We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private Masai Mara... without the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Your own private Masai Mara... without the crowds”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent three nights at Naboisho. The camp has great attention to detail in all areas of the tents and communal areas creating a real luxury but homely feel. The beds and pillows were our best in Africa and we thoroughly enjoyed our time playing our new favourite board game "10 days in Africa". The Nabisho conservancy is a private area of land adjacent to the main Mara reserve meaning it is not subjected to the same rules and regulations so you can drive at night and also do a walking safari, definitely a highlight ( thanks to Rulof for his exceptional knowledge and hospitality). The game viewing was exceptional with huge numbers of giraffes even a baby, a large pride of lions and game frequenting the camp water hole. Having hosts was a very nice touch, different to our other safari camps and we enjoyed the communal meals with them and other guests. The food was by far the best in Africa, even the packed lunch was great... (Highly unusual)
The only negative is the long drive to the actual Mara reserve makes for a very exhausting day trip, but a totally worth while experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma and Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
199
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently spent three wonderful days here and can find only praise for the passion and committment by management in staff which has resulted in a faultless experience and the high light of my guests' Kenya safari.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balakwasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

More remote, more exclusive, more community and ecologically responsible while providing ***** safari

Naboisho Camp afforded us intimacy with real luxury on safari while maintaining an obvious commitment to higher ideals. We were so impressed by Helen, Roelof, and Dickson,our guide, as they immersed us in the habitat, culture, research ....in other words "the experience of the Mara". Flycamp was my personal favorite. Roelof led an easy hike with animals, history, and botany along the way culminating at a remote camp with warm outdoor showers, excellent dinner, relaxed conversation round the fire, beautiful sunset, and a symphony of African noises. Night drives, early morning drives with breakfast along the way, Maassai Village visit and cultural exchange, large lion pride, and wake up call with hot chocolate in a huge luxurious private tent - it doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Naboisho for 4 nights and absolutely loved it! We came here after a few nights in the Mara National Reserve and being in the Conservancy was a great complement to that. We loved experiencing things you couldn't do in the reserve-- highlights included walking safaris with Roelof, a night game drive where we saw several nocturnal animals, and our favorite part of our whole safari experience--fly camping! We had a fabulous time walking to the campsite, feasting on a delicious dinner cooked over the fire, showering under an acacia tree, and still slept soundly with lions roaring in the distance. Besides these unique Naboisho experiences, our game drives were fantastic. Our guide, Dickson, learned what we wanted to see and did a great job finding spots for that. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah kill a thompson's gazelle and spent time each day watching a lion pride with several cubs-- 3 who were only around 3 months old. We also loved Naboisho's commitment to and connection to local communities and enjoyed learning more about the conservancy, the Mara Lion Project, and visiting a nearby Maasai village with Dickson. The camp staff were so welcoming and even went out of their way to arrange a special anniversary dinner for my husband and me under the stars on our last night there. This was the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent small tented camp with great attention to detail, fantastic food, and the most friendly people. The camp is located on a hill from where you can overlook the plains. It is unfenced so animals will roam around your tent at night (and during the day!). Tents are beautifully furnished, large beds en great outside shower. The guides are young, very approachable and fun te be with, and know the area very well. The food is fantastic and the owners are very welcoming.
Highly recommended to do a walking safari and/or a flycamp with Roelof, the manager, who can tell a lot about nature and wildlife around.
This was probably the best safari experience we have every had, mostly because of the great atmosphere in the camp due to the people that work here.

Room Tip: Tents are identical, all very privately set at great distance from each other and with views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Naboisho has to be one of the most unique, progressive safari destinations in Africa. Besides enjoying incredible luxury and wildlife experiences on walking safaris and drives, I was introduced to the Maasai people who still graze their cattle on the land, an initiative that I discovered benefits the ecology and the people. The involvement of Naboisho Camp and other camps in the welfare of the community was also apparent when I visited villages, a school and a clinic. One of the most enjoyable experiences was visiting a guiding school within the conservancy set up exclusively for Maasai students. I also enjoyed herding cattle!

It is too much to capture it all here but I wrote about some of these initiatives on this link: http://www.brightcontinent.co.za/2013/05/13/its-the-maasais-mara-after-all/

I found it all such an enlightening, enjoyable experience and it has changed my perception of safaris forever.

Thank you to everyone at Naboisho.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been lucky enough to go on safari in 8 African countries in the past 20 years...all of which have been wonderful experiences, but Kenya, and the Maasai Mara is our favourite spot..and that's the way it's going to stay!!
When you have 5 star camps such as Naibosho (and Rekero) to stay in, it's difficult to go elsewhere.
Roelof and Helen are amazing hosts and nothing is too much trouble, backed up by an outstanding "in house" staff team, guides and spotters second to none. The tents are certainly the best we have experienced for comfort with views of Africa and it's game...not that one spends much time in the tent!

Unfortunately, I am unable to do bush walks now, but to anyone who is interested, don't miss the opportunity to go with Roelof...we have known him for about 8 years now and he really is one of the best when it comes the bush and wildlife.

For reasons I don't quite understand, (shall have to ask Roelof next time) the wildlife has really improved over the past 2 1/2 years and seems to be getting better all the time, which is why we shall be back again later in the year.

Just can't wait for those magical times round the fire, with a cool drink in hand, listening to the African night...followed by an excellent dinner , with interesting company to swop tales of the day's adventures.
Mike and Liza

Room Tip: Travel light and tell "her-in-doors" to leave the hair dryer at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
213 reviews
22.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing