We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Safari Experience at Naboisho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Safari Experience at Naboisho”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our recent 3 night stay at Naboisho camp was a wonderful but all too short time - every aspect of our visit from the warm welcome to the farewell was professionally organised by the camp managers, Roelof and Helen and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The game drives through the Naboisho conservancy and Masai Mara Reserve provided plenty of up close animal viewing and our guides Dickson and Benjamin were both terrific. The tented room was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the woodland adjoining the camp and meals with the other guests were great for sharing stories. The standard of the catering was also fantastic including picnic lunches served during game drives- we were frankly amazed at what the chefs could produce in such a remote location. Overall we highly recommend Naboisho Camp for a beautiful safari experience. We were only sorry that we didn’t have an extra day to join one of the walking safaris lead by Roelof to hear about the lesser known aspects of animal and plant life in the Mara and the conservation efforts of the Naboisho group.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
142
192
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Naboisho Camp is stunning - very contemporary and elegant and set in a beautiful location overlooking a grassy plain. The food is excellent, with breakfast and dinner being served in the mess and lunch being served out on the lawn. Drinks before dinner around an outside warming fire is a nice touch. The tents are luxurious but also give a sense of being right in the bush - for example, the novel outside showers, hearing lions roaring and elephants trumpeting at night, and spotting zebra and dik-dik around the tent during the day. The managers, Helen and Roelof, and the assistant manager, Arthur, are extremely hospitable and are committed to conservation and education; the staff are professional; the service is outstanding; our guide (Wilson) and spotter (Rakita) are dedicated to giving clients the best possible safari. A huge advantage of being in the Naboisho Conservancy is the lack of crowds; we encountered very few other game vehicles. On the day we spent in the Maasai Mara National Reserve, we found traffic jams around the wildebeest migration (which actually was one of the highlights of our stay). Another advantage is night driving - we came across a pride of lions (a male, 3 females and 3 cubs), and spent ages watching them with no-one else around. Another great experience is game walking with Roelof, who is extremely knowledgeable; this is also an opportunity to stretch the legs after days of game driving and receiving "African massages". Naboisho Camp is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our stay was elegant and extremely comfortable. To sit around a roaring fire under an african sky sharing stories with our hosts was a rare treat. The tents were luxurious but retained the sense that we were staying in the wilds, the outdoor showers were a pleasure and a novelty. The food was exquisite, and the managers', Helen and Roelof, hospitality unrivalled. Our guides and spotters gave us a brilliant experience with frequent sightings of lions and cheetah at close quarters. Thank you to everybody at Naboisho.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Tent 6 is on the end therefore a decent walk from the rest of the camp but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Naboisho Camp. Exciting stay at a beautiful location. The managers know how to put on a class act out there. The tents were clean, roomy and and all the comforts of home in a camping environ. We stayed three nights and wished we could have stayed longer as there was sooo much to see. Our 'animals to see list', with the exception of an alligator was completed. One night I was awakened to the sound of water buffalo having his midnight snack. The food was excellent and the new compound tent was wonderful. Lunch under the trees could not have been better.

Do yourself a favor. Visit Naboisho. You will make a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecatstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Naboisho camp for 4 nights this July. It was our first trip to Africa and Naboisho Camp was fantastic setting for our safari experience! The tents were luxurious and welcoming. We were right in the bush. One day, I was woken by Zebras grazing outside the tent, another day, we had an elephant walk by our tent.. The service in the camp was simply outstanding, I have travelled to over 40 countries and stayed in some very good hotels but Naboisho's service was the best. They have a personal hosting concept where the two managers Dudu and Mariana hosted us and made us feel like we were visiting friends. The game viewing was incredible in the Naboisho Conservancey, we had two fantastic guides Benjamin and Daniel who took care of us really well.Overall, we had an amazing experience here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Asilia Camps are in a class by themselves, Naboisho is the newest and certainly no exception. The food, tents and overall service is first rate. We also loved the outdoor showers referenced in other reviews - so nice to have the sky overhead! Our tent looked out on to a grassy plain and it was wonderful to sit at the front of the tent.

Beyond the great details that this camp provides (hot water bottles in between the sheets at night and cool eucalyptus towels following a game drive are two examples that come to mind), the Naboisho Camp is really committed to conservation and education.

We were lucky that Mara Naboisho Lion Project researcher Niels Mogensen visited the camp and we got to hear about the project from him.

Also, it was clear that the Naboisho Camp guides and spotters take conservation seriously and really respect the animals. While we were viewing a lion and her cubs a group from another camp (who shall remain nameless!) came up and were very loud. Their guides did nothing to stop this and the mother took her cubs further away into the bush as a result. I was very happy to be with a group that is professional and puts the wildlife first.

Also since Naboisho is a private conservancy, the number of cars is limited. This is a real advantage and you are not competing with many other groups for space. Despite the one experience listed above, we were essentially on our own most of the time, which makes you feel like you are the only ones there.

Other reviews have referenced the game walks with Roelof, which are a must do. You may not get up close to the big animals, but it's a great experience to get out in the bush firsthand. Roelof is a real expert and we learned a ton from him. Plus after sitting in a Land Cruiser for game drives, it was so nice to have this option to get out and stretch our legs.

More details of our stay at Naboisho are on our blog:
http://slaterslive.tumblr.com/post/27445743287/naboisho-camp-recap

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our daughter lives in Nairobi so we have been very fortunate to have experienced a number of game drive holidays in Kenya, staying at different camps. Our 3 night stay at Naboisho Camp has to have been one of the best with excellent tent accommodation and food! The staff couldn't have made our stay more enjoyable, in particular Mariana, Dudu and Ben, Dickson and Daniel were great guides. It was great getting to know them all. It was a little early to see the migration but to see 6 lion feasting on a hippo, a leopard stalking antelope, a cheetah and her cubs as well as lunch by the hippo pool was certainly an experience. Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#7 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
19.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the 210 km² private Mara Naboisho Conservancy, Naboisho Camp offers spectacular game viewing, from the herds of antelope that dot the plains of this wilderness corridor throughout the year to the high concentrations of predators, including lion and cheetah. But the real magic of Naboisho is its sheer exclusivity - you'll experience a level of safari solitude and serenity simply unheard of in the busy Serengeti and Maasai Mara reserves. With just nine spacious tented suites, Naboisho is an intimate and elegant safari camp that balances your wilderness experience with discreet creature comforts. Even better, it is one of just two Asilia camps where you have the option of fly camping. If you have a truly adventurous spirit, don't miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to immerse yourself in the magic of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing