We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Experience”
Review of Oltome Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oltome Resorts
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My experience at mara magic was nothing short of magical. What i had expected and what i received from my holiday experience was way beyond my expectations. everything about the hotel was to great standards from the decor, to the friendly staff also to the well structured rooms and surrounding atmosphere of the lush greenery in which this little paradise is located. the hotel is very well designed giving an authentic feel of "an african bush experience" and the staff compliment it well with their themed outfits and pleasant company when in their presence.
The hotel serves a wide variety buffet which was well balanced and well prepared. i thoroughly enjoyed my dinning experience. the hotel also surprisingly has 24/7 electricity which i didn't expect due its isolated location.
Overall i have nothing but praise for OLTOME and i will surely be visiting is soon again. Truly made my mara experience magical!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleemAkbarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Oltome Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

A last minute plan to spend a few days of Christmas away from the city... was so worth it!!
Rooms were clean and comfortable, hot water was refreshing before and after the fantastic game drives, the meals were lovely too! Great time at bonfires and dinners, the meals were home away form home. Nice quiet secluded location, great view from our tents. Service from Faheem and the staff was commendable, personal but professional! Arranged for us to watch the football match that was live that weekend. :)
Definitely ready to book in another holiday here, I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yhirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Oltome over the Xmas holidays and I must say it was a wonderful experience! The tents were very clean and we got the bush experience that we were looking for. The best part about the camp is that it operates on solar power not generator so there is no noise and we had power all night. The camp is also just a few minutes from the park gate so it was very easy to go for the game drive. The food was also good and the camp Manager Faheem went out of his way to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. While at Oltome make sure you try one of those Jazeera cocktails ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwaliji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here only one night but I'll definitely be coming back and staying longer next time. The service from Faheem and his staff was exceptional and the room was very clean and comfortable. The visits from the local Maasai were great and the meal buffets were delicious! Could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Living at Oltome Mara Magic was undeniably one of the best experiences of my life! The location is great, and the tents are spacious, clean and absolutely charming. There's a little porch on the outside to relax with a book and just absorb all of the Mara's beauty. The staff was extremely well-mannered and helpful, attending to the pettiest of needs with utmost care. Faheem, the manager, personally made sure we were attended to, and would go out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable. I had an important email to check, and the signal wasn't too strong, so he offered me his personal iPad to work on. Such a simple gesture, yet one that shows me that Oltome Mara Magic cares. The food was wonderful as well, and the chef would make us special dishes because we are vegetarian. Their ginger cookie dessert was delightful! At nights, they had story telling time where a Masaai would relate folklore to us, and help us learn more about the culture, and their legends. They told us what you don't find in travel books or 1000-page guides.
I definitely recommend Oltome to the Mara traveller, and wish them all the luck. Nzuri sana!

Room Tip: Just talk to the manager to figure it out, and don't take a room too far away from the main rece...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Located on the slope of a hill over looking the mara ol Tome resort is setting the benchmark for what hotels in the Mara should be like. It is simple yet exquisite. After a long drive from Kenya's capital Nairobi Ol Tome Resort ptovided us with a world class welcome with a Maasai moran serving us cold orange juice and cold towels.

The rooms ideals for couples and families provided us with all the amenities an exhausted traveller needs. Hot water, warm beds in the night and power sockets for our long and exciting safari next day.

The tents built on concrete platforms fitted with luxury toilets, mosquito nets, electricity and wooden balcony give you the perfect sensation of what a safari enthusiast needs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at this place . Was fantastic . Food , accommodation , hot water . Yes not something you'd expect staying in the jungles of the Masai Basra. Faheem the manager was v kind and helpful and catered for our every need. they even gave us a free room so we could stay in comfort . I'd definitely recommend this place over any other resort . Perfect couldn't ask for anything else . Has

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hassaniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#65 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Springs Safari Camp
Mara Springs Safari Camp
#93 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#124 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#58 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aruba Mara Camp
Aruba Mara Camp
#1 of 8 in Narok
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltome Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltome Resorts

Address: Maasai Mara Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $109 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tented Camp at the bottom of the Nairok Hills. Peaceful, tranquil, perfect for bird watchers and those looking for a time out from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are working on having a kiddies corner, arrange for hikes, nature walks, balloon safaris, special honey moon surprises. We aim to make your holiday a memorable one. All that is needed is a sense of humour, a need for relaxation and time for yourself : ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oltome Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oltome Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oltome Resorts Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing