We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naboisho is all we need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family spent 3 nights at the luxurious new Naboisho Conservancy and had a life changing experience. Roelof, Helen, Moses and Wilson provided us with delicious food, service, laughs and most importantly a better understanding of the African ecosystem through the pristine microclimate and uniqueness of Naboisho. I hope to stay in touch with the whole team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyGreenChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 533 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We wouldn't hesitate for one second to recommend Naboisho Camp to anyone, of any age. Everyone in our party, which ranged in age from 13 to 77, had the experience of a lifetime. Moses, Helen and Roelof were perfect hosts. When we arrived and indeed every time we returned to the camp, we were welcomed with cool hand towels and drinks. The "tents" were luxurious, with the choice of indoor or outdoor showers. Not only was the food exceptional, but it was always immaculately presented, either indoors or outdoors under the shade of a tree. The teenagers in the party loved having to be escorted to their tents by Maasai tribesmen once it became dark. They also will never forget waking in the night to see elephants right outside their tent, or listening to the roar of lions as they fell asleep. We stayed over Christmas and had the most amazing Christmas lunch, with crackers and turkey. Christmas cards were delivered with tea, coffee and biscuits with our wake up call. Dickson and Andy took us on game drives which were almost unbelievable. There were too many impressive sights to list, but three which remain in our mind were watching around 80 elephants casually strolling past our land rovers; following a cheetah, scattering the zebra and impala, as the sun went down; as well as watching lion cubs playing by a river. Dickson is a fountain of knowledge and taught us a lot about the Maasai culture as well as about the animals. One of the highlights of the stay was the walking safari with Roelof. It was a privilege to listen to Roelof, as he shared his extensive knowledge of termite hills, bushes, fruit, trees, flowers, insects and animal tracks. It was our first safari and the only problem is that we know that we could never have a better experience than we had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Absolutely stunning stay at Asilia's Naibisho Camp in Kenya. One won't find a better combination of uncommercialised luxury tented accommodation, on your doorstep wildlife, and service (Thanks Roelof Helen & Team). A must on your bucket list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudivNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was my fourth trip to sub-Saharan Africa but my first trip to Kenya. What an incredible experience, made all the better by my stay at Asilia Naboisho Camp! Having no idea what to expect upon arrival—after all, I was accustomed to luxurious safari lodges in southern Africa—I was greeted by assistant manager, Moses, who immediately called the camp, “glamping:” glamorous camping. While not a lodge, the camp is made up of permanent tents, spread out for privacy, but as luxurious as any lodge in South Africa. The rooms are first class, as is the staff, which caters to your every need and to needs you didn’t know you had! Roelof, Helen and Moses are exceptional hosts, always making sure you see as many wildlife species as possible on safari—game drives as well as walking safaris—while catering to your culinary tastes. . Food is delicious and plentiful and the wine and spirits flow at your desire!

The highlight of my stay was the game drives, excellently guided by Benjamin and his protégé, Dennis. Ben not only knows where to find all of the animals, but fully understands wildlife behavior and has the patience to wait in one place for animals to appear. He had the incredible instinct to be in the right place at the right time, where I witnessed over 4 days: an impala that had just given birth, with its baby struggling to stand and walk away; a lion kill; a cheetah kill; a mini wildebeest migration at the Mara River; and various species of eagles and other birds found only in the part of East Africa.

The night is not only filled with southern hemisphere stars, but with wildlife sounds, including lions communicating nearby. Just awesome!

I can’t say enough great things about the camp and would recommend it to anyone wanting a most incredible safari experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and extremely comfortable with both a king-sized bed and day bed. Plus, a hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Kenya and were lucky enough to stay at the Naboisho Camp. All of the staff were exceptional - so attentive and kind! Helen and Roelof as well as Moses are the most incredible hosts, taking care that each guest fully enjoys their stay at Naboisho. The icing on the cake was our fabulous Massai guide, Dickson who ensured that our first safari experience was so outstanding!!! We saw all of the big 5 and so many more animals thanks to his expert tracking skills!! The food was delicious whether served at the camp's beautiful dining area or picnic style served by Dickson out in the bush!!! The tents are spacious, incredibly comfortable and tastefully decorated. You couldn't have expected. better service, from hot bucket showers at anytime of day or night including under the stars or impeccable turndown where beautiful African beaded bags cover hot water bottles which warm your bed! An outstanding first sfari experience and we can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Tents that are good as it gets!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned from a 9-night trip on safari in Kenya, including three nights at Asilia's Naboisho Camp. The camp managers, Helen and Roelof, are exceptional hosts and set the standard for a luxury safari camp experience without fussiness. The space configuration of the camp, interior tent design, food, service and guiding are all performed at a standard of care we have not experienced anywhere else.

The staff at Naboisho is warm and welcoming and excel at every aspect of service--from the daily room service, bucket showers, local "askari" who escort you to your tents and the freshly prepared meals that compete with any white tablecloth restaurant we have back home in New York City to the breathtaking game drives chaperoned by highly informed guides. Roelof doubles as a guide and his passion for the location and wildlife is never more apparent than on the walking safari that is a must-do during your stay there. Another must-do are night game drives that are allowed in the Conservancy--we took advantage of this feature of the Conservancy each night we stayed there and I can happily report that we not only observed several elusive nocturnal animals (including Roelof's favorite, the zurella) but also lion kills, feedings and fights.

We really enjoyed the communal dining because it gave us an opportunity to both interact with other guests from around the world and to get to know Helen and Roelof whose company we could not tire of--that is when their true brilliant colors of hosting are on display. One evening, the staff went above and beyond and surprised me and my wife with a romantic private anniversary dinner complete with a wood burning fireplace on one side, the sun-setting African plains on the other and a bottle of champagne to toast.

In short, the Naboisho Conservancy is well worth the visit considering the abundant wildlife that already exists and Asilia's Naboisho Camp offers a truly memorable experience. If you can spare the time, spend a few nights at Asilia's nearby Rekero Camp located in the Masai Mara where we also spent three nights. Asilia makes it very easy to combine the two camps in one stay (short game drive between the two camps) and the service and experience at Rekero will not fail to spoil you once more. The Masai Mara Reserve and Naboisho Conservancy each offer a unique terrain and game viewing experience and no trip to East Africa should be considered complete without a visit to both.

We can't wait to return to Asilia's Naboisho Camp on our next annual safari trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ashish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

For the second year running I have just returned from a visit to Kenya, spending a few days at the excellent Rekero Naibosho Camp in the Maasai Mara. Helen, Roelof, Moses and all the staff invite you to spend time in their utopian 'home'. The level of warmth, care and enjoyment are beyond description. After 9 consecutive years of visiting East Africa, I can truly describe this camp as my favourite. I look forward to returning next year. Asante sane Naibosho.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalzielbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,108 reviews
16.9 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
9.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,103 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
887 reviews
22.9 mi away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#10 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $608 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing