We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Amani Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amani Mara Camp
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having read the comments from other visitors there isn't anything new I can add but agree wholeheartedly with their sentiments. This lodge is outstanding. Not only is the accommodation unique but the warmth shown by Ashif and the team was greatly appreciated. Whilst we were there we hit pay day and I needed access to the Internet. Ashif drove me to his "office" on the borderline with the park so I could do my banking. The lack of Internet access was a true bonus as my youngest daughter finally read a book rather than staying connected! We will be going back.

Room Tip: They matched us up perfectly when we got there
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreainmirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Amani Mara Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

SECOND time to visit Amani Mara since we luckily discovered it, and this trip exceeded even the exceptionally high standards we experienced the first time. First-class game viewing (including from the lodge itself, and from the rooms themselves too), first-class hospitality, innovative and eco-friendly (and very spacious and comfortable) accommodation and architecture, stunning location, attentive staff, knowledgeable and flexible owner/management, good food, and a wilderness experience which is surely second to none. The lodge has a social and environmental conscience and its offering is for the avid wildlife watcher/photographer or the beginner alike. Families are very welcome and very comfortable. The resident hippo pool is easy to see and to walk to, within minutes you are in the heart of the Mara animals' greatest concentrations, and the GREAT MIGRATION we experienced with Simon the game driver/guide/tracker was simply awe-inspiring. Our family of two adults, one 11-year old girl, and one 4-year old boy, all LOVE THIS PLACE and the people who run it.

Room Tip: I believe all huts are equally spectacular.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If one takes the time to read the other reviews you will soon realize that Amani Mara Lodge is indeed very unique and indeed a special place far ahead of it's time. Those of us who have enjoyed the pleasure of having time with Ashif Suleman one quickly questions why all lodges aren't doing what is going on here.
Ashif is indeed a very wise business man but more importantly a conservationist of the highest degree. His compassion starts with hiring the local workers and continues on with the ecologically friendly building materials and to what has happened with his "river" project.
I was amazed to the personal attention he gave our group which is a testament as to the love he has for the animals and the devotion he has to his lodge and workers.
Our visit was in July of 2013 - I can't wait to return again !
And all the guests plant a tree.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent !
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my 6th time to visit the Mara, and the 5th time I have stayed in the Mara. Not because there are no choices to stay at the Mara, but can't make myself go to any other property...have tried, have even got better and attractive deals.....let alone that, having so much difficulty even to go other properties in other parks
There being only one reason, once you have been to Amani Mara you get spoilt rotten, the personalization, the room is prepared how I would like, the meals are hot steaming from the kitchen straight to the table, and the courses are s filling and tempting that it is so hard to say no to any course. The staff are so loving and pleasant......they go out of the way to make you so comfortable and you also feel that your privacy is respected.
The views of the Mara, located right next to the river, located in wilderness, you are home away from home in the midst of beautiful and exotic wilderness, at night you are graced with the occasional roars of the lions......you wake up in the morning to the site of zebras, wilderbeasts, grazing in the lawn.....then there are the hippo snorts ........it is sheer paradise
Amani Mara calls it self the jewel of Mara....I disagree. It is the rarest diamond in the Mara.
Highly recommend all whether you go with family, friends and even honeymooners..it is the place to be!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have the private view to the river...........
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Amani Mara was just spectacular. Amazing scenic setting with a view of the river and hippo pool. All natural environment with no fences providing an adventure and experience in the Mara that can not be forgotten. The owner is an environmentalist with the mindset and ambition to preserve the natural beauty of the Mara without affecting the animals habitat. The rooms were just superb - clean, huge, amazing hot water and superb views from the rooms itself. The service and food was extraordinary. The game drives were excellent with very experienced and knowledgeable guides.
The best place in the Mara!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keval S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent two nights at Amani Mara in Octobre 2012 – unfortunately only two nights.
The lodge is incredible. It is situated in the Masai Mara but „off the beaten track“ in a peaceful conservation area and was built with remarkable attention to detail and blends in perfectly with the environment. The owners, Ashif and Shelina, personally take very good care of their guests and the vastness of their knowledge is impressive. All their employees are Masai and nobody knows the land better than them. The rooms are made of stone and canvass. All the rooms have balconies, which you can access through an open canvass flap. In the night, you may leave this flap open and listen to the sounds of the surrounding wildlife. I have never had a holiday experience quite like this before; it was simply perfect!
My friend and I were constantly amazed. One of the highlights of our stay was an evening walk with two Masai, Joseph and Johnmark. We walked towards the sunset, where – surprisingly - Ashif was waiting for us. A table and two chairs had been set up and as we sat down we were each given a glass of a fruity homemade cocktail and delicious Indian snacks while watching the sun set over the Mara. At this point I must add that this snack – just like every meal we had – was prepared by Shelina and every bite was a culinary sensation!
Unfortunately, the time at the lodge flew by and I was very sad when we had to leave to continue our Safari.

I can highly recommend staying at Amani Mara. It will exceed your every expectation!

Room Tip: I stayed in room no.9 which has an incredible view from the balcony. In the mornings, you should tak...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are soo many words to describe this place yet non feels worthy enough, My three nights stay at this gorgreous lodge was awesome, very relaxing, great views of wildlife, nature etc,
The food servings were big I had to negotiate my amount [yes shelina I had to write this haha!]

The rooms were huge beds comfy and I admired the architecture of the place, very unique, environmental friendly etc, I have lots of things to say about Amani mara lots of memorable things especially the personalized service Ashif and Shelina you the best. Thumbs up.!
Looking forward the spa opening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenyasafariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#70 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#71 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#23 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
138 reviews
20.0 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#124 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
13 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#11 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Mara Camp

Address: | Olareorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Amani Mara Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $395 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Mara is a peaceful haven located in Olare Orok on the the banks of the Ntiak Ntiak river in the World Famous Maasai Mara National Game Reserve. It is a small and exclusive boutique lodge with exquisite accommodation, with each structure beautifully designed to give unobstructed views of the scenery with minimal impact on the environment. Guests are able to view a variety of game right from the comfort of their own rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Amani Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing