always full of great stories to tell during dinnertime over the evening campfire, and went the extra mile to help guests with needs. The two young men who assisted her were friendly and welcoming throughout and even offered to take some of us on a walking safari.

I highly recommend anyone coming to the Masai Mara to consider this camp. It provides an excellent value and is absolutely a wonderful place to relax and wake up bright and early each day to start your Safari adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X1432GLmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived late at Mara Eden due to a very bad storm, got lost however our reception at Mara Eden made up for everything. A wonderful reception with the hostess Jenny ready with a hot meal. The best was the hot shower and to top it all was the hotwater bottle delivered at our tents. Just what the" doctor ordered". The staff were amazing and the driver who took us to Masai Mara knew his turf very well.
If you do not get anywhere else get to Mara Eden. Thanks to Jennynand all the staff at Eden you made the travel worth our while. God Bless. Diana

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Long overdue but finally we have the chance to state what a wonderfull time we had at Mara Eden Camp. We stayed 2 nights end of Februari 2012. The managment gave us the feeling we were part of the family and they improvised fantastic when the weather played some tricks on our gamedrives! The dinner in front of the tent made us feel as if we were on honeymoon!
Thanks once again!!!
Karin and Ronald Schinagl

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin En Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I ended a trip to Kenya with a safari and I was placed here by a travel agent. The place was beautiful and the staff incredible. I traveled alone so when I arrived at the camp it seemed like I was visiting some long lost friends, who made sure every moment was exactly what I had hoped for. Waking up in the morning included looking across the talek river right onto the preserve and at night sharing a campfire with some local Masai and then being serenaded to sleep by the local wildlife. Tents are exquisite, guides are the best on the reserve, and the food is delicious. A+ place and will revisit again, with friends!

Room Tip: Any room is superb. There is a salt lick next to 5 which attracts many different animals to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hbjk7420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I woke up one morning, stepped out of my tent and saw a giraffe and a group of elephants in the distance. The tent/lodging itself is very comfortable, clean and free of creepy crawlers, which surprised me in a good way. Big bed, hot shower. Breakfast was superb - dinners were decent. The packed lunches were filling after a long morning on game drive. The best part of Eden is the staff and the manager/owners - they don't take the place for granted and their enthusiasm for the Mara and the animals is infectious. I highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GirlfromKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Mara Eden is a little treasure hidden away in the majesty that is the Mara. Our host Jay made us feel right at home and not like a tourist, which was such an amazing feeling and change from some of the other places we stayed at during out 6 day safari.

Mara Eden is poised within the cradle of the Mara which means if you want to see the Big 5 (or 6 if you include the Cheetah) then look no further. We absolutely loved the experience and are already looking forward to another trip next year.

Mara Eden, the hidden gem of the mara is an eco friendly, homely and truly, as we say here is Australia - a true beaut!

Asante Sana Jay and team :)

Azi, Kate, Bryan, Leanne, Ijaz and Yasmin

Room Tip: All the camps are ideally located around the river so really cannot possibly pick a wrong camp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AziS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

While in Kenya for work I found a free weekend to drop down and visit Masai Mara. The park was great, but what really made the experience was the camp. A great place to relax and enjoy good food and wildlife all around. The managers made me feel like at home and made sure that I had anything that I needed.

I will be back, but next time with the family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.6 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
255 reviews
21.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
889 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
707 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#27 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Eden Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Eden Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00504, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $555 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mara Eden Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and serene tented camp with 10 en suite tents on the banks of the Mara River, stunning views, great meals and superb game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mara Eden Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Eden Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing