We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Naboisho last 23rd August and the entire experience was great; we had been on many safaris before and we had been in Masai Mara last December ; this time we were interested in the migration as well as in something different. We turned to Planet Africa Safaris that proved to be a very professional tour operator: Willow, the agent who planned our safari, realized exactly what we wanted and she definitely met all our requests. She suggested us to stay in Naboisho conservancy and she couldn’t have suggested a nicer place.

We agree with all the other reviews: it is a very intimate camp in a beautiful location
the tent is really comfortable , clean( there were no insects and no mosquitoes) and furnished with just the right things and the right colour shades : the outside bucket shower was fantastic and the whole tent design, with the nice veranda overlooking the bush gives the real idea of a safari experience.
When, one evening it rained , we could use the umbrella and boots we had in the room : very comfortable. And ,as we were travelling light , laundry was a nice facility to take advantage of.
The common area reflects the same feeling of intimacy with the bush and I must say that the table laid for lunch under a tree overlooking the breathtaking scenery of the conservancy was incomparable .

Helen and her husband manage the camp just to make you feel part of a big family inviting guests to relate one another and they themselves joined all guests having dinner and lunch with us . It was very nice to seat in the cosy common area around the fireplace before dinner , drinking a glass of wine sharing the day experiences and then enjoying meal together at a candlelit table . Food was excellent! the couple who manage this camp is really doing a great job

This was the first time we stayed in an unfenced camp and I was quite frightened but I must say that in some way it was fascinating to hear the lions roaring and the hyenas at night.
It was a relief to know that, in case of emergency, a sort of trumpet we had on the table could have been used to ask for help!!. Anyway I never felt unsafe .

Just outside the main area there was one tree under which the mobile signal was perfect: this was a great help to us because we needed to call our old parents at home.

Anyway I think that what really makes the difference with Naboisho is the fact that the conservancy has stunning sceneries , plenty of animals and above all very few vehicles : throughout our stay we met no more than 3 . The day we went to Masai Mara to see the crossing (which we were lucky to see), there were more that 100 land rovers and mini buses waiting for the wildebeest crossing: even though the crossing was amazing it was not nice to see all those cars and we appreciated so much to be back in the conservancy.
I really suggest staying at Naboisho instead of in the busy Mara : in any case they take to Mara for one entire day so you don’t miss the reserve. In addition, in Naboisho, you can be driven off the path and so you can approach animals closer. They also offer night safaris which again are not possible in national parks.
Ben, the Masai guide was very knowledgeable and happy to communicate to you what he knew.Very nice also Wilson, the spotter. They were both very caring.
Actually all the staff was really lovely.
As I said we saw plenty of animals and for the fist time in many years we have seen a lioness hunting and killing a wildebeest: really thrilling.


Another thing not to be missed is the Masai village very different from the ones we had in the past: not touristic at all but authentic. Nobody asks for money , nobody wants to sell anything !

As I am not very brave I skipped the walking safari but all the guests that did it said it was fantastic.

So thanks again to Helen and Reloef for the wonderful staying we had there!

And thanks to you , Willow, for the very good suggestion you gave us!

Anna and Francesco from Italy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 506 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

There's only one downside to staying here - you're not going to want to leave!

Whether you're a safari novice or a repeat offender, spend some time at Naboisho. Between the elegant, cozy and comfortable accommodations, the surprisingly delicious food, the extreme hospitality, the great sightings and the magic of waking up to hot coffee while overlooking the Maasai Mara, it's hard to find a flaw in this place. I am not surprised that all 43 of the prior 43 reviewers have given this an "excellent" rating. I agree.

We were looked after by a wonderful couple, Helen and Roelof, who are assisted by Arthur (you might recognize him by his dry humor) and an excellent group of staff members and guides. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and will look after your every need. Our guide was Wilson, who was extremely knowledgeable and has the mysterious ability to spot bush babies in the daylight (they are nocturnal animals and close to impossible to see during the day).

The conservancy itself is beautiful and we had a lot of great private and semi-private sightings. For example, we came across a pride of lions feeding on a giraffe they had killed with jackals and vultures lurking. Soon came along a herd of elephants who, unhappy at the sight of the dead giraffe, proceeded to chase away the lions, then the jackals (quite a sight) and then shook the vultures out of the trees they were sitting in. All of this happened within 40 feet of us and was shared by 3 other vehicles. If this had been in the Mara reserve we probably would have been crowded by 50 vehicles constantly inching forward for a better view. The conservancy is within driving distance of a day trip into the Mara reserve, which despite the heavy traffic, is a must see, especially during migration season.

It's hard to put an experience in words but my wife and I left with a heavy heart and a lifetime of memories. If you're considering Rekero Naboisho (run by Asilia Africa), don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful spot in the Maasai Mara in Kenya. From the moment we were picked up at the airstrip, to the time we left, we had an amazing time with our 3 teenage boys. The game drives were fabulous and our guide did not give up in terms of making sure we saw everything there was to see in the area. We were fortunate to watch the Wildebeest migration, which was truly remarkable. The accomodations were very comfortable - and we really liked the hot water bottle that was placed in every bed at night! Also very important is the fact our food allergies - peanuts, tree nuts, sesame seeds and fish - were all attended to and we ate very well. Perhaps too well! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignoraCalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Naboisho Camp for 3 nights, our second stop in our 2-week East Africa adventure. We really thought the first camp could not be beat, but Naboisho Camp was just as excellent (service, accommodations, meals, game experiences--all exemplary), and the perfect compliment to the experience of the first camp.

Note: As it turned out (and unbeknownst to us when we booked through our agent), our first camp (Rekero) and Naboisho Camp are sister properties, both part of the Asilia group of luxury eco camps in Kenya and Tanzania. Based on our experiences at both camps --- impeccable and super-friendly service from staff members hired from local communities, super professional camp management, wonderful meals, and expert game viewing and guiding --- the Asilia group has a great formula.)

Naboisho was about a 1.5 hour game drive from our first camp in the Mara reserve. Naboisho Camp is located in the heart of the adjacent Naboisho Conservancy. All of the game is essentially identical, though Naboisho does not get the miraculous and wonderful Great Migration of the wildabeasts in the Mara, nor as many animals in general. **However, the key difference between the Masai Mara reserve and the Naboisho Conservancy is that there are very few other people.** Naboisho Camp is one of just 7 small camps (unlike the Mara, which unfortunately is teeming with camps and game vehicles). As a result, we saw almost no other tourists outside those in our camp, the animals seemed more "natural", less used to vehicles and people. Finally, the environment was also different: the Naboisho Conservancy is largely a beautiful acacia forest, whereas the Mara is mostly open savana, pocketed with river forests and tall bushy outcroppings.

Naboisho is a newer camp than the first camp we stayed at, and thus benefitted from a more luxurious collection of tents (running water in the sink, a beautiful outdoor shower).

Naboisho Camp is managed by the South African couple Helen and Roelof, assisted by Alfred, who is Kenyan. They were an excellent team: attentive to every detail, extremely warm and friendly, and made sure the entire guest experience was perfect.

Finally, one of the highlights of our **entire** trip to East Africa were the walking safaris lead by Roelof, an expert guide.

Room Tip: All of the tents seemed to be excellently located and well-spaced. They all face east, so get read...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This camp was just wonderful and outstanding. The tents were great, the lounge area was really nice a cosy with the fire place. Also the bucket showers were really good and surprisingly long and warm :) Also the safari was amazing and we didn't miss not being in the park but actually enjoyed being in the conservancy as we had many other options as walking and night drives. But what made the difference were the people. We felt part of the family what made the trip ever more fantastic. Every detail was made with love and care. We spent 4 nights at Naboisho and then went on to the Mara Explorer. When we got there we immediately wanted to turn around and go back. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: We had tent 6 which was the last one. It had the advantage of having a great view but was quite far...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPARKinLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our recent 3 night stay at Naboisho camp was a wonderful but all too short time - every aspect of our visit from the warm welcome to the farewell was professionally organised by the camp managers, Roelof and Helen and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The game drives through the Naboisho conservancy and Masai Mara Reserve provided plenty of up close animal viewing and our guides Dickson and Benjamin were both terrific. The tented room was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the woodland adjoining the camp and meals with the other guests were great for sharing stories. The standard of the catering was also fantastic including picnic lunches served during game drives- we were frankly amazed at what the chefs could produce in such a remote location. Overall we highly recommend Naboisho Camp for a beautiful safari experience. We were only sorry that we didn’t have an extra day to join one of the walking safaris lead by Roelof to hear about the lesser known aspects of animal and plant life in the Mara and the conservation efforts of the Naboisho group.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Naboisho Camp is stunning - very contemporary and elegant and set in a beautiful location overlooking a grassy plain. The food is excellent, with breakfast and dinner being served in the mess and lunch being served out on the lawn. Drinks before dinner around an outside warming fire is a nice touch. The tents are luxurious but also give a sense of being right in the bush - for example, the novel outside showers, hearing lions roaring and elephants trumpeting at night, and spotting zebra and dik-dik around the tent during the day. The managers, Helen and Roelof, and the assistant manager, Arthur, are extremely hospitable and are committed to conservation and education; the staff are professional; the service is outstanding; our guide (Wilson) and spotter (Rakita) are dedicated to giving clients the best possible safari. A huge advantage of being in the Naboisho Conservancy is the lack of crowds; we encountered very few other game vehicles. On the day we spent in the Maasai Mara National Reserve, we found traffic jams around the wildebeest migration (which actually was one of the highlights of our stay). Another advantage is night driving - we came across a pride of lions (a male, 3 females and 3 cubs), and spent ages watching them with no-one else around. Another great experience is game walking with Roelof, who is extremely knowledgeable; this is also an opportunity to stretch the legs after days of game driving and receiving "African massages". Naboisho Camp is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
2.1 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
345 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#5 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
9.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,015 - $2,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing