We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oltome Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oltome Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed at oltome for 2 nights in august,2013. nice clean tents, good food (indian food available), safe, friendly staff & manager.
approx 10 mins drive from sekenani gate, but its almost 2hrs away from the mara river.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParinChheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your input and appreciate it.It is from clients like yourself who keep us on our feet in order to improve our services.

Once again thanks you and best regards

Zul Hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ol Tome Mara Magic Resort is managed based on the nature around. In the morning and The evening a Masai person lights the wood fire, half an hour later you can have a warm shower. During the day and the middle of the night, there is no electricity. The resort has only seven tents for visitors and a few for guides and staff.
The employees were very, very friendly, but seems not well trained of had not enough experience. They fulfilled every wish, but were not pro-active to needs and wishes of guests. P.e. the did not prepare the bedrooms in the evening and did not sprayed the tents. Our tour guide found a snake in the bathroom, which should not have been there if the tent. Was sprayed every day.
The dinner was not served on time, during breakfast we waited a long time before we recieved our boiled egg or omelet. No problem with that, but compared tot other lodges we visited, the quality of this one was less.
The manager is a muslim (managed the orphan house), so porc is not served.
The resort is not so big, but we got lost, between our tent and the main building. Some signs are missing, some are brolen and the tents have no numbers. Also a few lights along the paths were broken. Around the tents, we saw also some garbage, like sealing of water bottles. No one seems responsible to clean the place.
The Masai Mara is a perfect place for game drives, but we should prefer to stay in a different accomodation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oltomemaramagic, Manager at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Gea S

Thank you for the email and appreciate the points you have brought to our attention.
At the same time I need to clarify a few points.Note Mr fahim is a graduate from Edwin Cowan University -Australia and he has not managed any Orphan Homes as you mention.In addition we have 13 tents in total and not 7.

We have taken note of the the issue of the turn down and need to know why your room was not looked into while all the rest were turned down.This has been followed with the Camp team

Also we have taken note of the late meals and at this juncture we would like to inform you that we had a problem with our water supply as the water pipes were damaged by the elephants and therefore needed replacements.As you are aware that without water we cannot do anything.

In relation to the snake well that may be a fact but these are grass snakes and harmless.You have to remember that you are in the bush and we have not disturbed the environment per se
unlike the other properties and that is the reason our motto is A Bush Experience like no other.

Also to add to the above we have a resident family of Mongoose in the compound which keeps the snake presence to a minimum.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience

Zul Hasham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited Mara in late July for two nights. This place is great. The hosts are very welcoming. The manager Faheem is a nice and interesting guy you gotta talk to. The room was clean and spacious. The only downside was that hot water wasn't reliable, but the hotel crew was quick on fixing it. Frankly, I wasn't expecting reliable hot water in Mara as I would in NYC. They gave me a tiny padlock and told me to lock the zip of the tent from inside. Otherwise, monkeys could break in in the middle of night. It's great that monkeys are around the camp site. Outdoor lights at night can be insufficient, but they go an extra step to ensure security by having four guards patrol the site all night long. Bonfires are set up after dinner, and folklore was told.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wounderful atmosphere with jungle experience. Luxury tents. Clean hygienic and wel maintained.
Delicious food for food lovers with yummy desert.Furnished bar with wide variety of liquor.
Staffs are efficient and very helpful,they can speak fluent English.
You vl love to interact with young dynamic manager MR Fahim,who is very friendly and always look to give you the best.

Not to forget Mr David another wounderful person who vl be always at your service.
So dear frnds plan your masaimara soon and enjoy wild life with homely experience.

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akash497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Oltome Mara was beautiful and very relaxing. The bathrooms are nicely designed and spotless, and the abundance of trees on the property provides a much-needed shady counterpoint to the grasslands, especially in the dry season. The staff are friendly, but without the usual endless stream of small talk that neither party wants to engage in, which is refreshing. The beds were very comfortable, with a really nice mosquito net setup.
I would recommend the 3-day package - having transportation from Nairobi taken care of makes everything so much easier, and that's more than enough time on game drives, especially if you're doing wildlife-related activities elsewhere.
And last but not least, the managers are so friendly and accommodating, and that made all the really nice amenities that much more enjoyable : )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syzlaboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My experience at mara magic was nothing short of magical. What i had expected and what i received from my holiday experience was way beyond my expectations. everything about the hotel was to great standards from the decor, to the friendly staff also to the well structured rooms and surrounding atmosphere of the lush greenery in which this little paradise is located. the hotel is very well designed giving an authentic feel of "an african bush experience" and the staff compliment it well with their themed outfits and pleasant company when in their presence.
The hotel serves a wide variety buffet which was well balanced and well prepared. i thoroughly enjoyed my dinning experience. the hotel also surprisingly has 24/7 electricity which i didn't expect due its isolated location.
Overall i have nothing but praise for OLTOME and i will surely be visiting is soon again. Truly made my mara experience magical!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleemAkbarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A last minute plan to spend a few days of Christmas away from the city... was so worth it!!
Rooms were clean and comfortable, hot water was refreshing before and after the fantastic game drives, the meals were lovely too! Great time at bonfires and dinners, the meals were home away form home. Nice quiet secluded location, great view from our tents. Service from Faheem and the staff was commendable, personal but professional! Arranged for us to watch the football match that was live that weekend. :)
Definitely ready to book in another holiday here, I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yhirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#59 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#99 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#86 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#87 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltome Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltome Resorts

Property: Oltome Resorts
Address: Maasai Mara Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tented Camp at the bottom of the Nairok Hills. Peaceful, tranquil, perfect for bird watchers and those looking for a time out from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are working on having a kiddies corner, arrange for hikes, nature walks, balloon safaris, special honey moon surprises. We aim to make your holiday a memorable one. All that is needed is a sense of humour, a need for relaxation and time for yourself : ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oltome Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oltome Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oltome Resorts Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing