We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$390
View deal
Hotels.com
$395
View deal
Trip.com
$353
View deal
Expedia.com$395
Travelocity$395
Destinia.com$464
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveler rating
717
240
53
19
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
717
240
53
19
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game drives hot water hippos and crocodiles pasta station day bed indian food four poster nice pool our waiter fire pit lunch and dinner dining area turn down service buffet style electric fence luxury tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Great three night stay at this lodge. We had tent 40 hitch was quite a walk from the dining room but so lovely as we had a lovely view of the Mara river & Hippos & Crocodiles in the river. Mike our waiter looked after us very well & on the first night it was my husbands birthday & unbe known to us the kitchen had made him a cake & sang all round the dining room before arriving at our table. Very knowledgable man called Phillip in the shop. Great stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Edwin N, Manager at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We thank you for these good review and yes indeed, our gorgeous rooms are well spread out and takes a bit of a walk to reach some though one has no regrets as the river view from the balcony is just breathtaking!

As you experienced, my team is always at hand to help you celebrate your birthday, anniversary etc in a special way and they do it like none other organization.

I'm also glad that you can single some of the staff who made your stay memorable and be assured we'll urge them on to keep doing the good work.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and welcome you back again n again!

Wish you all best of regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Our stay at Ashnil Mara Camp could not have been better. The people are incredibly nice and helpful. The scenery is unforgettable (hippos and crocs in the river as you enjoy your meals and drinks? come on. fantastic!). The accommodations are really nice and far better than expected. The food is really really good and again far better than expected.

I'd like to see one change... the mattresses. They are thinner than I am used to and quite unforgiving, but I survived.

To all of those reviews about the animal noises... please stay at the nearest Ritz in a city and don't bother with a safari. While the food was super, the people were incredible, the grounds were really well maintained, the accommodations were fantastic... the overall experience of being at a camp, in tents (albeit with hardwood floor platforms with real bathrooms and showers) is the real selling point. It is like you are on safari in the golden age of safari minus much danger. You hear lions roaring and hippos grunting and hyenas whooping, etc. ... fantastic! It just adds so much to the experience!

Another plus? The hot water is hot! The water pressure was totally unexpected!

Great job Ashnil Mara. Great job.

I will recommend Ashnil Mara and our outfitter Explorer Kenya to all those who now ask us all about our experience 8,000 miles (13,000 KM) away from home and I will recommend them exclusively. Don't mess around and second guess. Choose Ashnil Mara with 100% confidence of a fantastic stay in the Masai Mara!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank mboycewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Edwin N, Manager at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Esteemed Client,

Thanks for your very encouraging review as per herein!

It was indeed our pleasure hosting you and thanks again for choosing to stay at our luxurious tented camp in expense of many others in the diverse Mara national reserve.

At Ashnil Mara our guests comfort and satisfaction is key!

Our ultimate objective is to always meet and exceed on our esteemed guests expectations, of which is done exquisitely and professionally in every aspect.
Our gorgeous rooms, sumptuous culinary delights displayed and served from the state of the art n interactive buffet counters complemented with enchanting services from the staff makes our camp a notch higher than our competitors, And coupled with our vantage positioning along the banks of the mighty Mara river which guarantees abundance of game viewing, our camp offers all-inclusive safari experiences as is desired by our valued customers.

I'm delighted we lived to your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to welcome you back again or request you refer to us any of your many contacts, and hereby promise our best personalized attention ever!

Once again thank you very much and wish you all the best in your endeavors.

Best regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

Fantastic location, staff, food. Great place to stay for 3-4 days.
Remark - tents can be cold at night (july) if you stay at room 6A-B expect noice during the night from hippo and animals in the water.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikF244
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Edwin N, Manager at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Dear Henrik,

Together with my team we say a Big Thank You! And welcome you back again ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Camp is situated next to Mara river & You can see Hippos from Bar & Rooms. Multi cuisine restaurant & what a amazing Product They Serve there. Lasagna was The Best. Kudos to Chef & the team.I am surely gonna recommends .

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldaisyaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Edwin N, Manager at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear Esteemed Client,

We thank you for having chosen to stay with us and more so for these encouraging review!

At Ashnil Mara, guests interest and satisfaction is our key priority!
Our ultimate objective is to always meet and exceed on our esteemed clients expectations, of which is done professionally through our warm and very processional/friendly staff.
These coupled with our gorgeous rooms and sumptuous culinary delights, we offer total value experience to our guests.

I'm glad you experienced and can attest to these. and will be recommending to your friends/colleagues.
.
We thank you and welcome you back again!!

Cheers..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Long bumpy drive in but well worth it, right on the river in the middle of the Masai Mara and back into the up market tenting experience. Staff were great and really made our last few days on safari something to remember. Showed real concern when my wife had to miss a couple of meals through sickness

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jace59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2022

Dear Jace,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to providing us with your valuable feedback and I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel Okelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews