We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staying at Naboisho Camp is an incredible experience. We chose Naboisho Camp after reading so many positive reviews in tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The staff, service, food and accommodation are all excellent. The hosts, Helen and Roelf, are very good at creating a warm, friendly atmosphere and have a passion for their work in the conservancy. Two knowledgable guides are dedicated to you throughout your trip which allows you to develop a good relationship with them. They are happy to tailor make trips according to your interests - we asked to visit a school as well as a village, and these were added to our itinerary. I shared my accommodation with a good mate ( it is amazing how luxurious a tent can be!) but I would love to go back with my husband as it has great potential as a romantic get away!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail-in-Oman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 509 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Dear Helen and Roelof and ALL your wonderful staff,

Many, many thanks to you all for welcoming us so warmly to your little place of heaven on earth. It was truly the total safari experience and one Mel, Lucy and myself will Never forget. There is so much I could say, but it’s all been said 50 times before me!! Everyone thinks this is a very special place, and it`s you and your team that make it so very wonderful. The animals are just an extra really!! And boy what an extra they are!!

None of you could have done any more to make our stay with you more perfect,

Many, many thanks to you all.

Will, Mel and Lucy.
xxx

STAY HERE !!! ITs EVERYTHING AND MORE
We booked through a brillant company called "Toescapeto.com" and many thanks to them for recommending such a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willpid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Naboisho Camp was our favourite stay on our holiday. I took my girlfriend on a trip around Eastern Africa and stayed at some exquisite places in all the countries, but out of all the places we stayed, Naboisho Camp left the deepest impression. Naboisho was like our Home away from Home. We felt just at home at Naboisho Camp, and enjoyed taking the meals with our excellent hosts Helen and Roelof, and the other guests at the camp. The food was sensational, and the dinners were hearty and had a homely feel and taste to it that we'll never forget. I even tipped the Chef at the end of our stay because I was going to miss the food so much. The tents are very comfortable and beautifully set out, we loved the linen and the decor of our tents. The outdoor showers are nice and hot, and ecological. At night you can hear the animals so close by, and the sound is very soothing and surreal. We got to know the staff and miss them dearly. Wilson, our Masai guide was superb! We had so much fun with Wilson and he really showed us a spectacular side to the Mara. We were really sad to leave and wish to return to the camp or try out other Asilia camps when we get the chance to plan another holiday soon.

Alister and Si-Si

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a truly wonderful time and Naboisho Camp exceeded our already high expectations. The camp is beautifully laid out. The conservancy and the Mara were teeming in game and we were particularly lucky on the leopard front with our guide Benjamin leading us straight to the action two nights in succession. The leopard and her cub were relaxed and lying in the open - even better we were the only vehicle there. Other highlight was being 'stranded' for an hour or so in the middle of the Mara after a group of six lion cubs decided to fall asleep in the shade under our Landcruiser. The quality of the guides is truly phenomenal, particularly in contrast to places like Botswana.

The trip finished on a massive high with a glorious 8km walk with the peerless Roelof, with whom we spotted some incredible birdlife including a monster-size Martial eagle catching something (a monkey?) and feeding it to its young. This was followed by a pygmy falcon on a hunt for small birds.

Roelof, along with his wife Helen, were fantastic hosts at Naboisho. It's just a shame for them that the Springboks are going to lose at rugby at Twickenham at the end of November!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spending 5 days with Helen and Roelof at Naboisho was the high point of my trip to Africa. Not only does Roelof and his guides simply knock themselves out making sure you have the best game drives but in camp Helen and her staff are truly committed to taking care of each guest down to the smallest detail. Dinners were spendid and the lunches under the big tree were very special. All and all, if you are lucky enough to stay at Naboisho, the detail in which every aspect of your trip is approached will ensure the most amazing time in camp and out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently took my 94 year old mother on a safari, (her idea), and had been thrilled with the camps we visited in Tanzania, didn't think they could be topped. But Noboisho Camp proved me wrong. First, the tent, with it's side sleeping area and outdoor shower were just wonderful. Helen's greeting was so warm and reassuring, she continued to think of little extras, like a bucket of hot water for Mom to wash in, as she was not able to use the shower. The education about the conservancy was so interesting. The animals were visible (and audible) from our tent. And then there were Daniel and Radika, our guides, who were so helpful and fun. Just can't say enough about what a wonderful place this was!

Room Tip: Don't think there are any bad ones there!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Holiday of a lifetime may be a cliché, but for us this genuinely was. We spent 3 nights at Naboisho, but wished it had been longer.

Our Maasai guides, Dickson and Daniel, collected us from the airstrip in what was to be our dedicated safari vehicle for the whole stay. Within minutes of our leaving the airstrip we had seen a family of elephants, two lone male buffalo, a cheetah with her cub and a young lion with a recent zebra kill – not a bad introduction for four safari novices.

We were blown away by the camp – the standard of accommodation, food, service and attention to detail were all quite exceptional. The tents were perfect – all the comforts you needed but without detracting from the sense of “place” – we were most definitely in the bush. Roelof and Helen were fabulous hosts – helpful and informative but in no way intrusive. Their staff could not have been lovelier, particularly Edward, who managed to raise from slumber our two teenage daughters who have not seen 6am for some time!

Our guides, Dickson and Daniel, were incredibly enthusiastic and knowledgeable and eager for us to have a great game-viewing experience. What impressed us most, though, was that they seemed to have a genuine respect for the animals and their welfare. Dickson not only had a vast knowledge of the area, but also knew individual animals by name and had compiled a folder detailing the local personalities of the big cat community. During our game drives in the conservancy we barely saw another vehicle – something that was in marked contrast to our trip into the reserve.

Our highlights…..fabulous breakfast at the hippo pool, race with Dickson across “smelly crossing” to catch our first breathtaking sight of a leopard, sitting alone in our safari vehicle surrounded by hundreds of recently migrated zebra and wildebeest, visiting a local Maasai village which is supported by Roelof and his team, a walking safari with Roelof, the outdoor bucket showers (unmissable!), hot-water bottles which miraculously stayed warm until dawn.

We could have written pages on Naboisho without a single criticism. It is the most wonderful camp and has four new safari-converts as a result.

Naboisho made us feel like part of a family – leaving it felt like leaving a family too. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keerdale4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,054 reviews
2.1 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
348 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
9.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,018 - $2,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing