We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our experience was above and beyond all of our expectations. We have done other safaris in the Maasai Mara before but none compare to our experience here at Encounter. We felt like we were very special guests and the camp did everything to make our stay fabulous. We saw ALL of the animals, kills, babies, mating and more! The experience and expertise of the Maasai guides and leaders made the experience highly educational and always exciting. Our accommodations were beautiful and very refreshing considering we are right in the middle of the mara. The food was outstanding and our favorite was the complementary travel mugs for coffee or tea every morning.Colin and his wife are genuine people who care about you and your stay. Conversation with them and other guests was inspiring and endearing. Our guides Daniel and Jackson were humble, educated and made us feel like we were family. If you can take time to see this beautiful place, you have to use Encounter Mara. Your life will never be the same.

Room Tip: You will hear animals at night. I liked having my kids in the tent with me. It was not crowded and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank King3296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you had a fantastic time. It means so much to us to hear such great feedback from our guests.
Naboisho Conservancy is a very special place and we love sharing it with all of our guests.
We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Thanks once again.
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Everything was absolutely amazing. Great food. Knowledgeable guides. Just tell your guide what you want to see and he will be on the lookout for it. One of the best experiences for me was watching sunrise and sunset with the wildlife in their natural habitat. (Bring your binoculars for distance and bird viewing.) From a close vantage point, we saw a cheetah consuming a kill, lion cubs wrestling and the list goes on. We were with family visiting Kenya from North America and they said this experience alone was worth coming to Kenya. Two thumbs up from this family. What a joy this trip was.

Our commute to this camp was on an airplane. The camp personnel greeted us immediately upon landing on the dirt airstrip and we were on safari the moment we departed the airstrip.

Room Tip: Don't believe there would be a bad room. The rooms are terrific. Rooms face open plain and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased you got to see such a great sighting during your stay with us!! We really enjoyed having you and we hope you will return again soon.
Thanks once again.
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best experience of my life. If you’re still reading every possible review of every possible camp, stop. If you’re still debating whether it’s worth the long trip or the money, stop. If you doubt Encounter Mara can be as good as it looks, it’s better.
Every detail has been considered. Each staff member is outstanding on multiple levels from knowledge to professionalism. Our guide, Dickson, Jr., was absolutely amazing in his ability to spot animals and provide information. The camp managers, Colin and Chala, greeted us warmly and were a pleasure to get to know. Sean from the Nairobi office arranged our airport transfers, hotel in Nairobi and internal flights. Everything went perfectly.
We saw 7 cheetahs, including 2 one week old cubs being groomed by their mother. We saw her hunt, catch and eat a hare. We lost count of lions, but were entranced by a lioness carrying her one week old cub, it had just opened its eyes. Two 6 month old cubs wrestling and playing with their mother after a rainstorm were fabulous. Take a look at the pictures for just a glimpse of the variety.
The drive from the airstrip to camp would have been a wonderful trip on its own. But, every drive we saw a new variety of animals and birds. The food was outstanding and plentiful. Sundowners are a new custom at our house although we miss the wildebeests grunting in the background.
Please consider using the link on the website under ‘FAQs’ for ‘Pack for a Purpose’ and bring items to support the Koiyaki Guiding School. We were fortunate to be able to visit and learn about this vitally important school and can vouch for the excellent education of its students as Dickson graduated from the very selective program 2 years ago.
Please email if you’d like further information. Stop debating and researching. Book and GO!

Room Tip: All the tents are spaced to provide privacy each with its own outside sitting area with hammock, day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It is always such a pleasure for us to hear such wonderful feedback and we loved having you at the camp. We are so pleased you got to experience the magic of the Mara!
Colin and Chala send their regards and we would love to have you back at the camp soon.
Thanks once again.
Warmest regards.
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Amazing experience. I felt so taken care of the entire trip-staff is friendly and knowledgeable and knows how to craft your safari experience! We saw two kills in two days (amazing!) and found three male lions at night. Our safari guide did his best to find animals and made sure we were his top priority.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelsiwil010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review.. We are so pleased you got in two kills in two days, how exciting! The viewing in the conservancy has been fantastic and we are so pleased you were witness to that.
We hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Many Thank
Encounter Mara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights / 4 days here and from the moment we arrived, were provided with exceptional customer service. Staff is friendly at all times and make every effort to ensure you are comfortable and feel welcomed. I have no complaints, none at all! The tents were comfortable, extremely clean and very well maintained. This was one of my best holidays! Sammy who was our guide is extremely knowledgeable and the communication system established amongst the guides is commendable as it ensured we got the most out of our safari drives. We saw everything! Elephants marching, a female cheetah hunt and kill, a lion devour its kill and vultures finish it. Zebras visited our tent during the day, as did Giraffes, and lots of Thompson gazelles. We visited the hippos, observed the lion cubs, and admired the impalas and dic dics. I can't summarise my experience in few words, but to describe it would be to say it was absolutely magnificent! Visit Encounter Mara and make sure you make a village visit to a Masai community! I also have to commend the chefs as the food was absolutely delicious! Thank you Encounter Mara! I had an amazing time, and am glad to have spent my safari with you!

Room Tip: I'm sure all tents are just as wonderful, but we had tent 11, which was a bit of a walk, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the full magic of The Mara.
It is always a privilege for us to host guest at the conservancy and we loved having you.
We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to have a wedding blessing. I did a lot of research into different options beforehand, however right from the word go I was drawn to Encounter Mara thanks to the positive attitude and personal attention I received when we started emailing. They were willing to bend over backwards to ensure we were given a fantastic experience. And this was all before we even arrived!

We traveled with our baby girl (one year old) who had an absolute ball as the staff were so amazingly considerate towards her. She always felt involved (being allowed to help drive the safari jeep!) and was constantly the centre of attention - which she loved. My one worry beforehand had been that the drives would be too much for her, but Dickson and Jaxon ensured that was never the case.

The Maasai blessing ceremony was amazing. The staff (particularly Colin and Chala) were so accommodating, constantly checking that things were going the way that we wanted. And Chala took some brilliant photographs which I can't stop looking at! We also got to eat our meals without the little one in tow as askaris were placed outside the tent to call us if she awoke - a lovely touch.

I completely agree with everything others have already said about the food, standard of accommodation, etc etc We're leaving Kenya shortly, but Encounter Mara will be top of our list to come back to when we return. It really is that good, and we can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migratingbird76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your special day with us, it was such a privilege and we are so pleased to have been there with you.
Colin and Chala loved having you and send special regards to the little one.
We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our stay at this camp was unbelievably good. Everything form the accommodations, the food and above all the safari trips exceeded all our expectations. Our Safari guide Sam was super. He was very knowledgable, experienced and very accommodating. The entire camp staff was simply great.
Will definitely choose it again if we are fortunate enough to come back to Kenya.

Room Tip: I selected swimming pool and fitness center by mistake and was unable to change it to blank. All te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacoborbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for your time with Encounter Mara, it was great having you with us.
It is always such a privileged for us to share The conservancy with our guests. We hope you can join us again soon.
Warm Regards
The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
531 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
880 reviews
15.7 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $629 - $972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the sought-after Mara Naboisho Conservancy, award-winning Encounter Mara is the stuff safari dreams are made of. Enjoy some of the best game viewing in Africa all year round from the low-key yet lavish comfort of this superb eco-camp. Shaded by a thick acacia forest, Encounter Mara enjoys glorious views of the surrounding savannah, while closer at hand a salt lick attracts a range of animals throughout the day, from plains game to big cats. The sheer comfort of the traditional-style safari camp combined with the opportunity for bush walks and night drives mean that there are few more rewarding places from which to experience this slice of wild Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing