We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mara Visit”
Review of Ashnil Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashnil Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mara Visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed one night at the Ashnil Mara Camp. I would have liked to stay longer. The rooms were terrific as was the food and serivce. There was a lot of variety in the buffets. I really enjoyed reading on the deck and watching the butterflies and listening to the birds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz658215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    156
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
166
235
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked our holiday with Mark from Escape Worldwide, who was very patient and helpful in answering our endless questions before we finally ended up with our perfect itinerary. We safaried with Somak and our guide Christopher Kilonzo was fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble and we very soon ticked off the Big Five. His knowledge and expertise is second to none. When we arrived at the oasis that is Ashnil Mara Camp, we were greeted with wet towels and a cold drink. The luxury tents (and I use the word 'tents' very very loosely!!) were out of this world! Wooden flooring throughout with extremely comfy beds (hot water bottles are placed in your bed whilst you are at dinner) and there is also a huge bathrooms with a wonderful shower. The decking area outside overlooks the river complete with hippos and has a wonderful circular sunbed to lounge on after a long game drive. A special mention should also go out for Benjamin and his team. They were all so helpful and cheerful. We were really treated like VIP's! We hope to return to the Masai Mara one day and will certainly be staying at Ashnil's again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdudu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Ashnil Mara Tented Camp was the final stop on our Somak Cheetah Safari and we wished we could have stayed there for much longer than the 2 nights. The Tents were sheer luxury and the pool was beautiful, the restaurant and choice of food was excellent and coffee with Masia John round the camp fire after dinner was a perfect end to the day. The camp is right on the river with hippos and crocodiles in residence. Each tent has a comfy four poster bed with a luxury bathroom and a beautiful balcony which was big enough for table and chairs and lounging bed, overlooking the river. We went in the middle of July to see the wildebeast migration and were not disappointed. Wildebeast as far as the eye could see and of course they were joined by zebra, cheetah, lions and leopards. The river crossing was incredible to watch and exactly like you imagine. I hope to return to this beautiful camp some day to stay for much much longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent Camp. Excellent Location. We were a group of 10 visiting Mara in June 2013. The whole camp is beautifully built on an oxbow bend of the river providing a river view from anywhere in the camp. Each tent has a view of the river with a balcony. Tents are large with plenty of space & all en-suite & clean. The food is just fantastic with a choice of cuisines. Its location in the Centre of Mara makes it easy access to all other parts of the Mara. A small pool adds another star to the camp. Truly 5 Star Luxury in the bush! We will definitely recommend this camp to all our customers.

Room Tip: No tips required at this camp. All luxury tents are beautifully located with each tent having a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaribuniSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Really fantastic camp. Stayed here for two nights as part of the cheetah safari with somak. Over looks a river which is home to hippos and crocs. The camp is fuelled by a generator which is turned off during certain times of the day and night so you will need a torch is you tend to want to go to the bathroom through the night. To get to this camp it is a long drive 2hrs down a very bumpy and dusty track so handy to have a cushion with you. Food is good with a variety of local curries. Fabulous service from Vincent. The tent was well laid out and as the nights drop down Micheal was there with a hot water bottle lovely! Whilst here we had breakfast with the hippos which was wonderful. The mara itself didn't disappoint the wildebeast had started the migration and it was wonderful to see them as far as the eye could see and with such an abundance of food there was pleny of lions cheetahs and leopards to spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatravelWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ashnil Mara is well located by a river and also close to the famous Migration point. Great big rooms - with most of the rooms there is a river view - you can sit in your private balcony and enjoy the sounds of the Hippo in the river. Food is world class. They organise a special bush dinner which as the name suggests is a full course meal in the middle of the bush - a must do experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a great place to stay while we were in the Maasai Mara part of our safari - the great pity being that we weren't there longer (only two nights, sadly). The "tents" are great (and of course nothing like what most people would consider tents back home), the food's good, the pool area pleasant, nothing is too much trouble for the staff... and best of all, it's in a great location in the Mara, which for me is heaven on earth. We weren't lucky enough to see a leopard but did see everything else we wanted to during our game drives. Wonderful place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MakingPastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#44 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Mara Camp

Property: Ashnil Mara Camp
Address: | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASHNIL MARA CAMP The game drive experience offered at Ashnil Mara Camp is guaranteed to fascinate any safari enthusiast. For those in love with flora and fauna, the drive to go on safari is triggered by the desire to see wildlife and vegetation in their natural habitat. We give you an opportunity to spot wildlife on a running commentary of information given by our experienced driver guides. Our game drives are conducted in 4x4 vehicles, which are equipped to cover the rough terrains associated with safaris. The camp comprises 56 luxurious tents set overlooking the picturesque vast of Mara. Come catch the wildebeest migration amid a raw blend of luxury and the wild. A true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ashnil Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ashnil Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing