We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encounter the Enchantment!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Montana USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Encounter the Enchantment!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Encounter Mara is a FIRST-CLASS "camp". Luxury beyond imagining. Food like a 5-star restaurant. Wildlife galore. I loved our beautiful tent, and the special, considerate touches like a hot water bottle in your bed at night after a hot shower. The "sundowner" drinks and snacks in the midst of a wildabeest herd will live on in my heart forever.......along with a little impromptu yoga on the savannah with our dear guide and driver, Moses. From morning to night, we were treated like royalty. To be able to look into the beautiful golden eyes of a mature male lion was an experience like no other. The staff are kind and friendly to the max. I could go on and on.....but YOU should go and see for yourself! You will NOT be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
74
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will give Encounter Mara TEN stars! Definitely a First Class adventure. Moses, Sammy, Dickson,we love you and appreciate each one of you. We felt so welcome. The arrangements, the accommodation, picnic, marvelous meals in the dining tent, safari drives, information on the habits of the animals - all far above our expectations. Even my personal vegetarian/vegan meals were accommodated and absolutely wonderful. No corners were cut anywhere - the beds were amazingly comfortable. I wanted to bring my bed home! Everything looked really nice in the tent. The towels & soaps, even the toilet paper (with the added touch of the little leaf), the vanities, the trunk for storage, everything - everything just beautiful and there was not a mosquito in sight. Getting to know the people, riding in the LandRover, and seeing the animals in the wild had been a lifelong dream. Although I was only able to spend one night on this first trip to Africa, Encounter Mara was definitely the highlight. Canada is a long way away yet if i do have opportunity I will want to return to stay much longer. As we left Encounter Mara I can still picture the grand farewell from all of you. That too was special. Sincere blessings to all the Staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolV228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first time in Africa and after spending two weeks in the city of Nairobi, it was nice for this 'country girl' to get back to open spaces and wildlife! Staying at Encounter Mara was a highlight of our trip. From the moment we arrived and were given one of the best picnic lunches under an acacia tree of delicious wraps with fresh fruit and yoghurt and drinks, then taken to our camp. Our guide was Moses who took time to show us everything; from the tiniest of bugs, to finding the King of the Jungle and his lioness as the large, red African sun set in the evening, and the many, many animals inbetween. Our accomodation was outstanding, with the most comfortable beds we had ever slept on, even a warm hotwater bottle was tucked into our beds while we went out for a night safari. In the evening its cooler, and colourful Maasai blankets were folded neatly on the seats of our Land Rover. They didn't miss a single detail. The food was also first class and presented beautifully. There was such flavour and arranged like a work of art on our plates. You will not want to leave when you go!! Moses, Dickson, Sammy, we miss you and hope to return again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you love animals, this will totally catch you off guard when you get ready to leave. I unfortunately was only able to do a one night stay and at departure I choked up and tears welled in my eyes. These people are amazing. They have good hearts! The connection with them and the animals was truly a spiritual moment for me. The people here felt like family!

Room Tip: Just do your research before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Encounter Mara was fantabulous. Staff were so unobtrusive and service was excellent.Wonderful experience. The spotters and drivers were fantastic. Able to take us to see as many animals as possible. The luxury tents are just that. huge comfortable beds looking out onto the bush. We loved the Masai that we met. Such polite and friendly people ready to assist and make ones stay memorable forever.

Room Tip: They are all great. Seperate and private. you feel you are the only couple for milesaround
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Encounter Mara was an outstanding experience and ranks among my top travel experiences. I echo a previous comment that essentially stated "I splurged thinking it was a once in a lifetime trip and now want to plan my return." The guides are Masai who grew up in or near the conservancy, and their intimate knowledge and love of the land is obvious; their quality of guiding starkly contrasted that of tourism workers who are willing to guide in any park for income. There was no question about the animals, plants or stars that the guides couldn't answer - these are bright and well-trained individuals. The conservancy's land management strategies are not only good for the land/animals, but also mean you won't be running into other tourists very frequently; you feel like you are alone on the savanna. The quality of service back at the tented camp was outstanding while reflecting conservation values - a tough juggling act that they manage well. We traveled with our 6 year old and it worked just fine; it was hard to wake him up early for some of the AM drives, but I blame that on jetlag. And, once we roused him, he was always excited to go out for another drive. The guides were sweet with him. And, the number and variety of animals it made following safaris a bit disappointing (so consider scheduling Encounter Mara at the end of your trip, not the beginning). We also took advantage of a guided walk and a visit to a Masai village, and I am glad we did. Finally, I appreciated that it truly was all-inclusive (except a fee we paid the village, which I was happy to do, especially because that meant they weren't peddling souvenirs), making this not really that much more expensive than other places that mark up drinks or charge extra for walks, transportation, etc. Bottom Line: do what you need to do to spend time at Encounter Mara.

Room Tip: I doubt you can go wrong - each one is isolated and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Encounter Mara hosted me for a photographic trip in The Masai Mara. Their friendliness was exceptional. Even though you are in the wilderness you have every comfort of home and get to see some incredible game.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuluLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.2 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#13 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
17.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
12.1 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#16 of 136 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa

Property: Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the sought-after Mara Naboisho Conservancy, award-winning Encounter Mara is the stuff safari dreams are made of. Enjoy some of the best game viewing in Africa all year round from the low-key yet lavish comfort of this superb eco-camp. Shaded by a thick acacia forest, Encounter Mara enjoys glorious views of the surrounding savannah, while closer at hand a salt lick attracts a range of animals throughout the day, from plains game to big cats. The sheer comfort of the traditional-style safari camp combined with the opportunity for bush walks and night drives mean that there are few more rewarding places from which to experience this slice of wild Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing