We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
247
14
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickmasai guidesanimal behaviortwo nightsmain tentwater holefantastic experienceoff roadplenty of hot waterspecial thanksday safarifamily tent
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Basecamp Eagle View is a luxury tented lodge in the Naboisho Conservancy about an hour and half from the Masai Mara. The individual tents are three sides canvas and the size of a small house with one wood wall and a wood floor, they are very roomy with a shower (indoor & outdoor) and flushing loo. The tents and reception area open onto a fabulous view of the conservancy. The food is delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. It is completely run by the Masai, and the guides are excellent. A great place to stay for the Masai Mara experience.

Room Tip: No need. The tents are all individual tents with good views
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziebee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our stay at Eagle View was fantastic and I would highly recommend to first-time or regular safari goers.

Derek our guide was extremely knowledgeable and articulate. We had some great game drives seeing lots of cats often with no other vehicles insight,.I would highly recommend the walking safari followed by a bush breakfast - honestly no better way to start the day.

The view from the restaurant, lounge and rooms is breath taking. Food and service was perfectly good. The food and beverage host one evening (when we stayed up late) did have a bit of a nap on the bar. However the askaris looked after us very well and always felt safe walking to and from the rooms.

Worth a try to get residents or last minute deals but good value either way.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tj_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Eagle View. Not only was the camp itself close to perfect in every way - great tents, breathtaking view and superior food. In addition the guides and staff were all friendly and very knowledgeable. We saw more animals than on any other safari we have been on. And we learned about the proud and facinating Masaii people and how they combine social and economic development with protecting the animals within the Conservancy. It was indeed a fantastic experience we will recommend to everyone interested in the very best of nature and the Masaii people and culture

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Travel can be exhausting, that’s why after 45 days in Africa I went to Eagle’s View, Mara Naboisho in the Maasai Mara National Reserve for a few days of R&R. Although the rooms are technically tents, you can hardly consider this camping.

Each tent had a wooden floor and was fully equipped with comfy double beds warmed with a hot water bottle for your toes, electricity, hot water, an indoor and outdoor shower, flush toilet and double sinks. The outdoor shower was the bomb with an unobstructed view of the entire Maasai Mara!

Meals were served in an outdoor dining room. Dinners were leisurely, starting with cocktails served by the fire pit where you could view the fabulous sunset. After dinner we were serenaded by the sound of lions courting in the darkness as we observed the night sky complete with shooting stars. Hollywood couldn’t have done better.

Daily game drives with our guides Moses and Stephen through the Mara Naboisho Conservancy brought us face-to-face with lion, elephant, zebra, giraffe, jackal, hyena, hippopotamus, mongoose, vultures

st, tapir, eland, Thompson gazelle, Grant’s gazelle and more!

This was an outstanding eco-lodge with five star service and accommodations.

Room Tip: Any room is great. Each has an unlimited view of the Maasai Mara
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsrtgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a very large group (15) for a three day safari. BREATHTAKING views! We had tent #3, was peaceful at night, enjoyed the safety of our own Masai Warrior to escort us around during hours of darkness. Drivers during the game drives were very attentive & knowledgeable. Food was five star quality, and so was the service. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Don't forget to secure the tent when you are not around, Curious George is alive & well, swinging from the trees near your tent!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPilot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews