We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaming of Africa...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreaming of Africa...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent our first 2 nights at the Basecamp Maasai Mara which was incredible! The Maasai people are so friendly and welcoming! I spent time with the beautiful Maasai women making beautiful beaded jewelry as well as on Safari with our Guide Manfred seeing everything from a lioness with her cubs, to giraffes, hippos, Black Rhino, Elephant and more...! The next few nights were spent at Eagle View which surpassed the name as it is an incredible way to be a part of the wildlife with a spectacular view of the watering hole to see Zebra, Giraffe, Elephant, Wildebeest...! The best part of the trip other than seeing the wildlife, are the people! Listening to them sing/chant and also hearing all their amazing stories! I could not have dreamed up a better way to become a part of this beautiful place! The other wonderful part of staying in both of these places is that they are eco focused. Leave only a footprint! Their motto sums it up "Come in as a guest and leave as a friend"! I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
44
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

After spending three wonderful nights at Basecamp Maasai Mara I was accompanied by the amazing Steve (my guide) to Eagle View for further two nights. I was astounded that Eagle View was even more magnificent than Basecamp, with the same friendly service but with added spectacular views and even more comfort and luxury.
Though I was surprised to be the only guest during my stay, the staff were great company and I felt happy, safe and well looked after. It was great to keep the same guide for the whole trip as Steve knew everything I had seen and heard and could build on that. A really nice touch, and especially good company for a solo traveler. I hope Steve passed his silver guiding exams, he absolutely deserves it!
In some ways Mara Naboisho conservancy makes the Maasai Mara National Park feel like being in traffic. As well as being quieter (fewer lodges, fewer guests at each lodge = less jeeps!) it is also possible to take night drives after dark and to go out on the savannah on foot for a walking safari. These differences really added to the incredible experiences I had at Basecamp and in the National Park.
Many many thanks to everyone at Eagle View, at Basecamp Maasai Mara and to Basecamp Explorer for creating ethical ecotourism options that care for people and the planet. This was one of the best things I have ever done. Thanks again, cassie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon k, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Cassie K,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara- a Gold rated Eco Camp and Eagle View, Mara Naboisho – among world’s 25 best Eco-lodges and we are committed to sustainable tourism and supporting the local community.

Steve is very knowledgeable and one of our best guides and we are wishing him all the very best on his exams.

Mara Naboisho conservancy is a private conservancy with very few partners and this ensures you have an exclusive wildlife experience (day and night game drives) and an authentic walking safari which ensures you have an unforgettable safari with Basecamp Explorer.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Eric Gaku
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am not lying when I say that the days I stayed at Eagle View was the best hotel experience I have had in my life! The welcoming atmosphere, the authentic staff and the animal so close to the lodge was magical! In the nights you could lie and guess what animal sounds you heard, and then you where waken up by an incredible pink sunrise and a smiling Masai with fresh coffee for you to enjoy before the morning safari. We choose a combination of staying at all the three different camps Basecamp have at Masai Mara, and the variation of people, concepts and environment made the authentic,different experience even more special. Everything was so well thought trough in order for us to experience the best out of food, sleep, culture and the amazing animal life thanks to top rated guides such as Isaac and Big Moses. Recommend walking safari where you get to learn much more about the smaller things which is not so easy to see from a car, but have a great impact on the whole eco system. The safari from car is epic, where you can get so close to the big animals that you are scared they will hear your heart beat very fast! And then share each others experience on the Savannah with a cold beer and a beautiful sunset as company, before you head home in the dark for a good dinner and quality time around the bonfire. I am recommending this from the bottom of my heart, and I am really happy for everyone that makes their decision to book their next holiday here, because I know they will have the experience I had, which no words can fully describe!

Room Tip: Ask for the room which are best located towards the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampExplorer, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Susanne H,

Thank you for your candid review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our two properties, both in the Maasai Mara National Reserve; renowned for the Big 5 and the amazing Migration crossing and in Mara Naboisho conservancy – the vast Savannah with abundance of wildlife and celebrated for high density of Cats!

We endeavor to offer our guests authentic hospitality and enlighten them on our eco practices, partnerships and the commitment we have in support of the local communities.
It was a pleasure hosting you and looking forward to offering you another memorable safari experience on your next visit.

Warm regards
Eric Gaku
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
349 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything in the lodge is AAA, 5 star and more: location (in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy), views, luxury "tents", service, food, guided game drives, wildlife. Lots of wild animals are teaming below your tent, watch a lioness hunt some topis in the morning, see hippos and lion prides from up close. Enjoy the best service in the lodge. The place is beyond description - just fantastic.

Room Tip: all of the 9 tents feature the greatest luxury and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Every single thing about the experience was perfect. The drivers organised for pick up and transfer were courteous, helpful and on time.

Eagle's View itself was an incredible experience. The rooms were magnificent, the food was delicious and the conservancy an incredible setting for our last days in Kenya. Derrick; Selenkay and the other waiters; Gabriel and the other room staff; Lorna and Sophie were all fantastic and made us feel so welcome and looked after. They really went above and beyond in making sure we were enjoying ourselves,Derrick is an exemplary manager and his attention and care of was top notch.

The food really good (and plentiful), and the staff coped with last minute meal changes and requests with great aplomb.

Rooms were lovely (ask for an extra blanket if you're there in July, however, chilly!), and toiletries etc were very nice. The views from the camp were something else.

Our driver and guide Steven, was terrific. His philosophy and general respect for the animals and the conservancy was a perfect fit for both Basecamp and our group. His unhurried dedication and obvious love for Naboisho and surrounds was infectious, and we felt truly special having him to take us around - not just for his prodigious knowledge but his whole outlook; staying where other drivers were rushing to move on to the next animal, and hanging back when they were driving right up close.

Basecamp staff were happy to create or alter itineraries based on what we wanted to do - it was never too much trouble, and the night drive experience was just terrific. For us, the conservancy was much much better than the day we spent in Maasai Mara reserve itself. With the exception of hundreds of thousands of wildebeest, we saw everything in the conservancy that we did in the reserve - without fifty other cars around. Being in the middle of a pride of lions as the only car is as they wake up in the dusk and start roaring is something I will never forget.

Sightings included: Lion, cheetah, wildebeest, topi, hartebeast, eland, thomspon's gazelles, grant's gazelles, dik-dik, hippo (out of the water, too), bush baby, genet, hyrax, elephant, giraffe, many many birds etc.

All of us in the group were blown away by the experience - it exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddycakes_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Eagle View in December 2012. My first impression was pleasant surprise at how friendly everyone was. I love the ethos of the Naboisho Conservancy and the involvement of the local community. The camp itself was beautiful and eco-friendly, the food was great, the service fantastic (Simon, Derek, Carolyne and Annette deserve special mention).
My biggest praise is for Steve Kumum who took such good care of us and was so knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna in the surrounding area. Every game drive was interesting, and the nature walks were one of my highlights. The conservancy is not short of wildlife, and not at all crowded as there are only 5 camps in the whole area.
Having been to Naboisho, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: It's on a hilltop so all the rooms have a fantastic view. I stayed in tent 4 which is to the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent three days at Basecamp Eagle View in the Naiboisho Wildlife Conservancy, where the wildlife is as amazing as Masai Mara, but there are less camps and tourists. A fantastic view of the savannah from the terrace of our cottage, we could overlook the wildlife even from our bed in the luxurious tent. Large double bed, inside and outside shower etc etc.The food was great, and the facilities overall were brand new and with the best standard. The drives - and the guides - were outstanding, we saw a cheeta hunting and killing a small impala, we saw two leopards, lions, rhinos, more than 10 hippo's together, many many elephants and giraffes and so on, great wild-life. And not as many other cars as you find in Masai Mara. We also enjoyed two walking safaries with the Masai guides, a unique experience being part of it all on foot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peres0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
6.3 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
22.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle View, Mara Naboisho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View, Mara Naboisho

Property: Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Address: Naibosho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya (Formerly Basecamp Eagle's View)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle View, Mara Naboisho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle View is set on a spectacular escarpment overlooking the Koiyaki River, in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy. Here guests experience exclusivity, privacy and abundant wildlife, while enjoying one of the best safari experiences in the Savannah. Eagle View is Silver Eco rated camp and recognized as one of the Top 25 best Eco Lodges in the World by National Geographic Traveler 2013. Marvel at the abundance of wildlife in Mara Naboisho Conservancy as you enjoy day or night game drives with our Maasai guides. The camp overlooks a natural waterhole where the unexpected interaction between the predators and their prey provides constant entertainment to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle View, Mara Naboisho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing