We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The safari to dream of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a veteran of several safaris in Africa, my recent 2 1/2 day safari with Encounter Mara stands out in has a limited number of safari camps so the density of tourists & Toyoto Landcruisers is limited; the density of animals on the other hand is outstanding; the property is managed professionally and with commendable attention to detail and guest comforts and needs; the food is excellent and the guides are outstanding---the best I have had on all of my safaris. Bravo, Encounter Mara. You are doing it ALL RIGHT and we LOVED it. Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the camp. We are so pleased you had a great time and hope you will come back and visit us soon.
From the Encounter Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our mini moon and had a brilliantly arranged agenda. The tents were fantastic and much more exotic than I thought they would be. All the staff were so extremely friendly. The food was surprisingly good and great entertainment. I especially enjoyed the sundowners drinks at sunset out in the reserve. The bush walk was fascinating too, got some fantastic photos of Zebra's that we walked closely too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we alway love to hear feedback from our guests. Please do email marketing@encountermara.com if you feel there are any improvements we can make, as we want our guest to have the best possible experience.
Thank you for choosing a very special occasion to share with us. Good luck on your happy journey together.
The Encounter Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Encounter Mara on the recommendation of Africa Rose Travel. A truly wonderful setting in the Naiboisho Conservancy. Large, stylish tents which were very private and had a lovely view - lots of animals to be seen from tent and dining and sitting areas and even a cheetah walking by our tent one morning. The area outside the tents have a large day bed and a hammock. Chris and Sam were charming and fun hosts and the food was very good indeed. They offer a brunch on return from morning game drives which although good meant a very long gap until tea at 3.30. Also I do like having tea or coffee in the room when I am woken up rather than having to go to the mess tent. Being in a private conservancy means they can offer walking and night drives. Lots of game very close by including a big pride of lions and a lioness with three cubs. Can thoroughly recommend Encounter Mara as a special place to stay in a quieter location than the Mara.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank tinodiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you had a fantastic time. We hope you will come back and visit us soon.
From the Encounter Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were a group of 4 who had been working and wanted a short safari after our labours. We arranged a 2 day trip to Encounter Mara which is on an unfenced reserve and not overloaded with queues of safari vehicles. We had all had safari experiences previously and this far exceeded our expectations. It is a very well run tented camp with great and friendly staff who go out of their way to make this a wonderful experience. Lots of caring touches such as a hotwater bottle in the bed. We had a terrific Masai guide, Dickson, who was a great teacher. We saw an extraordinary number and variety of animals including several lions. This is a highly recommended trip. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is really important to use that guest feel they have had a quality experience and get to enjoy the Masai Mara as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your sentiments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent three nights at this fabulous camp. Very well run by Managers Kris and Sam. Accommodation very clean and comfortable, the guides excellent, particularly Moses, with great driving skills and eyesight so good , i swear they can see into other countries. Third time to Mara and as usual, teeming with wildlife.
Not sure 10 hour return trip to see Mara river crossing was worth it if you seen it before, as lot of time in vehicle.

Room Tip: We had tent 9 and bit disappointed with view, not quite the same as pictures on website, ours a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and for the feedback it is very helpful. We do try and provide the best possible service and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and position all of our tents in the best possible viewing sites, however, when working with nature we can not always dictate.
We will certainly pass your feedback to Moses, thanks for sharing!
From The Encounter Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Could not be any better! Warm, friendly, attentive staff; wonderful food, elegantly presented; a guard outside every tent; following a pride of lions hunting at night then returning to a hot water bottle in bed. What could be better than this.
This camp is the REAL deal. The guides grew up there and really know their stuff; and there are no hordes of other vehicles to get in the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you share our passion for The Masai Mara and we are so pleased we could help facilitate this special experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything about Encounter Mara was absolutely perfect, the staff, tents, food, vehicles, guides and program. They really have the safari down pat, flying into the Naboishi Conservancy and then taking a game drive with a lunch stop (watching a herd of giraffe) on the way to the accommodation was exactly the right start and it just kept getting better. The guides were very knowledgable and always had interesting facts about animal behaviour to share with us and they were great at spotting the animals. We were fortunate enough to have our own private vehicle for the duration of our tour. The vehicles were in great condition and completely open so there was no struts or windows obstructing your view of the animals.
The camp itself is in great condition and the tents were absolutely beautiful. Likewise the food was delicious at every meal and the staff were exceptionally attentive, right down to the nightly hot-water bottle in your bed (which is a surprisingly enjoyable luxury especially given that it actually gets quite cool at night in the Masai Mara).
I would thoroughly recommend staying on a Conservancy like Naboishi as opposed to staying in the Masai Mara, the number of guests and vehicles in the Conservancy is controlled and you get a much less crowded view of the animals. In addition, in the Conservancy the vehicles have an extra hour or two before they have to return to camp in the evening which means you have a better chance of viewing the animals in evening light and when they are most active. It makes your sundowner drink and snacks all the more enjoyable knowing that there is no great rush to get back to camp.

We booked online directly with Encounter Mara and Josphat and the bookings team were always very responsive and provided the best customer service of any of the companies we booked our holiday in the Middle East and Africa with.

I cannot fault a single aspect of the trip, the only regret I have is not staying longer, we were there three nights but could easily have stayed a week or more.


I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterMara1, Public Relations Manager at Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to hear our guests sharing the same passion we feel for The Masai Mara and for Encounter Mara.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will come back and visit us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
15.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,067 reviews
2.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
516 reviews
17.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,058 reviews
21.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $941 - $1,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the sought-after Mara Naboisho Conservancy, award-winning Encounter Mara is the stuff safari dreams are made of. Enjoy some of the best game viewing in Africa all year round from the low-key yet lavish comfort of this superb eco-camp. Shaded by a thick acacia forest, Encounter Mara enjoys glorious views of the surrounding savannah, while closer at hand a salt lick attracts a range of animals throughout the day, from plains game to big cats. The sheer comfort of the traditional-style safari camp combined with the opportunity for bush walks and night drives mean that there are few more rewarding places from which to experience this slice of wild Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing