We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a terrible place in need of urgent renovation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oltome Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oltome Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a terrible place in need of urgent renovation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here on 7 and 8 th dec and it was disappointing.

Though Oltome tries to sell itself as a lodging offering real bush experiences 'like no another', much more can be done to ensure that it meets one-star standards. Here is a record of issues that the management may like to address:

1. Filthy bed-sheets, towels and pillows marked by cobwebs and cigarette-smoke
2. Irregular meal-times that were close to an hour past published or announced schedule
3. Cracks and openings in tent (which makes it unsafe)
4. Poorly stocked gift shop and beverage corner: they claim to have sprite and coke but failed on their promise to stock up. Last seen, the fridge was empty as a desert.
5. Very poor and bad service. With the exception of counter staff, Sophie, the rest were unsmiling and looked as if they didn't know what basic hospitality was.

On our first night, a kenyan couple reported the loss of valuables from their tent. The management tried to play it down but thank God for our guide who told the staff that we know kungfu and they had better not try their luck with us !?! One of those rare positive stereotypes against chinese...lol.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Eddie

We have read through your comments and fail to understand why you are contradicting yourself.You do remember that you have filled a questionnaire about your stay at Oltome Mara Magic Resort where you did mention that the food and accommodation met your expectations while the service was above expectations.Cleanliness was above your expectations
Note you answered the questionnaire at your own discretion as no one forced you to write the comments.At the same time all the positive comments we have received in the past tells a different story.
As far as your guide and his stories are concerned we will overlook them as he wanted to extort
money from the camp because he claimed that he convinced you to stay at Oltome but neverthe less we will follow up with the agent.

Eddie we are sorry if the camp has inconvenienced you in anyway but any issues should have been brought up immediately to management which you have not.Also on the same note don't discredit yourself by writing contradicting reports.


Regards

Zul hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent safari camp. The rooms are permanent tents (something between a building and a tent). The tents are sprayed and well sealed, so it is unlikely any unwanted fauna can enter! The camp is about 10 min drive from the gate into the park, so the location is pretty good. The manager and staff are very helpful and friendly. There was electricity 24hrs. Hot water is not 24hr, but is very hot, and available in the evenings. Food was excellent. The game driver seemed well experienced and did a good job finding the animals in the park.

Room Tip: pick one of the raised tents, rather than one constructed at ground-level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David79986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the resort and i would summarise my stay as follows:

Great staff, couldnt have done more
Accommodation is superb, very clean and secure, we stopped over on one occasion at the very expensive lodge and I had a chance to see the tents, I realised ours were on par if not better and of course very reasonably priced
Food was excellent and always with a choice of dishes, they had indian family staying at the time and had a few indian dishes on offer
It is a very well run place, where staff go out of their way to help
Area was lit everywhere so I am not sure why anyone would suggest that it isnt, but in any case it certainly wasnt my experience.
I am so scared of snakes I could not handle the thought of them, but once I saw the tents, the area, experienced the way staff look after the place that thought never crossed my mind again. I guess it is not incievable that snakes could be in the area so it is key to go for the place that takes care of the lodge and it is certainly the case with this place.
the driver offered by the resort was excellent.

I did suggest they should put tent numbers so it is easier to find them and staff immediately responded and promised to put those up.

I could not fault this place, it is all I would have wished for from an amazing safari experience. thank you so much for making me so comfortable and for being so welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oksana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments which were much appreciated.

For your information your suggestion was taken up and the numbering of Tents has been done out of Mazeras Stones and also to let you know that the camp is eco-friendly as it is powered by solar

Also on the same note thank you for the time you took to compare Oltome Mara.

Regards

Zul Hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed at oltome for 2 nights in august,2013. nice clean tents, good food (indian food available), safe, friendly staff & manager.
approx 10 mins drive from sekenani gate, but its almost 2hrs away from the mara river.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParinChheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your input and appreciate it.It is from clients like yourself who keep us on our feet in order to improve our services.

Once again thanks you and best regards

Zul Hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ol Tome Mara Magic Resort is managed based on the nature around. In the morning and The evening a Masai person lights the wood fire, half an hour later you can have a warm shower. During the day and the middle of the night, there is no electricity. The resort has only seven tents for visitors and a few for guides and staff.
The employees were very, very friendly, but seems not well trained of had not enough experience. They fulfilled every wish, but were not pro-active to needs and wishes of guests. P.e. the did not prepare the bedrooms in the evening and did not sprayed the tents. Our tour guide found a snake in the bathroom, which should not have been there if the tent. Was sprayed every day.
The dinner was not served on time, during breakfast we waited a long time before we recieved our boiled egg or omelet. No problem with that, but compared tot other lodges we visited, the quality of this one was less.
The manager is a muslim (managed the orphan house), so porc is not served.
The resort is not so big, but we got lost, between our tent and the main building. Some signs are missing, some are brolen and the tents have no numbers. Also a few lights along the paths were broken. Around the tents, we saw also some garbage, like sealing of water bottles. No one seems responsible to clean the place.
The Masai Mara is a perfect place for game drives, but we should prefer to stay in a different accomodation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Manager at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Gea S

Thank you for the email and appreciate the points you have brought to our attention.
At the same time I need to clarify a few points.Note Mr fahim is a graduate from Edwin Cowan University -Australia and he has not managed any Orphan Homes as you mention.In addition we have 13 tents in total and not 7.

We have taken note of the the issue of the turn down and need to know why your room was not looked into while all the rest were turned down.This has been followed with the Camp team

Also we have taken note of the late meals and at this juncture we would like to inform you that we had a problem with our water supply as the water pipes were damaged by the elephants and therefore needed replacements.As you are aware that without water we cannot do anything.

In relation to the snake well that may be a fact but these are grass snakes and harmless.You have to remember that you are in the bush and we have not disturbed the environment per se
unlike the other properties and that is the reason our motto is A Bush Experience like no other.

Also to add to the above we have a resident family of Mongoose in the compound which keeps the snake presence to a minimum.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience

Zul Hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited Mara in late July for two nights. This place is great. The hosts are very welcoming. The manager Faheem is a nice and interesting guy you gotta talk to. The room was clean and spacious. The only downside was that hot water wasn't reliable, but the hotel crew was quick on fixing it. Frankly, I wasn't expecting reliable hot water in Mara as I would in NYC. They gave me a tiny padlock and told me to lock the zip of the tent from inside. Otherwise, monkeys could break in in the middle of night. It's great that monkeys are around the camp site. Outdoor lights at night can be insufficient, but they go an extra step to ensure security by having four guards patrol the site all night long. Bonfires are set up after dinner, and folklore was told.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wounderful atmosphere with jungle experience. Luxury tents. Clean hygienic and wel maintained.
Delicious food for food lovers with yummy desert.Furnished bar with wide variety of liquor.
Staffs are efficient and very helpful,they can speak fluent English.
You vl love to interact with young dynamic manager MR Fahim,who is very friendly and always look to give you the best.

Not to forget Mr David another wounderful person who vl be always at your service.
So dear frnds plan your masaimara soon and enjoy wild life with homely experience.

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akash497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#82 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#54 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#55 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nubian In The Mara
The Nubian In The Mara
#10 of 18 in Narok
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
JK Mara Camp
JK Mara Camp
#104 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltome Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltome Resorts

Property: Oltome Resorts
Address: Maasai Mara Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tented Camp at the bottom of the Nairok Hills. Peaceful, tranquil, perfect for bird watchers and those looking for a time out from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are working on having a kiddies corner, arrange for hikes, nature walks, balloon safaris, special honey moon surprises. We aim to make your holiday a memorable one. All that is needed is a sense of humour, a need for relaxation and time for yourself : ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Oltome Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oltome Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oltome Resorts Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing