We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation”
Review of Ashnil Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashnil Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

superb!
we were on a familiarization trip in Masai Mara and we spend two nights at Ashnil mara,the service,tents and food were excellent.This is a place to spend your break from the city,s hustle,
The best means of transport is in 4x4 jeep during the game drives,during our visit the area was experiencing heavy rain fall,and we were using the van,we real enjoyed and the game drive guided by ranger from the camp,the only shortfall was that some parts of the reserve were impassable with our van ,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watamusafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 676 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Asnil mara consist of some beautiful cottages just besides the mara river.So basically you have the hippos of the mara river as your neighbours.One of the best place to stay as it is located inside the masai mara and worth the bumpy ride to get there.Food is good and the staffs are very friendly. Evening room service made sure our bed was warm by placing a hot water bottle underneath the blanket.We had asked for an extra bed as there were three of us in one room,which was provided with no extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expeditioustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I read the three bad recommendations here on trip advisor. I can honestly say that our experience was very different. This was our best stay in Kenya. Excellent service, beautifull tents and great food! There is a long bumpy road to get there, but that's how it is in the Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreasT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Luxury camp with personalized service. We arrived later that day because we stucked in puddle...they sent a supply truck to recue us. Anyway, we really enjoy staying in Ashnil, and I will recommend my friends stay there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my first time on safari, first time in a tented camp, and first time in Africa.....Had an awesome time ! We stayed at the Ashnil for a whole week while on a photo safari tour throughout the Mara. The location of the Ashnil made it easy for us to stay at one lodge during our safari and not having the need to move. Everything at the Ashnil was nice and clean and the tents were large with very nice bathrooms. I stayed in tent #5 which was right on the river with a nice veranda that you could sit on and see and hear the hippos.....as well as other animals. I really got surprised and frightened one night when I heard a lion let out a big roar outside by the river. Can't remember being that frightened in a long time but the next morning they assured me that we were perfectly safe with the electric fence that went around the camp. I gave this lodge an overall rating of very good....the only two things that kept me from giving it an excellent rating was....1) the WIFI that they had and charged for was very unpredictable and unreliable. 2) the food was ok at best....it wasn't bad food, just not that great either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just returned from our first safari (with Travelsphere) and this was our second stop (for two nights). We were later arriving than planned (we had a very long 'Kenyan Massage' in our safari minibus - the roads are attrocious!!) but our guide made sure we still got a warm welcome and access to lunch although technically were were too late for lunch. Our tent (number 17) was a short walk from the main building and didn't have a river view but we weren't disappointed - we could sit in the bar up in the main building and have a view across the river. The tents were lovely - in the early evening the open sides were fastened down for us, the mosquito nets were pulled around the beds and hot water bottles were delivered - it does get pretty cold at night/first thing in the morning, but we knew this in advance and had plenty of layers and were not cold in bed at all. The showers are large walk-ins, with plenty of room and a good supply of hot water. Be aware that the tents are not particularly sound-proof, particularly from the bathrooms - you can hear people walking past and they can hear you! Food was good if a little repetitive, but there was plenty of it and all the staff were attentive and helpful. As another reviewer has pointed out, this is probably better for groups than couples. Overall, a great introduction to tented lodges - I want to stay in more!

Room Tip: I guess most people would prefer a river view, but it didn't bother us that we didn't have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in Ashnil Mara Camp 3 nights in August 2012. Excellent location - right in the middle of the Masai Mara National Reserve. It was migration time, and the Ashnil Camp is centrally located while in other parts of the Reserve game was still scarce, Ashnil was in the middle of the action. We even watched gnus crossing the river from the Camps' lounge!
Food was excellent, very fresh and tasty. Staff are very friendly. There is a log fire in the evenings - very cosy.
The tents are great, though in winter (August in Kenya is winter) are a bit cold. Verandah with the "love seat", which is spacious and very inviting - I snoozed on it one afternoon...
Great place, great food, great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NairobiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,081 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
969 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Mara Camp

Address: | Narok County, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $255 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASHNIL MARA CAMP The game drive experience offered at Ashnil Mara Camp is guaranteed to fascinate any safari enthusiast. For those in love with flora and fauna, the drive to go on safari is triggered by the desire to see wildlife and vegetation in their natural habitat. We give you an opportunity to spot wildlife on a running commentary of information given by our experienced driver guides. Our game drives are conducted in 4x4 vehicles, which are equipped to cover the rough terrains associated with safaris. The camp comprises 56 luxurious tents set overlooking the picturesque vast of Mara. Come catch the wildebeest migration amid a raw blend of luxury and the wild. A true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashnil Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ashnil Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing