We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !!!!!!!!!”
Review of Oltome Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oltome Resorts
1 review
“Superb !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at this place . Was fantastic . Food , accommodation , hot water . Yes not something you'd expect staying in the jungles of the Masai Basra. Faheem the manager was v kind and helpful and catered for our every need. they even gave us a free room so we could stay in comfort . I'd definitely recommend this place over any other resort . Perfect couldn't ask for anything else . Has

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassaniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

A fantastic stay while on Safari in Masai Mara. The lodgings, a combination of tents with first-rate hotel-like amenities, provided for a truly authentic experience. Moreover, the staff, service, food and activities cumulatively made it a thoroughly enjoyable stay for the entire family. Definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for something "outside-the-box," more familial, comfortable, natural, and different from the typical hotel-like residence!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was truthfully afraid of staying in the middle of the jungle but the unique experience and atmosphere of the oltome resort was absolutely fantastic! The luxury tents and dining experience is definitely one I would recommend and without doubt I would stay there again! All the staff were friendly and welcoming making every night a special moment to remember from camp fires to story telling it was an absolute fantastic experience

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie Wagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

awesome stay. loved it there. friendly staff... beautiful surrounding. comfortable furniture and the food was great. hot showers were the best in the cold early mornings and the tents were so big and spacious!! great holiday

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

It was amazing, I love the various noises of the animals and actually thought they were outside my tent. But its all fenced up and secure.
The staff at Oltome were friendly and felt like home.
I would definately vist again. And many thank to Faheem who made our experiebce there wounderful. Thank you! (:

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McadamlZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After some of the places we stayed in Kenya, walking into Ol Tome was like walking back into civilization. Although not as schwanky as some of the camps in the park, Ol Tome Mara Magic has luxurious tents, hot showers, great food, and wonderful staff! Staying in a tent nestled in the jungle minutes away from the park, hearing wild animals at night and sitting by the campfire listening to Maasai folk tales was truly surreal.
The staff also helped us with a safari car and guide for the day, and can arrange other travel as well (like cars to and from Nairobi).
This was a really great place to stay, and one of the best parts of our trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Me and three friends recently stayed there while on Safari in Masai Mara. We were also the only ones there. The lodge is outside the park - but only a 5 minute drive away. We stayed in two tents - two twin beds in each. The tents were very nice and large with a big bathroom - two sinks and a shower area that had hot water after you let it run for a while. Each tent had a deck in front with chairs to sit and look around on. The area was gated which kept all the animals except the monkeys out. We did hear them, and other animals at night - which I thought was fun. The staff were very friendly, cleaned the room every day, and brought coffee or tea to your tent during the morning. They also built us a bonfire one of the nights, and one of the staff who belonged to the Masai Tribe told us Masai stories/legends which were very interesting. The food was good - and served buffet style for dinner, and eggs and fruit to order for breakfast.

All in all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rckymtn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#68 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#56 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#99 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#126 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aruba Mara Camp
Aruba Mara Camp
#1 of 4 in Narok
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#72 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltome Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltome Resorts

Property: Oltome Resorts
Address: Maasai Mara Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tented Camp at the bottom of the Nairok Hills. Peaceful, tranquil, perfect for bird watchers and those looking for a time out from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are working on having a kiddies corner, arrange for hikes, nature walks, balloon safaris, special honey moon surprises. We aim to make your holiday a memorable one. All that is needed is a sense of humour, a need for relaxation and time for yourself : ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oltome Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oltome Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oltome Resorts Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing