We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashnil Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ashnil Mara Camp to your Saves list
Ashnil Mara Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We booked our safari to Ashnil Mara Camp while, staying at Baobab Beach resort Kenya. We booked with a local tour guide Jackal Adventures & Safaris. We were picked up at 7:30 by taxi and taken to Diani air strip about 3 miles away. Clearing security was quick and simple. After a short delay while our air craft was being refiled we departed about 8:45. After flying past Mount Kilimanjaro we made the first of 3 landings to let off passengers for other safari camps total flight time was approximately 2 hours We were met at Olkiombo air strip by driver and guide Musa. The drive from the air strip took about 45 minutes through marvellous countryside stopping for photo opportunities. After checking in and being shown our tent which was a canvas palace we were treated to a first class lunch. We met Musa for the afternoon safari drive which was excellent Musa knew all the right locations for some perfect photos. Our evening meal was again very good and the highlight was the Maasia greeting. After our meal we sat around a small fire and ordered a few drinks which were priced very reasonable. At the end of the evening we were shown back to our tent which had been prepared for the night we fell asleep to sound of hippopotamuses in the river outside our tent. After a good breakfast we left the camp for our safari drive. Musa had arranged a packed lunch so we could have more time to take in the sights and visit the Maasia Village before being taken to the air strip. The staff at the Mara camp were exceptional. The camp is fantastic and everything is done to make you feel welcome our only regret is that we were unable to stay longer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Torquay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arranged 3 days here through the excellent JT Safaris who recommended this to us and our 2nd time in the Mara Triangle. Lovely views over the Mara river and accommodation was first class. The tent was clean and comfortable and a lovely verandah to sit out and look out over the river. The hot water bottle at night was lovely as the 2nd night it was cold and we had a bit of rain. The swimming pool was grewat after a morning Safari.

Met a great couple Maggie and Dave who we shared the truck with, thanks for the laughs. We saw loads of animals on the Safaris and our guide was very knowledgable. On our way to the camp we were fortunate enough to see 4, 8 year old borther lions. Three were asleep under a tree and then we spotted the 4th that was guarding a Hippo that they had killed the night before! Over the three days as we went in and out of the camp on Safari it was amazing to see all the other animals that were collecting in the area to try and get their bit of Hippo when the Lions had had their fill. By the 3rd day there were around 40 Hyenas, Jackals, 3 types of Vultures and even 2 Storks (didn't know they ate Hippo)! It was an amazing spectacle and National Geographic were filming each day so we are looking forward to watching the documentary.

The only down side for myself was the food whcih was buffet style and a varied choice but was Indian. I cannot eat spicy food and was OK for two days but on the third day my stomach was struggling to cope. It would have been great to have had a "plainer" alternative.

Overall a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

While in Kenya, I had the grand opportunity to go on a two-day, one-night safari in Maasai Mara Reserve and stayed at the Ashnil Mara Camp. When we walked in, we were immediately overwhelmed with the prompt, warm hospitality and then the lovely environment. I was blown away by my room. The rooms are large spaces covered on all sides with strong canvas. The bathrooms are also large--very nice shower with very hot water!! It appeared that all the rooms had a back porch with lovely sitting area. After we returned from dinner, the mosquito net had been untied and draped beautifully around the large bed. Once I climbed in to bed, I was greeted with a warm warm bottle. Ahhhh! Food: dinner was an outstanding buffet, as was the breakfast. Staff on all levels friendly, professional, and they aim to please. I am hopeful that I will be able to return again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a six day safari booked through the excellent JT Safari's.
Lovely lodge, nice pool if you take the afternoon off and lovely staff. Rooms are lovely, very large and luxurious! Food ok, buffet style meals as expected for a larger lodge.
Fantastic location - we saw absolutely everything while here thanks to the excellent Baker from JT Safari's!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cally f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The rooms, staff, food and grounds were really terrific. The staff makes a special effort to make sure everyone is happy. And the room-- You won't believe it's a tent!

We also really enjoyed watching the sunset over the river every night while listening to the hippos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citycook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Gorgeous campgrounds, wake up to the sound of hippos and walk through the greenery of the grounds to a delicious buffet breakfast at the restaurant. Luxuriously comfortable, you wont even realize you are in a tent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow - what can I say, five star camping and five star safari. Saw 3 of the big 5 - (no leopards or rhinos) but everything else and more. Saw a lion kill, baby elephants, giraffes, and my favourite the warthog. Someone needs to make a disney movie about these animals, what characters. Would recommend this camp, right on the Mara river, fabulous food, excellent facilities. Once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila98b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#41 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
28.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Mara Camp

Address: | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASHNIL MARA CAMP The game drive experience offered at Ashnil Mara Camp is guaranteed to fascinate any safari enthusiast. For those in love with flora and fauna, the drive to go on safari is triggered by the desire to see wildlife and vegetation in their natural habitat. We give you an opportunity to spot wildlife on a running commentary of information given by our experienced driver guides. Our game drives are conducted in 4x4 vehicles, which are equipped to cover the rough terrains associated with safaris. The camp comprises 56 luxurious tents set overlooking the picturesque vast of Mara. Come catch the wildebeest migration amid a raw blend of luxury and the wild. A true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ashnil Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ashnil Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing