We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
247
14
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickmasai guidesanimal behaviortwo nightsmain tentwater holefantastic experienceoff roadplenty of hot waterspecial thanksday safarifamily tent
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 266 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This ecolodge has beautiful views of the conservancy. The facilities are outstanding and the people and extremely friendly and helpful. We had a magnificent stay and will definitely be back! The game drives are very well planned and an exceptional experience. 2 nights is a great amount of time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MaddSunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Eagle View was our last stop on our safari before going down to the beach...Stunning, Breathtaking, Out of this World do not do this location justice. It is like a theater location and the Mara is the stage where the animals improvise every day in their quest for survival. The accommodation is world class. Beautiful room with an indoor and outdoor shower. Each night a guard watches over the rooms in case an animal decides to join you. In fact one night we heard a crunching, munching sound right outside and peeked through the curtain to see an Elephant 10ft from us grazing on a tree...that made the heart pound!!

The restaurant area was spectacular too. Overlooking the Mara and watching Vultures go past at eye level is an incredible sight to see. The food was very good and the staff exceptional. Between morning and evening safari's my son and I played football with the staff and local high school students. They have a makeshift field with posts and string for crossbars...the giraffes, gazelle and warthogs had to be shooed off before we could kick off though...

Anybody looking for an authentic safari experience without having to pitch a tent and sleep on the ground should consider Basecamp Explorer. They have the option of the on-ground safari too but this was a once in a lifetime experience and we would not have had it any other way.

Room Tip: Impossible...All spectacular...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DohaTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Eagle View is located at a spectacular spot, with great accommodation and friendly service to match. Sadly only stayed the one night, but would highly recommend a longer visit.

I transferred to Eagle View via safari from their sister accommodation Basecamp. The hour or two drive went through varied landscapes with plenty to see - wildlife, fauna and local villages. Eagle View is in a very isolated spot, so entering the beautiful main lounge area takes every visitors breath away.

The accommodation is in spread-out luxury tents. I was in the end tent, which felt perfectly isolated with its view of the lush valley below. Giraffe grazed around my tent during the night - while herds of animals passed below during the day.

In summary:
- Spacious well constructed permanent tent with wooden floors and decking. Includes both an indoor and outdoor shower. Modern sit down flush toilet. Good water pressure.
- Plugs in tent for recharging batteries.
- Wifi in the main lounge, bat and kitchen area
- Highly recommend the morning safari walk
- Saw very few other safaris due to the isolated position
- Airstrip is about 30-40 minutes away on rough roads. Flights in small planes direct to Nairobi although they may stop at other airstrips on the way.
- Food was good quality
- There are no shops nearby - bring everything you will need (note - air transfers have strict weight limits)

Ask the Masai guides and guards to sing in the evening - they don't need a lot of encouragement and their voices are wonderful.

Very low stress place to stay. It is the middle of the African wilderness - so expect lizards, snakes and even the odd large mammal. Lots of bird life. Guards ensure everyone is safe from the local wildlife.

Would ensure that all additional changes - like credit card fees etc - are included in quote. Always pay in local currency - or you will likely get a bad exchange rate. There is a tip box which is evenly distributed to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz_Pete_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had traveled nearly two weeks in Kenya before ending our trip at the magnificent Basecamp Eagle View. We could not have asked for a better "icing on the cake" end to our wonderful time in this country. Everything, and I stress Everything, was absolutely magical about our stay. From the Safarilink flight over the Great Rift Valley to the landing on the Naboisho air strip to the drive to Eagle View (seeing our first herd of elephants along the way) to the warm and refreshing welcome by the Eagle View staff to the stupendous views of the Mara to our fantastic accommodations to game drives to breakfast in the bush to the out of this world cuisine to all the incredibly friendly Eagle View team...Eagle View is setting the pace of what can and should be done throughout Kenya (and Africa for that matter) - a place of conservancy and concern for its precious wildlife and community as well as providing its guests a once in a lifetime excellent safari experience. I just hope it won't be my only time to visit Eagle View - I want to return again and again to this heavenly refuge in the Masai Mara.

Room Tip: Would recommend Eagle View for a wonderful and memorable family trip. However, would suggest any children be at least 12 and over.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pvirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This being our first trip to Africa ever, choosing Basecamp Explorer in Kenya was a very lucky first choice!! I must first compliment Evelyne Kariuki, who helped me plan this trip and she made very good suggestions and was extremely accommodating in terms of advising where, how and what to do. This was a first good sign that we were headed the right direction. We spent two nights in Basecamp Masaai Mara and then stayed four nights in Eagle View. Basecamp Masaai Mara is a good first stop, and as someone who does not like to camp, the bathroom was fine! Some reviewers complained that it seemed primitive but it was ECO for crying out loud. And then to move to Eagle View was a real surprise, the view from our tent was incredible. a lot less traffic. and we loved all of our guides throughout our trips - Simon and Manfred were fantastic. we saw every animal imagined. definitely will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2dogsandacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews