We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,017
$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,371
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$487
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$720
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
242
12
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
12
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickfemale guidemasai guidesanimal behaviortwo nightsmain tentwater holefantastic experienceoff roadplenty of hot waterday safarifamily tent
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 259 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I spent a couple of nights at the end of September in this eco-friendly Maasai-guided safari camp in the Naboisho conservancy in the Mara. Room was simply spectacular with a private veranda overlooking the plane just like in a scene from Out of Africa. The staff were friendly and warm. All meals were delicious and drinks (both cocktails and wine selection) excellent! Charlie was a splendid host and I certainly did not want to leave! A must stop if you are looking for simple elegance in the heart of and surrounded by the magic of African wilderness!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mactotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here in September and didn't want to leave! The tents are have huge private balconies with gorgeous views. The staff are warm and friendly and make a nice bonfire each evening on the main veranda (and they make great Pimms cocktails!). The place is really well done with rugged yet sophisticated decor. I also loved having delicious meals on the open veranda while watching all types of animals strolling by below. Can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in mid-August. The room was amazing, with a stunning view from the private veranda. Located on a ridge, this hotel provides a panoramic view that the other hotels we stayed at could not offer. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent (two course breakfasts and three course lunches and suppers), and the room itself was nicely apportioned. With the exception of wildlife noises, the hotel was private and quiet. I agree with the other reviews that the photos do not do the place justice--this hotel exceeded my expectations by a factor of 100! This was a true luxury experience and I hope to go back if I am lucky enough to return to Kenya.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, there are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed here for a few days in August. The hotel blew my mind! Each room has a private veranda overlooking the woodland savanah with 180* endless panoramic views. The staff here was really friendly and helpful. I was the only guest there at the time so they literally took care of me like I owned the place. If you visit Masai Mara, stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theigham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Go to the Mara and you will see incredible wildlife spectacles. Stay in the Naboisho Conservancy and you will also experience serenity, peace and an uncrowded environment. Basecamp Wilderness is situated high above the acacia woodland. This affords a gorgeous view and one can see game below going about their lives. Lion, zebra, hyena and others are heard at night. The online photos do not do justice to the beauty of the scenery or to the quality and lovely design of the public areas and the "huts". I was treated like visting royalty and felt as welcome as a member of the family. The meals were excellent and were served at my convenience by a friendly, inobtrusive and competent staff. The very spacious and beautifully designed "hut" has a private covered patio for viewing game, reading or snoozing. The ensuite bathroom has hot water at all times. Colorfully dressed Masai men with spears accompany guests after dark to and from the reception/dining area. Game drives and other activities were arranged according to guest request. The schedule was flexible according to weather, guest preference, etc. This camp was established to help support the Koiyaki Guiding School which is a few hundred meters away. Local Masai men and women are educated to be guides and prepare to pass national exams to qualify as professionals. One of the graduates is the main guide at the camp. He clearly got a very thorough education about the natural history of the area as well as how to drive on safari roads, through rivers and past elephants. Hearing about life as a Masai was a wonderful experince in itself. The concept of a conservancy area and the practical application of land use for tourism rather than just grazing (sometimes overgrazing these days) is growing. When one sees that the quality of the habitat is equal to the Masai Mara Game Reserve just adjacent to it, one is heartened that the ecosystem can survive despite growth of the human population. Dollars, Euros, K Shillings, etc. spent here are going to support a local community. I would definitely return to this camp if I were so lucky as to be able to return to Kenya.

Room Tip: All sites are excellent. If you do not like walking, ask for a room closest to the dining area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Africaophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews