We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Entumoto Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Entumoto Safari Camp
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at Entumoto in August with a group of friends. It was my first safari experience which was made all the more memorable by Entumoto and the fantastic staff. This camp is truely out of this world. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us so well, the food was excellent (so tasty), the standard of the accommodation was luxurious and the scenery and setting was quite simply stunning. From the early morning (middle of the night!) wake up calls with coffee and juice, to the late night hot water bottles warming our beds, the service was fantastic. I would recommend this safari camp to anyone, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this camp earlier this month. It was my third time visiting Mara and all the lodges I have stayed in have been incredible. However, this surpassed my expectations. The camp is cleverly hidden in the hillside. Our group were the only guests at the camp and were given exceptional service. I am not sure how they acheive such high standards in such a remote location. The food was better than any restaurant I have eaten in and it was healthy, all being grown on site. The 'tents' are clean, spacious and luxurious, with spectacular views from the veranda. The lodge has a tranquil feel, added to by the vast array of birds singing in the nearby trees. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a place! Don't know where to start. Not much really to say, except we had a wonderful time. All our wishes catered for. The staff were truly amazing - right from the Manager to Elijah (the Chef - excellent food and he does a wonderful curry! And a Man Utd fan - a added bonus!), Raffel (maitre d extraordinair) to all the security staff who looked after us soo well. The family tent was wonderful and very comfortable. One thing to warn you about - there is a window in the bathroom that has no curtains - so anyone from the outside could look in when you were about your business! Not that there was anyone...but a little uncomfortable in any case.

The game drives were great fun - our guide Issac was a top man. Very knowledgeable, full of insight and was just fun to be around. He made the stay that extra bit special.

If you're heading to the Mara - I doubt you'll find a better place than this!
Give it a try!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodnwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tents are very, very nice! Did have some issues with getting a hot shower as the water had to be heated by fire and the bathroom windows looked right out to the fire builders so wear a towel! Food was very good but sometimes portions were small. The best part of This camp was by far the driver and our guide. Rony (driver and Yenko our guide) went out if their way to make sure we saw eventing on our list. Again they where the great!

We did request two tents and wound up with us sharing a very large tent with our son. We still had two bathrooms and a living room with a fireplace. Not bad for tented camping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wow! Entumoto rocks. We were the only guests and the service, the food, the accomodation was outstanding.
Big thanks to the brilliant Isaac who was our guide, he taught us a lot about the people, the game and life!
We loved Raffael - such a lovely maitre d and he looked after us at every meal making sure we had everything we needed.
Chef was super too and made sure my daughter's egg allergy was catered for. The food was super.

Our family had such a wonderful time. We would love to go back. Its a super place!
And we saw a cheetah kill! and 2 leopards!!

Thanks everyone...we hope to return one day soon.


ps: you may think staying outside of the park is a problem but actually its a benefit...we did night time game drives in the conservation area which you can't do in the mara itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I just returned from a four-day stay at Entumoto and I miss it already! First and foremost, the staff from top to bottom is excellent, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. One of the owners joined us for meals everyday which was a nice personal touch. The tents are spaced far apart - we couldn't even see another tent from ours. The game driver, Isaac, is phenomenal (he's Bronze level and very informed). Every single hour in the vehicle with him is catered completely to what the client wants. He was so patient and made sure we were happy and comfortable. You see plenty of game drivers out in the Mara who look miserable, serious, and are driving subpar cars that get stuck in the mud. Not Isaac! And Entumoto uses completely open air land cruisers that allow you to go wherever you want and you feel right there with the animals.
We had a picnic "bush" lunch or breakfast each day out in the savanna in the mara and a sun downer out on the lions rock overlooking the camp. One unique thing about Entumoto is they have their own fruit and vegetable garden and weave their homegrown produce into their meals. I highly recommend this place! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and me stayed at Entumoto for four days. Our time there was truly amazing. Entumoto is a tented camp with tents far apart and without any fences around it. This means that you're surrounded by nature and can enjoy the quiet. Guards accompany you in the morning and evening which was special in itself.

The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and socially engaged. Our driver Isaac was great, really taking the time and making sure you're seeing everything (we saw the "big five").

The food is also tasty, mostly homegrown and fresh. And having cold drinks on the Lion's Rock makes for a sundowner like no other.

Thanks to the staff we had an unforgettable time. We'll surely come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkCharlotteBussum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
3.2 mi away
Spirit of the Masai Mara
Spirit of the Masai Mara
#53 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#73 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#58 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#9 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.2 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#99 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
17.8 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#15 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entumoto Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entumoto Safari Camp

Property: Entumoto Safari Camp
Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new camp with a history going back to the 1920's. This family owned, small luxury safari camp is run by Swedish and Maasai families. The camp is situated in a beautifully secluded valley overlooking Masai Mara. The camp has a prime position in a conservancy with direct access to the park. The area is abundant with game.The camp is beautifully decorated and offers very comfortable accommodation and haute cuisine. Family friendly, also for children, with 4 big family units with up to 6 beds. We have a large private conservancy neighboring the park with all big 5 present and many many more. We engage in several community projects such as a school and a Rescue center for young girls. Our guests are encouraged to take part of our community work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Entumoto Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entumoto Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing