We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enkewa Camp
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$500
$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$160
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$166
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
383
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamsafari experiencesand rivermasai maramasai staffgame drivesblack rhinoprivate bathroomstayed dayshot water bottlesthe reservegreat picturesfood is excellentamazing experiencewhole experienceevening drivegreat migration
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 385 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enkewa Mara Camp was highly recommended by a friend who used to live in Kenya. When he introduced Enkewa Mara Camp, I made an immediate booking as I appreciate his taste and style.
The stay in Enkewa Mara Camp was far beyond our expectation.
It is a very small camp with six or seven tents but that is one of charms of the camp if you are a kind of person who appreciate the originality and do not like a giant lodge or camp which pack so many people. Enkewa Mara is a place where you can tailour your programme on the spot based on your situation or needs. For our case, we went there with our little child and wanted a bit relaxed stay, meeting animals and knowing local culture.
From the airport to the lodge, which is a bit outside of national park, we could meet almost all the kinds of animals. Because of the location, we could also enjoy night safari and sunset drink. The food offered at their place, either at the table or picnic food were all delicious. I truly enjoyed all the meals though both my husband and I are quite fussy about the quality of food. Everything was so organized in a way that you can enjoy every moment and bit of stay in Masai Mara.
Finally, two hosts, both Marta and Jose are genuinely passionate about nature and the life of Masai people. We may have been very lucky that there were not many guests when we visited but they have taken care of us so well.
Thanks again Marta, Jose and their wonderful staff, who received us wholeheartedly and we hope to see you again in Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

my wife and I stayed for 4 nights. the camp is small, which is perfect for this kind of trip. the tents are amazingly well furnished and maintained....by far better than my expensive hotel in nairobi....the food was beyond what i expected...the staff was very helpful. the transport to see game was perfect, the vehicles were open and not some cramped little van. we saw tons tons of animals..all the big five. and best of all, we spent some time with the locals, which was a wonderful touch.

Room Tip: select the far west tent!! you will feel like you are all alone in the open african land.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have travelled to many countries, and stayed in a variety of different hotels, but no experience has been as special as my stay at Enkewa. From the setting, to the service, to the philosophy, Enkewa was truly exceptional. Thank you to Jose and Marta for creating something so unique, and so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was my first trip to Africa and my first safari, and its kind of difficult to describe the experience, but it was surely above all expectations. The Masai Mara reserve is full of animals and the sight of animals is constant. Its surely not one of those trips that you drive half an hour to see a single lion or giraffe, there is plenty of them and youre next to them all the time. In four days we manage to see over 20 lions and endless zebras, elephants, giraffes, leopards, gepards, wilder beasts, bisons, hyenas, pumbas and even a pangolin! The only downside is that we did not see any rhinos because there are very few of them.

The Enkewa lodge was excellent in every single detail. The Mediterranean food served is totally homemade and diverse. The rooms are very isolated not to have insect visiting you during the night and pretty large for a tent with bedroom, bathroom and living room (I would say about 25m2). Since Enkewa has currently only 6 tents, the level of service is outstanding and 100% personalized. Enkewa does not follow any prestablished routes and every night you get to decide what kind of tour you want to do the next day.
As I said, I haven't been to other safaris, but I have definitely talked with many friends that have been to several and also with some other guests at Enkewa that have been all around, and the main difference with other more populated resorts is that Enkewa uses 4x4 to the excursions, so they manage to get you everywhere in order to see the animals closer and with no other cars around you. Most resorts use a minivan that can only drive through the established tracks so you only get to see the animals if they happen to be close to your track, which for me it would have been a big disappointment. By using 4x4s, and the vast experience our the Enkewa guides, we manage to be a meter away from lions and other animals in their natural environment. Truly an amazing experience.

Moreover, apart from the two Spanish owners, the rest of the staff at Enkewa are native masais, extremely helpful and friendly.

Enkewa might be a little bit more expensive than other more populated lodges, but it was definitely worth every single dollar. I would not recommend other way of driving through the Savanna.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samukinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay of 4 nights in Enkewa Mara Camp, a camp perfectly locateed in Masai Mara. Expectations are usually unavoidable when you’re going on holiday to a place which you have been checking, reading about, etc, but our experience was way beyond our expectations. I could have never imagined seeing the animals so close and being totally alone with no other groups or cars around. Enkewa Mara Camp is without a doubt the place to stay if you are going to Kenya. Jose and Marta run the camp together with Sam and a friendly and marvelous masai staff team. They are all wonderful, Jose does all what is necessary to give you an unique and exclusive safari experience, he and Marta want to know which is your first choice every time and they give it to you, it’s absolutely not a preset safari experience but a tailor made one. We even got to see a pangolin one of the days, which is a very rare animal. The food is excellent in the Camp, everything is extremely taken care of, everything is very clean and there is hot water to take a shower! Even though the nights get cold you won’t be could in the tents/rooms, there are enough blankets and a warm surprise which will keep you warm throughout the night awaits at bedtime! The beds are very comfortable and wide. One of the nights the group of masais started to sing and dance and it was real magic, real life, it was fantastic!
You can choose to visit a masai village were some of the masais in the camp have their house and families, we highly recommend it.
We were 4 in our group and we often talked about how perfect everything was and that there was not a one single aspect we could complain about.
Asante sana.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicole7_4_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews