We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
248
14
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickmasai guidesanimal behaviortwo nightsmain tentwater holefantastic experienceoff roadplenty of hot waterspecial thanksday safarifamily tent
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 267 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

I just got back last week after spending four amazing days at Eagle view with friends and already wish to go back. Basecamp has managed to create an amazing experience in the middle of the jungle with helpful staff, great food and superb guides cum drivers. Staff was always eager to help and we were especially surprised with very good quality of food. A special thanks to Manfred, our guide who is very knowledgeable about wildlife (even managed to spot the ever elusive leopard) and has some excellent driving skills. It was our first time staying in a conservancy and the experience was definitely worth the extra bucks. I will highly recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear Saurabh,

Thank you for having chosen Basecamp Eagle View as your safari destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. The team especially Manfred will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

about how much I loved staying here. Very comfortable and clean accommodations, ample delicious food, very knowledgeable guides and game viewing second to none.

The best thing about staying at Eagle View is the people. From the Askari, to the table servers, to camp managers and guides...ALL wonderful, wonderful people and it is because of them that I will comeback again and again.

My only regret is my wife could not join me and share in my experience, but there will be a next time :)

Thank you for making my stay an awesome one.

Paul

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cpaulfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear Paul,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of service is administered to our guests. Rest assured, that we will also share your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure we maintain the best services for guests. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back with your family sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

We spent 4 nights here at Eagle view in their Luxurious tents which had amazing facilities like outdoor and indoor showers, concierge service and double vanity bathrooms. Since the camp is on a hill top, the view is just stunning. There is a small watering hole at the base of the hill which meant that there are always animals around the camp. The staff are very nice and helpful and the food was customized to our liking (with every meal being a 3 course one). We had a great experience on the daily safari's as the guides were very experienced and wanted to ensure we get the best out of our trip. The only thing that left a sour taste for us was when a guide was forced to take us on a half day safari by the management on his day off and this reflected in his attitude throughout the safari. We really didn't have a very good ending to our trip because of that and I hope it is something they will look into.

Room Tip: Ask for tents that are close to the Reception, they also have better views. The one's farther away can lead to quite a walk.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nitish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Nitish,

On the behalf of the entire Basecamp staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. Eagle View Camp is our luxury camp that offers guests ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah we are glad you got to experience just that!

However, we are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your ending experience at Eagle View. At Basecamp, we are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and we will look into the issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our service delivery.

We are always open to our guest feedback and views. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017

Last week my husband and I went on our first safari with Basecamp Explorers and had one of the most exciting trips of our lives. We both have traveled extensively, but this experience was unlike any other. The Naboisho Conservancy, where Eagle View and Wilderness Camps are located (where we stayed), is teaming with amazing animals - every day our wonderful guides Lorna and John took us out 2x a day, helped us to spot multiple of the Big 5 (every day!) and taught us about the amazing animals we'd never seen before. The Basecamp experience was nearly perfectly done - the look and feel of the camps is outdoorsy/natural but feels luxurious, the 3 course meals served by friendly staff were delicious, and the animal covered views from every tent and common area provided for hours of entertainment and relaxation. We love camping and the outdoors, so preferred Wilderness camp as it has a more rustic (though not at all roughing it) feel. Greatly enjoyed the picnics and walks through the Mara, the ability to drive off-road, and the night rides that are a unique part of visiting the Conservancy vs. the National Park. Couldn't recommend this trip with Basecamp more. Thanks to Lorna and John, and the wonderful staff who made our experience unforgettable!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank young_adventurer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share the camp reviews with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the rustic feel of Wilderness Camp. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. Your appreciation about our service and amenities is highly valued. We will certainly share your feedback with the entire staff as it will serve as an encouragement to us all as we strive to continuously ensure guests have a more memorable safari experience. It will be a great pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Can't fault this camp for the price, stayed here as part of an excellent tour organised by Transtrek Safaris. This camp is set in the private Naboisho conservation area of the Masai Mara at the top of a ridge, with really fantastic views.

The tents are modern and contemporary, with wooden frame and floors and modern coated canvas material on the walls. Big double bed, ensuite bathroom with an indoor shower and an outdoor safari shower and I can honestly say out of the many hotels I have been to this is the only one where I actually wanted to use the complimentary shower gel - it had been hand made! And of course the tent and balcony had great views across the plains!

The main lounge and dining area was split into three separate areas, simple but nice and comfortable with a bar and books to read and a fire place for the evening, all set on the edge of the ridge.

The food was good, particularly the soup! The service was also good, the guides were very knowledgeable and the vehicles were in good condition. Overall the staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VitruvianDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Dear Dan,

Thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wildlife such as elephants, giraffes and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife from within the comforts of the camp. The team especially, will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews