We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spending 5 days with Helen and Roelof at Naboisho was the high point of my trip to Africa. Not only does Roelof and his guides simply knock themselves out making sure you have the best game drives but in camp Helen and her staff are truly committed to taking care of each guest down to the smallest detail. Dinners were spendid and the lunches under the big tree were very special. All and all, if you are lucky enough to stay at Naboisho, the detail in which every aspect of your trip is approached will ensure the most amazing time in camp and out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
196
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently took my 94 year old mother on a safari, (her idea), and had been thrilled with the camps we visited in Tanzania, didn't think they could be topped. But Noboisho Camp proved me wrong. First, the tent, with it's side sleeping area and outdoor shower were just wonderful. Helen's greeting was so warm and reassuring, she continued to think of little extras, like a bucket of hot water for Mom to wash in, as she was not able to use the shower. The education about the conservancy was so interesting. The animals were visible (and audible) from our tent. And then there were Daniel and Radika, our guides, who were so helpful and fun. Just can't say enough about what a wonderful place this was!

Room Tip: Don't think there are any bad ones there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Holiday of a lifetime may be a cliché, but for us this genuinely was. We spent 3 nights at Naboisho, but wished it had been longer.

Our Maasai guides, Dickson and Daniel, collected us from the airstrip in what was to be our dedicated safari vehicle for the whole stay. Within minutes of our leaving the airstrip we had seen a family of elephants, two lone male buffalo, a cheetah with her cub and a young lion with a recent zebra kill – not a bad introduction for four safari novices.

We were blown away by the camp – the standard of accommodation, food, service and attention to detail were all quite exceptional. The tents were perfect – all the comforts you needed but without detracting from the sense of “place” – we were most definitely in the bush. Roelof and Helen were fabulous hosts – helpful and informative but in no way intrusive. Their staff could not have been lovelier, particularly Edward, who managed to raise from slumber our two teenage daughters who have not seen 6am for some time!

Our guides, Dickson and Daniel, were incredibly enthusiastic and knowledgeable and eager for us to have a great game-viewing experience. What impressed us most, though, was that they seemed to have a genuine respect for the animals and their welfare. Dickson not only had a vast knowledge of the area, but also knew individual animals by name and had compiled a folder detailing the local personalities of the big cat community. During our game drives in the conservancy we barely saw another vehicle – something that was in marked contrast to our trip into the reserve.

Our highlights…..fabulous breakfast at the hippo pool, race with Dickson across “smelly crossing” to catch our first breathtaking sight of a leopard, sitting alone in our safari vehicle surrounded by hundreds of recently migrated zebra and wildebeest, visiting a local Maasai village which is supported by Roelof and his team, a walking safari with Roelof, the outdoor bucket showers (unmissable!), hot-water bottles which miraculously stayed warm until dawn.

We could have written pages on Naboisho without a single criticism. It is the most wonderful camp and has four new safari-converts as a result.

Naboisho made us feel like part of a family – leaving it felt like leaving a family too. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keerdale4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed all aspects of the visit. We had Dudu and Marianna standing in for Rulolf and Helen until they returned. The entire staff was so very helpful. Encountered almost all animals thanks to Daniel and the spotter. The three hour walk and night rides available in the private conservancy only is worthy consideration when planning your trip. Al fresco showers are a treat. Visit the Masai village and take gifts like pens, pencils, clothes, watches for the children. Go in september for migration and no crowds.

Room Tip: All camps are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent two nights each separated by two at Rekero Camp. The location is less crowded than the Mara and the facilities are newer than those at Rekero. The staff and management at each place are knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable. We enjoyed visiting a family compound of the Maasai and learning the story of a young woman studying to be a guide. The other guests at both places tend to be interesting as well.

Room Tip: Therer are only 8 tents - can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Naboisho and visiting the local Maasai village. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Roelof & Helen, and the team we hope to welcome you back to Naboisho one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santhià
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Naboisho last 23rd August and the entire experience was great; we had been on many safaris before and we had been in Masai Mara last December ; this time we were interested in the migration as well as in something different. We turned to Planet Africa Safaris that proved to be a very professional tour operator: Willow, the agent who planned our safari, realized exactly what we wanted and she definitely met all our requests. She suggested us to stay in Naboisho conservancy and she couldn’t have suggested a nicer place.

We agree with all the other reviews: it is a very intimate camp in a beautiful location
the tent is really comfortable , clean( there were no insects and no mosquitoes) and furnished with just the right things and the right colour shades : the outside bucket shower was fantastic and the whole tent design, with the nice veranda overlooking the bush gives the real idea of a safari experience.
When, one evening it rained , we could use the umbrella and boots we had in the room : very comfortable. And ,as we were travelling light , laundry was a nice facility to take advantage of.
The common area reflects the same feeling of intimacy with the bush and I must say that the table laid for lunch under a tree overlooking the breathtaking scenery of the conservancy was incomparable .

Helen and her husband manage the camp just to make you feel part of a big family inviting guests to relate one another and they themselves joined all guests having dinner and lunch with us . It was very nice to seat in the cosy common area around the fireplace before dinner , drinking a glass of wine sharing the day experiences and then enjoying meal together at a candlelit table . Food was excellent! the couple who manage this camp is really doing a great job

This was the first time we stayed in an unfenced camp and I was quite frightened but I must say that in some way it was fascinating to hear the lions roaring and the hyenas at night.
It was a relief to know that, in case of emergency, a sort of trumpet we had on the table could have been used to ask for help!!. Anyway I never felt unsafe .

Just outside the main area there was one tree under which the mobile signal was perfect: this was a great help to us because we needed to call our old parents at home.

Anyway I think that what really makes the difference with Naboisho is the fact that the conservancy has stunning sceneries , plenty of animals and above all very few vehicles : throughout our stay we met no more than 3 . The day we went to Masai Mara to see the crossing (which we were lucky to see), there were more that 100 land rovers and mini buses waiting for the wildebeest crossing: even though the crossing was amazing it was not nice to see all those cars and we appreciated so much to be back in the conservancy.
I really suggest staying at Naboisho instead of in the busy Mara : in any case they take to Mara for one entire day so you don’t miss the reserve. In addition, in Naboisho, you can be driven off the path and so you can approach animals closer. They also offer night safaris which again are not possible in national parks.
Ben, the Masai guide was very knowledgeable and happy to communicate to you what he knew.Very nice also Wilson, the spotter. They were both very caring.
Actually all the staff was really lovely.
As I said we saw plenty of animals and for the fist time in many years we have seen a lioness hunting and killing a wildebeest: really thrilling.


Another thing not to be missed is the Masai village very different from the ones we had in the past: not touristic at all but authentic. Nobody asks for money , nobody wants to sell anything !

As I am not very brave I skipped the walking safari but all the guests that did it said it was fantastic.

So thanks again to Helen and Reloef for the wonderful staying we had there!

And thanks to you , Willow, for the very good suggestion you gave us!

Anna and Francesco from Italy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There's only one downside to staying here - you're not going to want to leave!

Whether you're a safari novice or a repeat offender, spend some time at Naboisho. Between the elegant, cozy and comfortable accommodations, the surprisingly delicious food, the extreme hospitality, the great sightings and the magic of waking up to hot coffee while overlooking the Maasai Mara, it's hard to find a flaw in this place. I am not surprised that all 43 of the prior 43 reviewers have given this an "excellent" rating. I agree.

We were looked after by a wonderful couple, Helen and Roelof, who are assisted by Arthur (you might recognize him by his dry humor) and an excellent group of staff members and guides. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and will look after your every need. Our guide was Wilson, who was extremely knowledgeable and has the mysterious ability to spot bush babies in the daylight (they are nocturnal animals and close to impossible to see during the day).

The conservancy itself is beautiful and we had a lot of great private and semi-private sightings. For example, we came across a pride of lions feeding on a giraffe they had killed with jackals and vultures lurking. Soon came along a herd of elephants who, unhappy at the sight of the dead giraffe, proceeded to chase away the lions, then the jackals (quite a sight) and then shook the vultures out of the trees they were sitting in. All of this happened within 40 feet of us and was shared by 3 other vehicles. If this had been in the Mara reserve we probably would have been crowded by 50 vehicles constantly inching forward for a better view. The conservancy is within driving distance of a day trip into the Mara reserve, which despite the heavy traffic, is a must see, especially during migration season.

It's hard to put an experience in words but my wife and I left with a heavy heart and a lifetime of memories. If you're considering Rekero Naboisho (run by Asilia Africa), don't hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#11 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#7 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
209 reviews
22.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
511 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing