We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Unforgettable journey”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are very happy to share some amazing moments at Naboisho.
The structure, envyroment, food, hospitality were perfect.
We've seen plent of animals, thrilling night safari. These moments will be forever in our hearts.
Hope to see you guys again!! Raelof, Helen and WILSON ( the best safari expert i've met ).

Clerio e Grasi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clerio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
200
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we booked our safari, I didn’t really know anything about Naboisho or what visiting a conservancy meant. I must say being guided on Maasai land by guides who are from the surrounding communities was a unique experience and one I highly recommend.

We had amazing experiences at our two previous camps and after nearly 2 weeks in the bush, you sort of ask yourself "What else is there?" Well, Naboisho Camp delivered. It actually turned out to be our favorite. The game watching is excellent with a heavy emphasis on cats (at least while we were there) and Daniel and Rakita, our guide and spotter, knew exactly when and where to look.

In truth, it couldn't have been a more perfect visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy10313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After our stay at Naboisho, we went to stay at the finest 5-star hotel in Zanzibar, but it did not compare to the 100% perfection of Naboisho. Roulef and Helen will give you the experience of a lifetime. Incredible accomodation, with amazing views, superb food and brilliant hospitality. We saw all the big 5, and the animals really do come right up to and though the camp. You will not get closer to them, and somehow it is totally safe. Roulef undertakes an incredible early morning walking safari, if you want to go out on foot and encounter Lions, Elephants and Buffolos, and more and still get home to tell the tale, this is the place for you. On top of the incredible attention to detail, the safari drives are sensational. Our Guide Daniel despite being a Manchester United fan, was the highlite of everything and we will remember Daniel and Naboisho forever. You should go there.

Room Tip: Tent no 1 was our tent, and we loved it. You can shower inside and outside the tent. Outside is a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am not usually inclined to use empathic words to describe things, however our stay at Naboisho camp (and Rekero) was a unique, fascinating, life-enriching experience that we will never forget.

Staff at the camp is welcoming in the genuine sense of the word, which allows you to feel at home from the time you first step out of the little plane that will probably get you there.

The abundance of wilderbeests, zebras, and gazelles creates a great environment for seeing most cats in action (cheetas, leopards, lions) and herds of elephants.

The tents are very smart and provide you with a comfortable experience while at the same time keeping the environmental footprint low, so that animals feel free to roam the camp at night.

The cost of our safari was not low, however this kind of experience made us feel as if, for once, we were travellers and not tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraMaratonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Naboisho Camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in Maasai Mara, Kenya. It was an amazing experience and overall beautiful place. When we first arrived we were given Dowha, which was incredibly refreshing and proved to be a great start to our vacation. We were then shown to our tent, Number 8, which was private and gave us an intimate setting to better enhance our honeymoon experience. We were then taken on a private game drive in which we saw a lioness and her cubs hanging out while the sunset in the distance. To say it was picturesque is an understatement, and that was just night one. Every night dinners were served with the whole camp, being that the camp is small (roughly 20 people total) it gave us a chance to connect with people from all over the globe and exchange safari stories, and life stories in general. We met some interesting people that we have continued to stay in touch with. Our guide, Rodger, was truly talented. He knew exactly where to take us to see the best game. He also was incredibly knowledge about the Maasai Mara and taught us many things that we will never forget. The manager, Roelof and his wife Helen were accommodating and delightful. We took a walking tour with Roelof and had a great experience. He is the best walking guide in Africa; he understands the animals and land without hesitation answering every question you could possibly come up with. On our last night in Naboisho Camp, Helen and Roelof surprised us with a romantic dinner with just myself and my husband. We were truly touched, I even cried while she escorted us to a private room with candles and a fireplace. They really understood what we needed and proved to be gracious hosts throughout the entire 4 day- 3 night adventure. I have already recommended this place to two friends who are planning their honeymoon, I would recommend this place to a stranger as well. I hope this review helps someone have a honeymoon as memorable as ours was.

Room Tip: You are on a safari, just remember that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the camp. We were treated to great game drives with excellent guides, excellent food and service. we could not have been happier with this camp and the way Helen & Roelof managed it to such a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having done 3 safaris in South Africa, this was our first experience of a tented camp in East Africa. And what an experience! With 8 luxury tents, well spread out with views across the plain and service that could not be faulted, this was a fantastic experience. The hosts, Helen and Roelof set a very high standard and nothing was left to chance, or was too much trouble. The walking safari showed Roelof to be a mine of information on bush fauna and flora and Benjamin, our personal guide, made sure we got close to all the game, including the famed 'crossing', which was a real spectacle. Being in a Conservancy adjoining the Mara, there were far fewer vehicles and, it seemed, far more game, so the formula worked really well and should be encouraged as a solution to the preservation challenge. The enjoyment of the week was enhanced by a great mix of International guests with whom to exchange our daily experiences whilst enjoying the excellent catering. Difficult to imagine how it could get better than this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
213 reviews
19.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing